We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (234)
Filter reviews
234 results
Traveller rating
89
71
41
19
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
89
71
41
19
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ceiling fan volcanic beach swim laps the owner costa rica nice pool recommend this place to anyone pata negra cahuita town caribbean side frogs sloths nature garden trees jungle fans
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 234 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2018

the location is excellent ,on the beach, 5 minutes far from the center , the environment is like paradise , Breakfast is good , the rooms are simple ' but clean , no aircondition but fan is enough , worth the money we had paid

Date of stay: April 2018
Thank Mirit L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantida Lodge C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Atlantida Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Dear Mirit

Thank you for your words and hope we can see you again at Atlantida Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2018 via mobile

Our stay at atlantida lodge wasnt the best.. the staff were unfriendly and not helpful. There were also people smoking marijuana by the pool while children were around. The owners must of changed hands.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank pia3melfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantida Lodge C, Director General at Atlantida Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Dear Pia

We are sorry about your inconvenints and felt sorry you didnot aproch to front desk and talk with the manager about the issue of clients smoking at the pool. Its important to mention Atlantida Lodge dont admit people smoking any kind of cigar or other kind of cigars inside the instalations. We will check our 20 cameras into the lodge and willnsee who were in that behavior.

About the "un friendly and not helpful" we respect you comment but we dont share your words. Precissly that weekend we helped a young couple. The wife felt bad and we escorted them to the hospital charging nothing for the 20 miles in/out transportation and extra night at the lodge.

We always recomend to the clients if they have something to say, say it before leave the property we will do anything to help them.

Sincerely

Steve Harvey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2018 via mobile

This is real slice of jungle paradise. Beautifully seasoned jungle landscapes. The pool is large and clean. Room were updated and clean. The fan and large windows cooled the room nicely. Our breakfast was more that adequate. Fresh fruit with the eggs and rice and beans. Britt coffee. All in all...a nice experience.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantida Lodge C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Atlantida Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Dear David thank you for your words and hope you can visit us in a near future

Kind regards

Mijail Alpízar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018

We loved the pool and the gorgeous tropical grounds...but that was about it! The rooms reminded us of a "strip motel" with noisy neighbors who let their kids run around shouting at 6:30 AM every morning. Then there was the "yappy" little dog who lived there and the green parrot who loved to "imitate" they yappy dog at 6:30 AM and frequently during the day. The lodge was built around 40 years ago according the the original owner whom we met. His son now owns it. I doubt there was very little updating to the rooms since then. However, they were spending their "updating money" on a "new and larger bar". There is one screened window in the rooms, so absolutely no airflow so it was stifling hot in the daytime even with the ceiling fan. We were there at the end of January, so I would hate to be there in the heat of summer. There was a window originally on the other side, but for some reason they boarded it up. If you want privacy, there is a wooden shutter that closes, but then there would be no air coming in. All the other lodges we stayed in Costa Rica had a light curtain which would allow airflow.

The rooms are dismally dark in there and they have no bedside lamps. It was like staying in a cave. They only gave us one frayed, raggedy and stained bath towel each and no hand towels or wash cloths. No soap dishes in the bathroom, so for 3 days I had a mushy soap mess on the VERY SMALL counter, as there is very little room around the sink. There are no towel racks or hooks in the bathroom to hang your towels or bathing suits on. There was one rack in the main room that was hung very crookedly and it was coming out of the wall. There was a huge gap under the door so I stuffed my raggedy wet towel under it to keep critters and spiders out so I wouldn't step on one in the middle of the night when I got up in the middle of the night to use the bathroom. From what we saw as lodging in Cahuita this might have been one of the better ones available...which isn't saying much. There is much nicer lodging available near Puerto Viejo which is a fairly close drive.

The service at the restaurant was horrible! They must of premade the lasagne and then attempted to reheat it because it was warm on the outside and cold on the inside. They brought my husband's out to him a half our after mine. I was done with mine before he even got his...which was also cold even after we complained about mine. They just plopped it down and left and never checked with us to see if we needed anything. The lasagna was tasty (all though cold) but it was not served with anything else. No bread, no salad, no vegetable and none was ever offered. No one ever bothered to see if we needed drink refills. After that experience, we found a wonderful seafood restaurant on the beach a short distance down the road. We ate there for 2 dinners with the best jumbo shrimp ever and wonderful, friendly service. We ate in town for all our other breakfasts and lunches. None of the staff was friendly or welcoming like in the other 4 lodges we stayed in. We enjoyed Cahuita National Park, the beach and the town. The pool at Atlantida is very nice and fairly large where you can swim laps. The "pool furniture" is very old and made of molded concrete. It is very uncomfortable to lay on.

Room tip: Go to Puerto Viejo!
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Laurie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantida Lodge C, Director Comercial at Atlantida Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Dear Laurie

Thank you for taking time to send your comments to us.

What a shame, you didt express your doubts first hand at the lodge, Im sure, you gat the answer inmediataley. In fact, I told this comment with our chef, our manager and the owner and they said you never asked for help them your inputs. Next time, we really apreciated to help you in real time.

Reading your information, as you know, we are a 2 star rustic lodge in the midle of the Jungle in front of the beach, but we felt our category is not the range you like or the option you were seaching for.

Of course, we will check your inputs and fix details if is necessary.

Thank you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2018 via mobile

The hotel is located in front of the beach and it's the best place to get in contact with nature. The worst thing was the menu at night (it didn't offer options lile hamburgers or the typical ceviche) and the breakfast: you were unable to repeat one more time and you could choose between four menus.
One of the breakfast options offered sausage with eggs and, instead of coming with sausage or saying that they didn't have any, the chef who, apparently, is "the best chef of the world" (according to him), served the dish with eggs and half a thin slice of ham.
As well I ordered Carpaccio of octopus (or something like that) and, thanks to all the mixture of vinegar mixed with mustard, I was unable to find the taste of the octopus.
They should fire the chef or tell him that he should chamge the menu, for a family with kids would have to go to the centre of Cahuita to have dinner.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Julia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantida Lodge C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Atlantida Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2018

Hi Julia, thank you very much for your opinions, which we respect but do not share at all. In fact we have talked with the people in the hotel who attended them and they indicate to me that you were asked if everything was fine with your stay and food indicating that there was no problem
It's a pity that you did not express your displeasure directly with the Manager and with the Chef, we are sure that the food you did not like would have been corrected. Strange, then the other comments of all the other customers was excellent stay and food. Maybe it's good to ask if your family wants a more easy menu to make that we gladly provide it.

Hola Julia gusto de saludarle y muchas gracias por sus opiniones las cuales respetamos pero no compartimos en lo absoluto. De hecho hemos conversado con las personas en el hotel que les atendieron y me indican que se le preguntó a Usted si todo estaba bien con su estadía y comida indicando que no había problema por lo que lastima que no expresó su descontento directamente con el Gerente y con el Chef estamos seguros que se hubiera corregido la comida que no le gustó. Extraño, pues los demás comentarios de todos los otros clientes fue de excelente estadía y comida. Tal vez es bueno que pregunte si desea su familia un menu mas fácil de confeccionar que con gusto se lo proporcionamos.

Steve Harvey Gerente General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews