We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Pura Vida

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Pura Vida
Certificate of Excellence
Ilmenau
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

This hotel was amazing!!! We stayed here at the start of our trip, and we have yet to find a better place. It was a very good value for the price and would recommend it to anyone. The owners made us feel at home!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annakirschbaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    59
    12
    11
    10
See reviews for
19
107
28
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hueneme, ca
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

this is a great place to stay! It's very neat, clean, friendly and a great value. if your not used to getting dirty or you like to stay somewhere you can relax, this is the place! LOVED IT!

Room Tip: all rooms are great! i stayed in a 3 bedroom it was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darlizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
144 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

The owners are so helpful and made our stay in Puerto Viejo and their hotel our favorite place. The owner is very knowledgeable and willing to give any advice on the area. The rooms are spacious and very clean. This is a great hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PuraVida6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
282 reviews
198 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

We spent several days here and really enjoyed it. Luis and Almut have created a very relaxing environment with an "upscale" feel. The room we had was a double near the reception area. It has ceiling fan and mosquito netting. The room and common areas were extremely clean and well kept with daily housecleaning. The common area has lots of seating options (including lots of hammocks) with ceiling fans. Wifi is free although they don't have computers for the guests. The price is reasonable and the staff is super friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank specialklc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mannheim, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

We spent only by coincidence two nights at the Pura Vida Hotel, because it seemed a lot more relaxing than the Rocking J's. We liked it so much, that we decided to skip our already booked hotel for our last week in Costa Rica and spend it here.

Almut and Luis know how to make you feel at home. They are very friendly and treat you like family. Furthermore Luis was the best surf instructor I have had so far. As a sport instructor he is offering many activities on a high quality.

Rooms are available in different sizes and standards. First we had a double with private bathroom and balcony and then one w/o the balcony. Both very nice, clean and comfortable. Cost-benefit ratio was excellent. We spend nights at other places with double price and half quality.

All in all it was our nicest experience in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becks-Packers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
2.2 km away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
3.0 km away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Maritza
Hotel Maritza
#10 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.2 km away
Hostel Kinkaju
Hostel Kinkaju
#4 of 101 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Guarana
Hotel Guarana
#9 of 52 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pura Vida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pura Vida

Property: Hotel Pura Vida
Address: 270 m south of bus stop, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Hotel Pura Vida Costa Rica/Puerto Viejo De Talamanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing