We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
ZenHotels.com
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (223)
Filter reviews
223 results
Traveller rating
143
46
16
11
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
143
46
16
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the owner caribbean coast costa rica easy access beautiful spot hotel is perfect every morning nice room grounds are beautiful cahuita national park rooms are clean we've stayed shower head we loved our stay all kinds small hotel close to town
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 223 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2019 via mobile

Stayed two nights and if all you really need is a bed for the night, this place will do the trick with some wonderful wildlife in the back garden.
We walked through Cahuita National Park and didn’t spot a single sloth. Came back to this place and spotted five of them in the space of 10mins!!
Breakfast was lovely whilst enjoying views of the sea.
The reason this review is entitled “mixed bag” however, is the room. They are located in bungalows and ours was dated with a very weird layout. Either walls were drawn up after the original build (but even so there must have been a better solution to divide the space up) or the architect had some very funny ideas indeed!
There was a bath tub the rim of which is approx 20cm wide which does not make for easy access (even when young and/or fit!).
The linen was clean but the bed the most creaky ever!
The property reminded us of a US motel with its layout and having the car right in front of your bungalow.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank A_Blue_Sea_Shell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcelo R, Owner at Hotel La Diosa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2019

The only thing I apologize is for the creaky bed and we have taken care of it. Your appreciation of architecture and the comparison of motels you have visited in the past is your personal view. The design was done with the idea to accommodate couples in a different layout going away from conventional and boring ideas. As for the car in front it helps when rains come and you can drive next to the bungalow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2019 via mobile

This place had everything that we wanted from a small Costa Rican Hotel....Cold AC, clean rooms, clean pool, private safe beach, great staff.

Marcelo the owner was very attentive and helpful. Sonya the cook/cleaner was lovely. Reynaldo showed us things on the grounds such as where to swim, which fruits to eat. Our stuff felt and stayed very safe. The beach was quiet and felt extremely safe. Especially compared to some of the beaches in Puerto Viejo that we visited. Snorkeling was not awesome but not bad either. We saw a bunch of lobsters and an octopus very close as well as numerous fish.

A sloth went by while we were in the pool. Raccoons were out each night. The Olingo’s fought every night in the trees. An Agouti went by at breakfast. Also saw a poison frog and several eagles on the grounds as well as numerous plants and flowers.

Breakfasts were quick and delicious.

The restaurant across the road (Bananas) is great. Samuel, the waiter is lovely. His mom the cook was great as well.

Cons: It’s not close to much. It’s not hip. The rooms are small/average but nicely decorated. The jacuzzi part of the tub didn’t work. There’s a lot of coral on the way to the beach so some type of shoe/sandal are needed for forest walks or getting to the beach. There are no sea views.

I highly recommend this place as a quiet retreat.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank mortamerjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2019

We loved this hotel. We stayed for the weekend to explore the black sand beaches. The bungalows were cozy, simple, and charming. The staff was excellent and attentive. The beach just past the hotel was stunning. A short walk over a few dramatic coral heads and we were wandering a long quiet beach with no crowds.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank mused78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcelo R, Owner at Hotel La Diosa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2019

Thank you for your review and we are elated that you enjoyed our place. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2019

we loved our stay at La Diosa! tTe property is gorgeous and the staff was friendly! The beach was right in front of the hotel and you could hear the ocean and we saw all sorts of animals like frogs and birds! Can't wait to visit again!

Date of stay: July 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrearS2169XC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcelo R, Owner at Hotel La Diosa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2019

Thank you so much for your review! We also enjoyed your company.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2019

The hotel is in a jungle garden, adjacent to a small, sandy, secluded beach. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the owner/host did everything possible to make our trip Amazing! He even arranged a horse ride on the beach!

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Mandiebelllee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews