We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Way to Experience Tortuguergo Village”
Review of Casa Marbella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Marbella
Ranked #2 of 10 Tortuguero B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Our family of 4, 2 adults and 2 teenage girls, stayed at Casa Marbella for 3 nights. It was perfect! Small, quaint, clean, great breakfast and fantastic view of the canal. Also, it is perfectly situated in the village. Across is a grocery, the best restuarants are so close too. For a small B&B, everyday when would came in from an excursion, our towels were is fun animal shapes - my girls loved this. Great on site guide. Great owner, Dayrl, was really helpful too. Love it and would definitly stay there again!

Room Tip: Don't worry about no A/C - we did not need it. There is a larger family suite that would have be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aimeesreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (558)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

214 - 218 of 558 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2012

My husband and I stayed here when we went to Tortuguero for 3 days. We stayed in the upstairs room and it was beautiful. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was large and very clean. The breakfast was delicious. If you're looking for a snack later on, there is a bakery right next door which is fantastic (they also have great pizza which was delivered right to Daryl's dock as we were sitting there one evening!).

Daryl is a wonderful host and does whatever he can to help you or answer your questions. We wanted a better way to get back to civilization than taking the public transit and he arranged for a taxi to meet us at the dock on the other side.

I highly recommend taking the tour he offers early in the morning, Daryl is very knowledgable and provides a highly entertaining view of the Tortuguero river/rain forrest. I also have high praise for Daryl's friend who took us and another couple on a walking tour of the Tortuguero volcano. Be sure to ask Daryl about this extra tour.

Tortuguero is the place to go when you want to get away from it all, there is little to do at night so don't go there expecting night clubs and all-night parties. It's the perfect place to relax and Casa Marbella is a wonderful place to do that.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CooperandMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

My family of 8 stayed 2 nights at Casa Marbella. The hotel is basic, but provided everything we needed to experience Tortuguero. It's location with a dock on the canal provides an easy drop off when arriving from Pavona, as well as hours of enjoyment watching the boat traffic on the water with an imperial in hand. The tours offered by the hotel staff were very professional. We were able to see a number green turtles on the night tour and a variety of of wildlife during the early morning canal tour. The electric engine on the boat was perfect for a tranquil morning outing. The hotel's location in town was very convenient to restaurants, shopping and the national park. The locals were very friendly as we found everywhere we went in Costa Rica. The hotel also arranged our boat transport to Moin which was an enjoyable 4 hour ride through the canals with lots of wildlife to see.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pokeygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Beautiful place at the riverside with great and helpful staff, nice and clean rooms and lovely breakfast. I'm travelling alone on somewhat of a budget and it fit my needs perfectly. The turtle and boat tour were both amazing as well!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pauliendehaes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Daryl was such a great host. He helped book us a turtle tour, canal tour, and a direct shuttle transfer to San Jose. He always kept us informed of what was going on and made sure we were ok. The river-facing room was so clean and comfortable. After traveling all day to tortuguero, it was the perfect oasis we needed. The birds chirping woke me up a little early than I wanted, but what else can you expect when you're surrounded by nature.
I would strongly recommend staying at this B&B!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GValencia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
3.7 km away
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
#1 of 8 in Tortuguero
1,159 reviews
0.5 km away
La Baula Lodge
La Baula Lodge
#3 of 8 in Tortuguero
278 reviews
2.9 km away
Caribbean Paradise Eco-Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Aracari Garden Hostel
Aracari Garden Hostel
#1 of 10 in Tortuguero
214 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Tortuguero Natural
Hotel Tortuguero Natural
#3 of 10 in Tortuguero
170 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Miss Junie's
Hotel Miss Junie's
#7 of 36 in Tortuguero
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marbella

Address: Tortuguero, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Tortuguero
Price Range: €35 - €59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Marbella 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Casa Marbella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Marbella Hotel Tortuguero
Casa Marbella Costa Rica/Tortuguero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing