We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Couldn't Imagine a Better Place”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casitas Las Flores

Casitas Las Flores
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Casitas Las Flores
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
Casitas Las Flores
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
unknowntr...
Bergen
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Couldn't Imagine a Better Place”
Reviewed 15 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Vittorio and Amelia were the perfect hosts. Welcoming, hospitable, open and friendly yet respectful of privacy. The cabins are new and comfortable. The property is beautiful, and feels like you're in the middle of the jungle. It's close enough to walk or bike to town but far enough off the road to feel isolated and relaxed. The resident dogs are lovable and give you a secure feeling at night when the jungle is calling. Amelia is a terrific cook. We wouldn't hesitate to visit again.
One Tip - I would encourage you to do some research on the area before you visit. This isn't an all-inclusive resort town in Cancun. It's a jungle in the Caribbean. It's hot and humid. There is no air conditioning. There are bugs. There are animals. There's no satellite TV in your room. It's a genuine experience. If you visit with the right expectations, you will absolutely love Casitas Las Flores and the Puerto Viejo area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ganfo
White, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Two Nights Was Too Short ...”
Reviewed 27 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
3
people found this review helpful

At Playa Negra about a mile north of Puerto Viejo is a rough dirt road (a redundancy in Costa Rica) that runs about 300 yards west to Casitas Las Flores. My wife and I stayed there for only two nights. These 4 new construction cabins are clean, spacious and well appointed. The bed was very comfortable, cross ventilation was excellent, the bathroom was fully functional, and the full kitchen wasn't used except to put a few drinks in the large refrigerator.

Our first night was unseasonably hot, and it took an evening downpour to break the heat, but thanks to that, the big wall-mounted oscillating fan raised the comfort level dramatically. The place is secure with a gated entrance, and it's far enough off the main road to be quiet save for the sounds of nature. The dogs are quiet and unobtrusive, but provide very good security. Our host, Vittorio, was an immigrant from Italy. His English was excellent, and he was full of good advice for our visit. He recommended Punta Uvo for its beach, and it was great advice.

A fourth cabin is under construction to accommodate families.

A short walk the first morning took us to Playa Negra, literally across the main road from where we turned in. While we never swam there, the sunrise was great. Photos attached.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The overall setting, close to town, but really in the country.
Liked least: The bumpy road to get to it. Thankfully it was short.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I am in love with Casitas las Flores”
Reviewed 19 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I was in Puerto Viejo for five weeks, and stayed in one of the cabinas at Casitas las Flores for the duration of my trip. I only have wonderful things to say about it.

Booking was simple-I talked directly to the owner, who is an absolutely amazing person. She was there to greet me when I got to the property and was so welcoming that I immediately felt at home.

The cabins are extremely clean and comfortable. I stayed in one with a full kitchen, and I had no problem cooking with the kitchen tools provided. Hot water in the shower was wonderful and somewhat rare in Puerto Viejo.

The property is set well away from the noise of Puerto Viejo, but is close enough to walk or ride a bike. The gardens are beautiful and provide privacy from other guests.

The owners go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and are always happy to help with recommendations for food and things to do.

I loved my stay at Casitas las Flores and was sad to have to leave. I will be going back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose I. V
1 review
“Beautiful place to relax”
Reviewed 16 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed in casitas las flores 5 nights. We enjoyed the peace, nature and a possibility to be in a jungle kind of environment. Amelia and Vittorio were always there to help, if we needed something or needed info about near-by places to explore.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Audrey M
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Would Give 10 Stars! Amazing Casitas in Puerto Viejo. Stay here!”
Reviewed 12 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My partner and I stayed at Casitas Las Flores for one week at the beginning of March 2015. The Casitas and property are absolutely beautiful, serene, a 3 minute walk to the beach with a very quick walk or bike ride into town for restaurants, beaches, grocery stores, bars, etc. Amelia and Vittorio went above and beyond to accommodate us and you can tell that they love what they do and want you to have the best experience possible. They have really thought through all of the details, so the Casitas and kitchens are very comfortable and well stocked with all of the appliances and items you might need. One night we joined them for dinner which they offer to guests for $15/person and it was the best dinner we had in Puerto Viejo. I would highly, highly recommend staying at Casitas Las Flores for a relaxing trip to the beaches of Puerto Viejo. We will absolutely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owners, the gardens, the well-stocked kitchen, the hammock :)
Liked least: Loved it all.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing