We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.comUS$169
TravelocityUS$169
Orbitz.comUS$169
CheapTicketsUS$169
Trip.comUS$168
FindHotelUS$169
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveller rating
78
18
4
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
78
18
4
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small boutique hotel lounge chairs small refrigerator great shower beds were very comfortable hotel is great costa rica in town the hotel staff swimming pool three nights air conditioning luxury accommodations loungers relaxation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 110 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2020 via mobile

We stayed at a suite at the Umami for three nights. Wow! Gorgeous and modern design. Super comfortable and spacious room. And for a great price!

The hotel is walking distance from tons of restaurants and the beach. It has a cute pool for unwinding after a day exploring the beaches.

This hotel is great value for the money. There are not many options for nice, modern hotels in Puerto Viejo, so this was a great find. We stayed at Le Cameleon afterwards, which is three times as expensive than the Umami for a way lower tier and outdated room. Umami’s room and service definitely beat our stay at Le Cameleon. I would definitely recommend staying at a suite in the Umami if you want a super nice stay that does not rob the bank.

The only issue we encountered was low water pressure in the shower, but it appears that is a typical problem in Puerto Viejo, no matter where you stay.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank boricuainzrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2020

Stayed for four nights in Feb 2020.

This is a nice, clean hotel. In fact it is far and away the nicest place I saw in Puerto Viejo, which is not a pretty town at all.

It looks pretty new, everything is in good working condition, very clean and well maintained, rooms were comfortable and reasonably private and quiet, with air conditioning and comfortable beds. The design of the hotel doesn't really appeal to me personally, but I think it succeeds in what it's trying to do.

Prices are pretty reasonable considering the quality of accommodations. Breakfast is included in all room rates (I think: it definitely was in ours). The breakfast itself is not good, but we did not encounter any good food in Puerto Viejo, so may be typical for the area. They do have a full service restaurant open for dinner. We did not try it, so can't comment based on our experience. But it is there for you to try.

Service was quite good. All of the staff were pleasant and professional. The manager came by to greet each individual guest, including us. Free parking is available and, while we did not have many special requests, the staff were accommodating of the few that we did have.

Many other guests have noted that it's weird that the shower is basically part of the room, rather than a separate enclosed area. This did not create a problem for me personally, but I agree it is weird, and worth considering when deciding if you want to stay here.

The one constructive criticism I have: They play music in the common area throughout the day. This is a quiet nature area with many beautiful bird sounds, which I really could not enjoy because of the non-stop music. I hope they will consider doing away with that.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shmekel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2020

Umami was a bit stuffy and felt like we had to be very quiet, they only have 4 lounge chairs. The restaurant is only good for breakfast, got really sick from their dinner. Walking distance to town easily. I would probably choose something on the beach in town next time.

Date of stay: February 2020
Thank Lauren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2020

We arrived and were welcomed by Nelson one of the team. He was extremely friendly and quickly processed us and took us to our room. Our room number was 107(ground floor) The room was bright and clean,the adjoining bathroom was spacious with a great shower and plenty of hot water. (The bed was a little hard for me) In front of our room there were 2 comfortable seats. The pool was small with only 4 loungers and some additional chairs. The gardens in and around the hotel were exceptional, exotic plants and visiting hummingbirds. The breakfast was ok. All of the staff were friendly and helpful, special thanks to Tony, Nelson and the breakfast team. Carlos the manager would always have time for a chat. My only criticisms are sometimes there was a smell of sewage outside and the music played in reception too loud.Overall I would recommend a stay here.

Room tip: Quiet location room 107.
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 53NeilB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
umAmiHotelC, Director de Recepción at Umami Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2020

We thanks for your stay at Umami Hotel. For us it is very important that our guests can always have the best attention. We will attend your recommendations about music, your opinion is very useful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2020

We just spent 11 fantastic nights at the Umami Hotel.

From the moment we arrived we knew we had made the right decision. The room was exceptionally clean on arrival and then expertly cleaned every day. A huge bed, that was a little bit firmer than we normally like, but we still had a perfect sleep due to how quite the hotel was. Great shower and good toiletries refreshed every day. There was also a freezer and fridge that was handy for storing beer and chocolate! A Nespresso machine in the room was also great for an afternoon espresso.

The breakfast choice really was fantastic and nothing was too much for the staff who served us. All out interactions with the people who worked there were first class and a special mention to Nelson and Tony who helped us out with a number of things over our stay. My wife also had a massage and she said this was really quality The location was also excellent, a 5 minute walk to the main strip, but in a quite location. We will definitely be back to stay here.

One small bit of feedback would be the music. It would be great if this came on later and finished earlier (maybe even just have it in the breakfast area first thing?) as 7am isn’t great if you want a lie in or 10pm not great of you want to get to sleep earlier.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DirkEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
umAmiHotelC, Director de Recepción at Umami Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2020

we thanks for your stay at Umami Hotel. In a very special way, we will always be happy to be able to serve our guests as well as possible. We will attend your recommendations about music, your opinion is very useful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews