We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,515)
Filter reviews
1,515 results
Traveller rating
536
685
216
54
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
536
685
216
54
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews costa rica howler monkeys ceiling fan san jose buffet style national park the river grand tour boat ride two nights no glass in the windows rainforest experience walking tour nature walk no air conditioning alarm clock welcome drink
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 1,515 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2018

Greeted us with chilled fresh coconuts/juice on arrival. Had lunch at the sister Aninga hotel, the fish was simply delicious, so was the pineapple bowl salad. rooms were spacious and clean with all the sounds of living in the rain forest, especially the howling monkeys. Their boats transported us everywhere with ease. Dinner was at their other sister Evergreen Lodge which was delicious. Breakfast was on a floating dock.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank erle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2018

Simply amazing......started with small boat ride through jungle canals to the lodge property. On the way driver stopped to show us wildlife such as caiman, monkeys etc.
Property itself covers quite a large area with jungle paths to main reception/dining room and onwards to each block of four cabins. Even when rain fell in torrents, no problem to walk between / get around under covered walkways.
Cabins are ( as you would expect ) basic but clean and comfortable. Amazing to see monkeys, sloths, butterflies, birds right outside your front door! Even had a taco on a nearby cabin roof one morning!
Food is average in terms of quality and choice ( ever present rice and beans...,!) but perfectly acceptable.
Free coffee and filtered water available 24 hrs which we thought was very good.
Lovely pool complex and jungle trails lead from each end of the lodge complex. Good pathways with cinder type or board walk wood type so no risk of muddy feet when exploring the jungle.
Essential tip....if you are there for turtle season make sure you pay the 35 dollars or so to travel with guide to the beach where turtles come up the beach at night to lay eggs...just incredible experience!

Room tip: All rooms equally good
Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank vialli54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2018

Hard to judge by normal standards , this is about a back to basics experience and it works.
Rooms are clean and comfortable with plenty of space , air con is a single overhead fan . No mod cons in the room although we could get WiFi. Bathroom is basic but shower is nice and warm and powerful. The windows.... there aren’t any just mosquito nets mean that you are connected to the rain Forrest at all times.
The pool is lovely although the jacqoozi is not a hot water version.
Food is basic and buffet style , this is where it could be better.

That though is not what makes the place , the nature is astounding , howler monkeys outside the room , iguanas, lizards , spiders , toucans, exotic birds , spider monkeys and that can be on the way to the pool . Take a boat trip down one of the canals and you can add crocs and much more.

We were fortunate enough to take a night trip and see two giant green back turtles , lay their eggs , unbelievable

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sammy509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2018

This hotel lodge and estate is just magical. In summary: the grounds are spectacular; the rooms have electricity and water, but no air conditioning; we woke to Howler monkeys that were traveling through the canopy above the grounds; Spider monkeys, Dart frogs, Toucans and humming birds were numerous; the food at the restaurant was healthy, tasty, and varied.
To get there you first travel on roads. The road ends at a river boat dock with a few hundred people also waiting for boats to take you to the various lodges along the river. In our case, at this point there was torrential rain and we thought we were in for a horrible muddy mess for the next three days. As luck would have it, the rain stopped when we got on our boat 30 minutes later. Whew!
The 30ish person boat snakes its way through the curvy, 30 ft wide (narrow) river. The boat driver (and our tour guide) pointed out the wildlife along the river. Eventually the narrow curvy river flows into a 100 ft wide river that hosts the various lodges.
The Pachira Lodge has a series of buildings with 2-4 rooms per building. The accommodations are cozy and comfortable but with the lack of air conditioning you’ll be constantly damp. I adjusted to it by the 2nd night but many people in our tour group found it a bit bothersome.
We were part of a tour group so we had paid for everything in advance as a package. So, I don’t know how expensive this lodge is. But, given our total package cost, I’m deducing that the price is reasonable.

Room tip: Any/all of the rooms are in excellent setting.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard_in_Virginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018

Set in the midst of the Costa Rican rainforest on the Caribbean coast, this lovely lodge combines modern showers and natural interiors with the sounds of the wild. A lovely place to stay, with monkeys, armadillos and various other amazing wild creatures in the grounds. Very nice pool and good bar. The highlight was breakfast on werved by the staff on the river on our last morning. Absolutely wonderful.

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank Marvelmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews