We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Marbella
Nearby Hotels
US$212
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mawamba Lodge(Tortuguero)
US$474
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Aninga Lodge(Tortuguero)
US$486
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Tortuguero Natural(Tortuguero)(Great Value!)
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Evergreen Lodge(Tortuguero)
US$486
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Pachira Lodge(Tortuguero)
US$486
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$502
US$487
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Cabinas Meriscar(Tortuguero)(Great Value!)
US$27
Booking.com
View Deal
Aracari Garden Hostel(Tortuguero)(Great Value!)
US$36
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (570)
Filter reviews
570 results
Traveller rating
299
218
45
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
299
218
45
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdaryl lothelectric motorstreet sideboat tourthe rivermorning boatnational parkeggs and toastearly morningcosta ricanice deckupstairs roomgreat place to staysuperior roomfamily roomsingle bednice breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
235 - 240 of 570 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We stayed two nights in Casa Marbella and it was very good. Room was very clean and the owners were very nice. If you would like to book it in advance it is good to call till 18,00 and not later (they are in the office usually till that time). We took the boat tour organised by Case Marbella and it was really great. it is worth getting up early in the morning. We saw lot of animals and wide life, which we would not have been able spotted alone. The breakfast after the tour is more than pleasent. If you would like to go to Tortuguero national park on foot, there are boots available in the hostel for free (you are not allowed to enter the national park without boots).

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zuzana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed for two nights at this B&B and found it, as other reviewers have, good value for the money. Clean surroundings, good bed, tropical fruits for the breakfast starter and it was well worth the visit. It is located in Tortugureo Village which allows for exploring much more than you might be able to at the surrounding all-inclusives. We would certainly stay at this Casa again. Roberto gave us an informative and interesting canal tour into the jungle. He uses an electric motor on the boat which allows you to hear as well as see what's going on around you. We also met and shared stories with some great people at the B&B.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpruceGroveBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We had 3 nights in Casa Marbella. Daryl the owner was very nice and helpful. The room were basic but clean. No aircon (not necessary in January), but a fan and hot water in the shower as well. Breakfast was simple but good and we enjoyed our time here. Paid 45 dollars pr. night including breakfast which we thought was good value. The B&B have a nice porch right on the riverside (and the B&D is in the middle of town and situatied on the riverside).

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jegerenlampe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Darryl's place is a great value. Clean with basic furnishings. It sits behind a dock on the Tortuguero Canal. We caught an incredible wildlife boat tour arranged by Casa Marbella into Tortuguero Nat'l Park that left off the Marbella's dock. A couple dozen white-faced spider monkeys entertained us quite awhile. A few, including a mother with a baby riding on her back, came within a few feet of us. Other highlights included toucans, parrots & other birds, caimans, glimpses of a couple of snakes & lizards.

The breakfast is good with fresh fruit & pancakes & lots of coffee.

One of the benefits is just getting to Tortuguero Village. We took the boat from Pavona that cruises through a small channel before emerging onto the larger Tortuguera Canal. On the trip down the locals spotted 2 crocodiles sunning themselves This trip was quite an adventure in itself.

The staff & other guests were quite friendly. The ocean & some fine restaurants are in easy walking distance. Would like to return for turtle season some year.

Room Tip: U have to get up early to catch the 6am wildlife tour & 1st boat out of town when leaving. Turn off the hall lights or your room is bright. There were smokers outside our room on a patio & smoke was wafting into our room but but they gladly cooperated in moving to a differ.ent smoking area towards the dock.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtkb44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Casa Marbella was a great place to start off our Costa Rica holiday. And very good value for money. A basic place, but that's it's charm as you really feel that you are experiencing the authentic Costa Rica, with no roads in Tortuguero so no cars for many miles. We had lovely breakfasts which were different each day. Daryl, the owner and host was fabulous. He is super helpful and very knowledgable and both he & his receptionist, the lovely Gina, suggested many different tours to do. The boat tour through the national park is a must, with a superb river guide, & the canopy zip slide (Loved it!). Not a lot to do in the evenings, but go to Miss Miriams for great basic caribbean food!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Squirrel9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews