We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,126)
Filter reviews
1,126 results
Traveller rating
412
413
186
65
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
412
413
186
65
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swim up bar costa rica playa cocles surf shop great pool standard room water pressure howler monkeys air conditioning in town resident sloth surf lessons directly across the street small pool rice and beans reception area down the road
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 1,126 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile

I was looking for someplace to eat and decided to try this restaurant attached the hotel. I opened my menu and dropped my jaw! $50.00 is US dollars for fish. Prices were off the charts.
I ordered pasta because it was less expensive. Unfortunately like many restaurants in Costa Rica this is way overpriced!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled solo
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018

On first impressions it’s easy to be critical of the Cariblue. The roofs of the restaurant and reception area are in poor repair, however once you relax and allow yourself to be wowed by the incredible wildlife, sights and sounds all on your doorstep you can see beyond its tired facade. Our room was spotless, the huge bed beautifully comfy and we felt welcomed by all the staff, which is so important. Tony on reception was so helpful and sorted transport for us for a day out sightseeing, which proved to be an excellent service and reasonably priced. The breakfast staff, though not talkative, were attentive and friendly and there was a good buffet selection. Our ground floor rooms were in the old Totem Beach Resort area closest to the beach (lots of wave noise!). We had incredible tropical gardens on our doorstep with resident frogs and sloths and howler monkeys. Playa Cocles was a short walk across the road (bring a light weight towel as the hotel charges you for pool/beach towels) and the restaurant at the end of the hotel’s drive provided a great alternative to the hotel’s (surprisingly expensive) restaurant. A good, safe base for exploring the area.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CornishSpacepirates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel for 3 nights, as mentioned the facility is very old and poorly maintained. Breakfast was bad, service at breakfast was even worst. The only good thing is the reception guys were very nice. Will not come again.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank LahavSavir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2018 via mobile

This resort gives you a nice carribbean vibe with a great location just outside the village, close to the beach. The restaurant provides a great selection for dinner as well as at the morning buffet. The hotel premises are kept clean and tidy by a service-minded staff.
At Cariblue you can relax and it is overall a nice experience. In order to get a 5-star review the hotel is in need of some minor upgrades, for instance a modernised spa and massage area.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank HVEN_DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

I liked this hotel, the room was spacious and clean. The Downsides to know are that it is a mile walk into town if you want food other than the hotels menu. The beach for surfing is directly across the street which was very convenient. The jacuzzi was not hot and the television in our room never worked and no one came to fix it. The grounds are beautiful and the kids loved the ping pong table and pool table. It looks like they have massage rooms but I never saw anyone in there.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Linda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews