We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wonderful to just sit and watch the river” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Marbella

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tortuguero
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Marbella
Ranked #2 of 8 Tortuguero B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, Uk
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful to just sit and watch the river”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

We stayed at Casa Marbella for three wonderful days in a superior room on the ground floor. Very clean, simple but perfectly adequate. The decking on the riverside is a wonderful place to sit in the shade and watch the boats going backwards and forwards, the occasional iguana in the trees and birds on the opposite bank. Daryl, the owner was very helpful and we had an really good early morning trip out with Roberto, seeing, amongst many other things,an anteater in a tree which even excited Roberto. After lunch we went out with Ross, a biologist, on a fascinating walk to climb the extinct volcano. The view from the top was a brilliant way of understanding the layout of the area with the Atlantic on one site and the rivers breaking up the forest area. I am still recounting bits of information that Ross gave us as we walked through the forest. Do visit the turtle museum, it is very informative about the history of the area and the turtles.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryExeter_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    204
    43
    6
    2
See reviews for
97
293
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

We stayed two nights in Casa Marbella and it was very good. Room was very clean and the owners were very nice. If you would like to book it in advance it is good to call till 18,00 and not later (they are in the office usually till that time). We took the boat tour organised by Case Marbella and it was really great. it is worth getting up early in the morning. We saw lot of animals and wide life, which we would not have been able spotted alone. The breakfast after the tour is more than pleasent. If you would like to go to Tortuguero national park on foot, there are boots available in the hostel for free (you are not allowed to enter the national park without boots).

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zuzana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spruce Grove
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed for two nights at this B&B and found it, as other reviewers have, good value for the money. Clean surroundings, good bed, tropical fruits for the breakfast starter and it was well worth the visit. It is located in Tortugureo Village which allows for exploring much more than you might be able to at the surrounding all-inclusives. We would certainly stay at this Casa again. Roberto gave us an informative and interesting canal tour into the jungle. He uses an electric motor on the boat which allows you to hear as well as see what's going on around you. We also met and shared stories with some great people at the B&B.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SpruceGroveBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

We had 3 nights in Casa Marbella. Daryl the owner was very nice and helpful. The room were basic but clean. No aircon (not necessary in January), but a fan and hot water in the shower as well. Breakfast was simple but good and we enjoyed our time here. Paid 45 dollars pr. night including breakfast which we thought was good value. The B&B have a nice porch right on the riverside (and the B&D is in the middle of town and situatied on the riverside).

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jegerenlampe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

Darryl's place is a great value. Clean with basic furnishings. It sits behind a dock on the Tortuguero Canal. We caught an incredible wildlife boat tour arranged by Casa Marbella into Tortuguero Nat'l Park that left off the Marbella's dock. A couple dozen white-faced spider monkeys entertained us quite awhile. A few, including a mother with a baby riding on her back, came within a few feet of us. Other highlights included toucans, parrots & other birds, caimans, glimpses of a couple of snakes & lizards.

The breakfast is good with fresh fruit & pancakes & lots of coffee.

One of the benefits is just getting to Tortuguero Village. We took the boat from Pavona that cruises through a small channel before emerging onto the larger Tortuguera Canal. On the trip down the locals spotted 2 crocodiles sunning themselves This trip was quite an adventure in itself.

The staff & other guests were quite friendly. The ocean & some fine restaurants are in easy walking distance. Would like to return for turtle season some year.

Room Tip: U have to get up early to catch the 6am wildlife tour & 1st boat out of town when leaving. Turn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mtkb44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
4.1 km away
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
#1 of 9 in Tortuguero
5.0 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
0.2 km away
La Baula Lodge
La Baula Lodge
#3 of 9 in Tortuguero
3.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.2 km away
Manatus Hotel
Manatus Hotel
#2 of 9 in Tortuguero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Tortuguero Natural
Hotel Tortuguero Natural
#3 of 8 in Tortuguero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.2 km away
Aracari Garden Hostel
Aracari Garden Hostel
#1 of 8 in Tortuguero
5.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.2 km away
Rana Roja Lodge
Rana Roja Lodge
#9 of 34 in Tortuguero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marbella

Property: Casa Marbella
Address: Tortuguero, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Tortuguero
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Casa Marbella Hotel Tortuguero
Casa Marbella Costa Rica/Tortuguero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing