We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (588)
Filter reviews
588 results
Traveller rating
309
225
46
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
309
225
46
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews street side electric motor boat tour morning boat the river national park eggs and toast early morning nice deck costa rica upstairs room great place to stay superior room family room rubber boots la pavona visit tortuguero
Filter
Updating list...
231 - 236 of 588 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2012

My husband and I stayed here when we went to Tortuguero for 3 days. We stayed in the upstairs room and it was beautiful. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was large and very clean. The breakfast was delicious. If you're looking for a snack later on, there is a bakery right next door which is fantastic (they also have great pizza which was delivered right to Daryl's dock as we were sitting there one evening!).

Daryl is a wonderful host and does whatever he can to help you or answer your questions. We wanted a better way to get back to civilization than taking the public transit and he arranged for a taxi to meet us at the dock on the other side.

I highly recommend taking the tour he offers early in the morning, Daryl is very knowledgable and provides a highly entertaining view of the Tortuguero river/rain forrest. I also have high praise for Daryl's friend who took us and another couple on a walking tour of the Tortuguero volcano. Be sure to ask Daryl about this extra tour.

Tortuguero is the place to go when you want to get away from it all, there is little to do at night so don't go there expecting night clubs and all-night parties. It's the perfect place to relax and Casa Marbella is a wonderful place to do that.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CooperandMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

My family of 8 stayed 2 nights at Casa Marbella. The hotel is basic, but provided everything we needed to experience Tortuguero. It's location with a dock on the canal provides an easy drop off when arriving from Pavona, as well as hours of enjoyment watching the boat traffic on the water with an imperial in hand. The tours offered by the hotel staff were very professional. We were able to see a number green turtles on the night tour and a variety of of wildlife during the early morning canal tour. The electric engine on the boat was perfect for a tranquil morning outing. The hotel's location in town was very convenient to restaurants, shopping and the national park. The locals were very friendly as we found everywhere we went in Costa Rica. The hotel also arranged our boat transport to Moin which was an enjoyable 4 hour ride through the canals with lots of wildlife to see.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pokeygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Beautiful place at the riverside with great and helpful staff, nice and clean rooms and lovely breakfast. I'm travelling alone on somewhat of a budget and it fit my needs perfectly. The turtle and boat tour were both amazing as well!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pauliendehaes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Daryl was such a great host. He helped book us a turtle tour, canal tour, and a direct shuttle transfer to San Jose. He always kept us informed of what was going on and made sure we were ok. The river-facing room was so clean and comfortable. After traveling all day to tortuguero, it was the perfect oasis we needed. The birds chirping woke me up a little early than I wanted, but what else can you expect when you're surrounded by nature.
I would strongly recommend staying at this B&B!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GValencia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

For the price, it is a great place. We had an upstairs room facing the streetside. Because of the open windows and fan we didn’t miss the AC. The porch overlooking the water was the central gathering spot for eating, reading, playing games, and just relaxing. Breakfast was basic - pancakes, eggs, and coffee - enough to set you up for the early morning boat ride. We never saw Daryl, but frankly that wasn’t a problem at all. The boat trip was great, Roberto was a great guide. Two nights is enough.

Tip: Morning boat tour, breakfast and than you can do a hike without a guide and see lots of animals.

Room Tip: Upstairs room.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Unravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews