We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, but choose your room carefully.”
Review of Selva Verde Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Selva Verde Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sarapiqui
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 30 September 2017

We had a lovely stay and would endorse most of the postive comments on here. However, we definitely chose our room type too hastily, so I hope the following will be helpful:

Regular rooms have no Aircon, so we went for a bungalow. These are as billed as a 12 minute+ walk away. No big deal we thought, but we hadn't taken the climb/heat/humidity into account so we were very hot and sticky after each walk to/from reception! The bungalows would have been the height of excellence & luxury when they were built, but this area south of the main road has been rather left to gather dust, so while the location is still idyllic the bungalows are feeling a little “past it.” and felt very isolated in low season.The good news is that the staff were marvellous and expect it! They warn you that it is "not for everyone" and are quite happy to change you if you are not happy at any stage. Result: we changed after the first night.

The only other rooms with Ac are the newish “creek rooms” near reception. We chose one of these. Smaller but more modern, the only significant drawback was the proximity to the main road.

Also consider food availability in the low season: The main restaurant was closed on all 3 nights, so it was the pizza restaurant only. A shame as the regular lunch and breakfast buffet were lovely.

Many thanks to the lovely staff.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Zooneylazoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (665)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 665 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2017

We spent three nights at Selva Verde in a lodge right up in the rain forest. Fortunately we had air con in the room and it was wonderful at night as it was very hot and humid. The main reason for our visit was to photograph the wildlife and we weren't disappointed. We saw lots of birds including toucans, aracari, kingfishers, motmots, trogans, woodpeckers and many more. Also monkeys, iguanas, frogs and squirrels.
The breakfast was very good and we enjoyed sitting on the balcony drinking coffee and watching the wildlife below. The Italian Restaurant was excellent as were all the staff. It is certainly worth a visit if you want to see lots of wildlife.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms don't have aircon but the ones in the rainforest do. You really need it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

Wonderful hotel - built amongst the rain forest - great wildlife - the night tour was really interesting and saw lots of insects, mammal etc. Very friendly staff and good food. Recommend adding to your itinerary.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank son h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

This was a fantastic place if you like wildlife. It can be very humid, but we had both air con and a ceiling fan. We did see a couple of tiny snakes on the walkway, but they were the sort that eat other snakes and are therefore very welcome. Sloths, porcupines, coatis, agoutis and turtles in the grounds and lots of birds. There are plenty of activities that can be booked - we did the whitewater rafting, horseriding, night walk, bat research station, early morning bird-watching and La Selva research station. All excellent. But what really stood out were the staff. There was one morning when our transport didn't turn up (not the hotel's fault) and the receptionists went out of their way to make sure we got to where we needed to go, paid the taxi for us and reclaimed it from the company concerned.

Room Tip: Rooms on the other side of the road are a long way from reception, and there are a lot of steps. But...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Grimspite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

We stayed 2 nights as part of a tour. The grounds are incredible. We saw more wildlife here than any other place on our tour. It is slightly uncomfortably muggy in your room at night,but that was the only downside.They put out ripe bananas each day on platforms . This attracts a lot of wildlife making viewing of birds and animals easier.

Room Tip: All rooms are up on a platform above the rainforest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Boschietigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarapiqui
7.1 km away
Tirimbina Lodge
Tirimbina Lodge
#1 of 1 in La Virgen
171 reviews
15.4 km away
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul
#1 of 1 in Horquetas
199 reviews
6.7 km away
Hotel El Bambu
Hotel El Bambu
#1 of 1 in Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.3 km away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,308 reviews
29.8 km away
Maquenque Eco-Lodge
Maquenque Eco-Lodge
#1 of 1 in Boca Tapada
459 reviews
6.9 km away
Sarapiquis Rainforest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Selva Verde Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selva Verde Lodge

Address: | 9 Kms from Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui, 553069, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Sarapiqui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sarapiqui
Price Range: €97 - €125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Selva Verde Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Selva Verde is more than a lodge and more than a rainforest reserve. It is your gateway into a magical world of towering Almendro trees, Mantled Howler Monkeys, and Keel Billed Toucans. Immerse yourself in tropical nature as you hike through deep green forest or reflect quietly in a comfortable hammock. Discover something new as you encounter Selva Verde's amazing wildlife and vibrant people. Rekindle your sense of wonder and experience the out-of-the-ordinary. Experience Selva Verde! Located just 2 hours from San Jose, Selva Verde provides easy access to the wonders of the rainforest. For over 30 years, we have been a haven for nature enthusiasts from around the world. Our abundant biodiversity, comfortable rainforest lodge, and exciting activities are ideal for adventure seekers, bird and wildlife watchers, students, and families. Come explore Selva Verde's 500 acres of vibrant tropical nature in the heart of Costa Rica's Sarapiqui Canton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Selva Verde Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selva Verde Hotel Sarapiqui
Selva Verde Lodge Costa Rica/Sarapiqui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing