We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveller rating
75
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
75
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small bedroom sobre las olas front porch the perfect place to stay quiet place pata negra minute walk howler monkeys costa rica marcelino avocados sink noise property town garden dogs
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 81 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2012

I spend last weekend in Casa Marcellino the garden is amaizing and the place is simply lovely... the owners are very frinedly and everything were clean and shine.
Is very close from the beach and the chauita town I strongly recommend the place, the only bad thing that I found was return to SanJose , jjajaja

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misskperez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

My husband and I just returned from a 2 week stay in Cahuita. We can honestly say that our time at Casa Marcellino was great. The owners are so friendly and fun loving. The casita itself is very clean, the beds comfortable, plenty of hot water, privacy and the grounds are fashioned into a lovely tropical garden. One specialty addition i really appreciated was the live tropical flowers in the bathroom and kitchen. How fabulous to see a rare beautiful orchid in your bathroom. The location is also great for walking into Cahuita and going to the beach.
We will definitely be returning to Casa Marcellino next year.

Room tip: We staying in Casita #1 but they all look about the same.
Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michele21251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

Casa Marcellino has 4 charming cabins situated amid beautiful grounds. The proprietor's home is also located on the property. Casa Marcellino is completely enclosed - you can drive your car through the gate and park withing the property. The cabins are adorable, with cute little kitchens including all the essentials, and everything was spotlessly clean. The 2 bedrooms are small, but each one has a closet. Considering the reasonable price - the 2 bedroom cabin was perfect for the 2 of us - we used 1 bedroom to lay out the stuff from our suitcases, camera gear, etc. and the other to sleep. The bathroom was almost the biggest room. It had a bidet and gigantic tub/shower. The covered deck had a hammock & a useful outside sink and clothesline (clothespins included). We almost lived out there! The town of Cahuita is small and quiet and you can easily walk to the center of town from Casa Marcellino. We walked to/from dinner every night - no problem. We drove south (15 minutes) to Puerto Viejo - which is much more the "surfer dude" destination - great for lunch and beers - but we liked the quiet nature of Cahuita at night. At night we could hear howler monkeys in the distance as well as frogs & geckos, birds in the morning, along with a neighboring rooster. We did the Chocolate Tour on the road to Casa Viejo - the cacao plant is interesting/unique and they made and served great chocolate candy. We visited Cahuita at the end of the rainy season and unfortunately saw why it's called a "rain" forest - but that didn't stop us from staying busy and having a great time! Since our linguistic skills are limited - we had basic interaction with the very pleasant owners Luciano and Marice. We loved their dog Grappa. We liked Casa Marcellino very much and would definitely stay there again!

Date of stay: December 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ASU_sun_dvls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2010

My friend and I booked this hotel because we wanted a charming place to stay in Cahuita. It did not disappoint. The owners are so nice! They were super accommodating, even bringing us fresh fruit from their garden. They only speak Spanish but we got by with our high school lessons. By the end of our trip we wanted to be best friends with them. We stayed in one of their smaller cabins, where we each had our own room. The kitchen was very well equipped, if you were interested in cooking there. The whole cabin was immaculate, and there was a hammock on the front porch. The only downside I would say about this place is that it was located about a 10 minute walk from town - perfectly ok during the day, at night, there weren't lights on all of the streets where we walked. The property itself is very safe, it's fenced in with a locked gate. Highly recommended for families and friends.

Date of stay: May 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eav5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2010

Casa Marcellino was a great place to stay in Cahuita with a kitchen and a fridge. Those cold ones are oh so important! The cabins are clean and well kept although the rooms are very small. The kitchen was an adequate size but I'm not sure I would have wanted a family in the space. There was a great front porch with hammock and ceiling fan. I had the cabin at the back which was the most private. There were no mosquito nets but with the screens and the ceiling fan none were really needed.

The owners are very gracious and are primarily Spanish speaking. My Spanish is very basic and we were able to communicate about any problems (which were taken care of immediately) easily. I was greeted with a lovely cool green coconut with a straw and warmly welcomed.

It was a quick walk to town and very close to Playa Negra. The incentives offered to stay longer certainly made this a pleasant and affordable accomodation.

Date of stay: December 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MexicoLover100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews