We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 7 January 2018

We arrived with a party of three and, in spite of the fact that we'd requested two beds we were given a room with just a single queen. When we asked about the availability of roll away beds (listed as one of the hotel's amenities on the Marriott website) or a fold out couch (also listed on the Marriott website). we were told there were none available.

The overall attitude was "sorry, but it's your problem."

All this led to an uncomfortable evening, indeed.

Costa Rica is a delight. The Marriott is not.

Room Tip: Call the hotel with request, don't rely on the reservation system. Don't believe everything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank HarriedScreenwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis W, General Manager at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Dear HarriedScreenwriter,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectations. I have shared your feedback with the Front Office Manager, who join me in offering their apologies for their team’s shortcomings.
Please be assured that this type of situation we will work hard to see it does not happen again. We have put new procedures in place that will improve our services.
We very much appreciate your comments and hope that you will remain a valued customer.

Best regards,

Dennis W
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,880)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

30 - 34 of 1,880 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2018

Stayed there for 6 nights in executive room...first time in Costa Rica and couldn't ask for a better place to stay...unbelievably courteous staff from front desk to room cleaning to restaurant to executive lounge staff...Property is also amazing with golf course and two swimming pools...
It would have been great if the smaller pool is also heated and if there were some recreational activities like a pool/billiards or something...then there was absolutely no need to go anywhere...
We stayed in executive room which had 24 hrs access to executive lounge, make sure you take that one... the tour & travel guy was nice with standard rates...fitness centre is mind blowing (open 24 hrs)...
if at all we visit again, it has to be marriott again...Thanks a lot !!

Room Tip: Executive Room with Executive lounge access and pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abheegupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamCR, General Manager at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Hello abheegupta,
Hope you are good.

Thank you very much for your comments, it are very important for us read that you had a great stay in our property.

We love to serve our guests in the best way and to make them feel in home away from home!

Regards,

Dennis W.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018 via mobile

Close to airport
Good first impression even though it is situated among an industrial estate.
Old coffee plantation
Restaurants and common areas very pleasant.
Bedrooms rather tired with very poor bathrooms and showers ( shower curtains and slow showers)
Beautiful pool areas and gardens
Restaurants are great and the breakfast buffet is the best we had during our Costa Rican holiday.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamCR, General Manager at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Hello Karen A,
Hope you are good.

We are very happy to read that you had a really good stay in our hotel, also thank you very much for your feedback it are very important for us in order to improve.

Our breakfast is awesome, thank you very much for your comments!

Regards,

Dennis W:

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

Great hotel, wonderful service. I was in San Jose on business for a total of four weeks and each time I stayed in this hotel - great people in a beautiful setting, more park like than you would normally find.

The pool and spa were also a plus, especially after a long day. My wife enjoyed those more than I - for her it was a great vacation!

Room Tip: If you are on the sixth floor get a room away from the native parrots that live in the trees! There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamCR, General Manager at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Hello dear Roger G,

Thank you very much for let us know your comments, it are very important, also we love to read that you had an incredible time in our hotel.

Hope to see you soon here again with your wife!

Regards,

Dennis W.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

We visited the spa with two couples. We had a deep tissue massage, a sports massage, an organic coffee body scrub, a signature massage and organic facials.
We all loved the treatments, the products felt and smelled great. The staff was very skilled and went out of their way to make you feel comfortable and spoilt.
Before and after the treatment we relaxed in the lounge, enjoyed the sauna and steam room and the jacuzzi.
There are lots of products provided to get yourself ready to go afterwards. (Deodorant, hairdryer, hair products etc.)

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank _Mags_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamCR, General Manager at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Hello dear _Mags_NL,
Hope you are good.

We love to know that you had a great experience in our spa, thank you very much for let us know your feedback.

In Kuö Spa we are specialists in give the best relax and rest time to our visitants and guests.

Hope see you soon here!

Regards,

Dennis W.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Antonio De Belen
2.2 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Caria...
#2 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,450 reviews
2.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
4.1 km away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 km away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
8.8 km away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
915 reviews
1.6 km away
Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center
Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel...
#5 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose

Address: 700 mts West from Bridgestone/Firestone, San Antonio De Belen 502-4005, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range: €140 - €308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose 4.5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover striking architecture and impeccable accommodations at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose. Our luxury hotel in San Jose, Costa Rica offers a magical backdrop for a leisurely or adventurous stay. One of the best hotels in Central America, as rated by Condé Nast, our hacienda resort sits nestled within a 30-acre coffee plantation and offers views of the mountains or the San Jose skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Rica Marriott San Jose
Marriott San Antonio De Belen
Marriott San Jose
Marriott Costa Rica
San Jose Marriott
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose San Antonio De Belen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing