We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (599)
Filter reviews
599 results
Traveller rating
314
228
49
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
314
228
49
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boat tour eggs and toast the river morning boat national park early morning nice deck costa rica great place to stay upstairs room family room rubber boots two nights la pavona fresh fruit visit tortuguero tortuguero village
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 599 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

We only spent 1 night in Tortuguero And Casa Marbella was ideal.

It's not fancy however the location is great, the bedroom is confortable and the views of the river are lovely.
It's easy to grab food in the evening and to see local life as you are in the heart of the village.

We did the turtles tour as well as the morning safari boat with them. Both Victor And Roberto were knowledgeable and look after us very well.

If I was to stay longer as we are traveling with kids I might have book a place with a pool as it was very hot and the kids wanted to get in the water and the ocean is not 100% ideal to swim in Tortuguero.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank EmilieinBarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

We had a great 2 nights in Tortuguero in casa Marbella, which has very cute rooms, clean, and functional. Even wifi is great ;)
Breakfast is included and one of the best we've had in Costa Rica on comparable types of hotels.
The good thing is also that it's inside tortuguero, avoids taking taxis for every activity. Just forget about lodge here, for 2 nights this one is more practical!
Now regarding the activities: we had a great experience and were very happy that we followed casa Marbella: Roberto was great, and with a very silent boat (electric, even better than paddling), he spotted a lot of birds, turtles, caïman for us (we would have seen only trees). We were only 4, this was sort of a private experience compared to most of the competition where we saw many 16 persons boats.
Then, at night, we also went with the house guide: Victor made us see a 200kilo green turtle lay eggs, and also another one going back to the sea after.. sacred moment. He was great with the explanations, and a real passion.
All in all a great stay, thanks again casa Marbella!

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank FabALaCasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

The waterfront verandah is a highlight of Casa Marbella and my family loved sitting and watching the river, wildlife and boats. Our room was simple but had a great view. Daryl could not have been kinder- even phoning me the night before to warn me of a landslide blocking a road.We booked our river and turtle tour through the hotel and they were both fantastic - Roberto was a knowledgable guide and helped us spot sloths, caimans, toucans and much more. As a place, Tortuguero was the highlight of our Costa Rica trip.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruppeerola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

Casa Marbella is a modest hotel in the village Tortuguero, but with a lot of extra's. The superior fily room with view on the river is okay. There's enough space, a modern bathroom and three fans. Airco would be nicer with these hot temperatures, but the açternative is ok. Rooms are clean, cleaned every day and the towels are original folded. Breakfast tastes well: fresh fruit, toast with eggs and marmelade or pancakes. They also offer great excursions. A must is the night walk to see the green turtles laying her eggs and the morning boat tour with the great experienced guide Roberto. Great alternative to the expensive superluxurious lodges.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank henkm23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017

My title says it. The location is amazing right on the river in the middle of town, a boat will take you straight to their dock. Breakfast was great.The guides working here including Roberto (on the jungle tours) and Nelda (on the night turtle walk) were really knowledgeable and friendly. The staff and the owner, Daryl, are very helpful and part of the Tortuguero community. Its a perfect place to stay if you want to visit the park.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emuofevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews