We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,326)
Filter reviews
1,326 results
Traveller rating
1,093
186
40
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,093
186
40
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews costa rica expeditions the river howler monkeys the penthouse san jose boat tour national park local school landing strip upstairs balcony sugar cane turtle nesting screened windows public boat local children hotel boat our entire trip
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 1,326 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2018

Great place and time of year to visit and explore the tropical rainforests for a few days. Staff was very helpful and polite. I would go back again! The sounds fo the rainforest are always with you (even at night) since there are no windows (only screen windows) in the rooms. They provide earplugs if it gets too noisy for you.

Room tip: The windows are screen windows so you can hear everything. That means the wonderful wildlife as well as your neighbors.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BioButt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenn D, Guest Satisfaction Specialist at Tortuga Lodge & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2018

Dear BioButt,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comment in TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and would come back again.

You're right, we are quite rustic - our rooms don’t have glass on the windows, only screens. This allows you to hear the rainforest as you go to sleep and before you open your eyes in the morning.

Vacation Time is Precious!

Jenn Dunn
Guest Satisfaction Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2018

Beautiful and clean room, mozzy-proof window screens
Stunning gardens, highly recommended twice daily naturalist tours of the grounds
A wealth of mammals birds and reptiles live in the gardens, we saw various toucans, iguana, basilisks, caiman, bats, vine snake, poison dart frogs, howler and spider monkeys, and dolphins in the adjacent river.
Lovely pool, lovely bar and restaurant area.
Beautiful jungle walks directly from the gardens
Best asset of all though.. the staff.. receptionists, bar staff, naturalist guides, boat drivers and cleaners.. all made this stay very special and completely memorable.
A huge thanks from the Wilton family, it was easily the best hotel we stayed in Costa Rica, potentially the best worldwide!

Room tip: Ground floor rooms were fine
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Welshboyabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenn D, Guest Satisfaction Specialist at Tortuga Lodge & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2018

Dear Welshboyabroad,

Heartfelt appreciation for your generous review, we are honored to hear that Tortuga Lodge was the best hotel where you stayed in Costa Rica.

Since you enjoyed your stay at Tortuga Lodge so much, we would like to recommend for your next visit to Costa Rica our sister property Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, also featured here on Trip Advisor, a “rustic elegant” experience where you’ll be welcomed with the same level of personalized service, and exceptional food, that you enjoyed in Tortuguero, but in the Cloud Forest this time.

Whether in the rain forest or the cloud forest, our staff will make their best effort to provide you with the attention you deserve during your vacation time


Vacation Time is Precious!

Jenn Dunn
Guest Satisfaction Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2018

My fiance and I booked three nights here in Tortuguero Lodge after spending a coupe of nights near Manuel Antonio. We chose to take the flight from San Jose to the Tortuguero airstrip. I am so glad we chose to travel this way. The flight was quick and Willis from Tortuguero was there waiting for us to take us to the Lodge.

The Lodge itself was fantastic! It is set in the jungle away from the hubbub of any semblance of a city. We were attracted to the fact that the Sea turtles come here to nest! We both signed up to do the Nesting and hatching tours and were not disappointed. We were able to see EVERYTHING we had hoped for and more!

The staff here are all so friendly and enthusiastic. Whether they were taking you on a tour, making sure you have what you need, or cooking magical meals, they were a pleasure to meet and made our stay so much more special!

Tortuguero was our favorite stop on our trip throught Costa Rica. We are sure to return!

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ceallach26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenn D, Guest Satisfaction Specialist at Tortuga Lodge & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2018

Dear ceallach26,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor.

You’re right, flying to Tortuguero is a special experience.You fly over the city of San Jose, then over Braulio Carrillo National Park. As you fly over the park you will see the Irazu and Turrialba volcanoes on a clear day. Next you fly over the vast pineapple and banana plantations of the Caribbean lowlands and finally you will see Tortuguero National Park from the air.

There is also another way to get here, using a combination of bus and boat transportation.
The bus ride from San Jose to the La Pavona dock is interesting because you drive through Braulio Carrillo National Park, a great introduction to the rain forests of Costa Rica. Once you arrive at the Caribbean lowlands, you will drive through banana and pineapple plantations until you arrive at the dock where our boat and Captain will be waiting for you to take you to the lodge.

Either way you choose, we hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you to Tortuga Lodge again.

Vacation Time is Precious!

Jenn Dunn
Guest Satisfaction Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2018 via mobile

We drove from Alajuela to La Pavona the sat nav said 3 hours but it took us 4.5 hours, thankfully we had allowed for the extra time. At La Pavona to leave the car is $10 a night. We’d arranged for us to be collected by the lodge, $20 dollars each. Walk from the car park through the restaurant and that’s where the boats are. Javier was waiting for us. On the journey to the lodge which took 1 hour we saw monkeys, toucans, lizards. A great introduction.

When I thought about writing this review I thought one word would be enough ‘wow’ but I realised that’s not helpful.

We had a room on the first floor, which was spotlessly clean, airy with a comfortable bed. We loved the fact there were no windows just mesh. Going to sleep with the sounds of the forest and being woken by the howler monkeys was special. You just need to be mindful of your neighbours and speak in hushed tones.

Food/cocktails were all delicious.

The infinity pool overlooking the river, was very special.

Walking around the grounds you see monkeys, iguanas, toucans, raccoon and so much more.

We went on the kayaking tour with javier it was nice to have continuity of guide. Breathtaking.

We also went on turtle hatching tour, magical. Turtle nesting, wonderful too. We took the free boat shuttle to the village.

All of the staff from the gardeners, to reception team, waiting staff, bar, housekeeping, guides,boat captains were welcoming and friendly.

It’s not luxurious but it’s simplicity at it’s best, it’s eco friendly, it’s perfect.

We stayed 4 nights and it was just wonderful for us.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Libran_Lovely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenn D, Guest Satisfaction Specialist at Tortuga Lodge & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2018

Dear Libran_Lovely,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us.

You got it right, we are quite rustic, but details like service, food, amount of wildlife, the quality of our guides and the beautiful setting are what make the difference.

Since you enjoyed Tortuga Lodge so much, you would probably also like our lodge in the Monteverde Cloud Forest. Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, also featured here on Trip Advisor.

We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you to Tortuga Lodge again.

Vacation Time is Precious!

Jenn Dunn
Guest Satisfaction Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2018 via mobile

Late but better than never! Thanks so much to Tortuga Lodge & Garden’ crew.
It was only, what a pity, tree days. The environment is amazing, we had the opportunity to do the Turtle Nesting tour and in spite of the weather, we were very lucky mainly for being with a wonderful person and best guide ever we have had, Willys (sorry if it’s not well written).
Thanks from my family and me, we never will forget the experience.
Please, specials regards for Zulay and Arnold, they were specially kind with us.
Alex

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Alex_CG59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenn D, Guest Satisfaction Specialist at Tortuga Lodge & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Dear Alex_CG59,

Thank YOU and your family for choosing Tortuga Lodge & Gardens for your stay in Tortuguero National Park.
Zulay, Arnold and Willis will be thrilled to read your comments.

You mentioned that it was a pity that you stayed three days only. We recommend 3-5 nights at the lodge, but we have many guests that come every year and stay for much longer.

A lot depends on how much time you want to spend on tours and just enjoying the grounds, the pool and especially the hammocks at the lodge.

We hope to welcome you back to the lodge soon.

Vacation Time is Precious!

Jenn Dunn
Guest Satisfaction Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews