We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,167)
Filter reviews
1,167 results
Traveller rating
296
415
267
108
81
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
296
415
267
108
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviews japanese restaurant hard rock cafe san jose costa rica close to the airport free shuttle breakfast buffet shopping mall swim up bar coffee maker small casino lobby area an early flight international airport gift shop airport hotel pools
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 1,167 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2018

A terrible way to end our vacation in Costa Rica. The people in this hotel are not warm and inviting at all. Make sure you check your cc bill. The front desk said they needed my cc, even though my room had been paid on Expedia, probably standard practice. But when I got home there was a charge of $250. They said it could take 2-4 weeks to come off but why was it there in the first place.
I picked this hotel since it has free shuttle to the airport. We needed to leave at 4:30am and they said their service starts at 5am. With our international flight leaving at 7am and many others you would thing they’d have at least a 3 hour start time for departing flights.
They said the front of the hotel is full of taxi’s 24-7, no problem. We get out there and there’s a Wyndham van but no taxi’s. We thought since they gave us such a hassle checking in that was nice to have the van ready. It was 5 min to the hotel and we give the driver a $5 tip and he said No, it was $20. Are you kidding!
Online I read that they give box breakfast for early departures.....no, there was nothing.
The casino was a complete joke, it was mostly a coin machine room and the food was absolutely awful and very overpriced. Don’t go by the pictures on the menu or for that matter the hotel. Oh, added bonus no elevator. We had to walk up with our bags to 2nd floor. I do believe there was one we saw in the newer part of the hotel. But the hotel was all cut up, the pools were hard to find (you had to go through a restaurant to get to the better one). And if you’ve gotten this far in my review to top it off I had 12 bug bites on my legs when I got home. Not me good thing to say about this hotel!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank MaryAliceS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. Definitely, we owe you an apology for the inconvenients in our hotel. We receive many passengers that request the shuttle service every day and we have not been informed of any complains about it. Our operations manager will be aware of this situation in order to make sure that it will not happen again.

It was a pity that you did not call the front desk when you had such problems, our staff would have been very glad to help you with that situation. We will appreciate if you would stay with us in a near future, we will be more than glad to be able to make you welcome. Once again, thank you for the time you took to let us know about your experience in our hotel.

Looking forward to seeing you soon again!!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Stayed for 1 night after our flight, great location for onward travel if your driving as we were. All looking a little dated and I assume all management pictures on web site were taken when it was refurbished a while ago. Secure easy parking out front, nice pool area, very comfy beds, polite staff, fantastic breakfast. Reasonable price.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank tog1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the hotel.
We are glad to know that your perception of our staff, services and facilities have been positive.
We look forward you visit us again, the next time you travel to Costa Rica.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed here one evening before catching a flight home. The room was ok, bathroom somewhat dated but entire room was clean. They offer a free hot breakfast buffet and shuttle to the airport. There are several restaurants and bars on premises. Pools looked very nice, we wish we would of arrived earlier. Gave only 3 stars because the rugs in the hallway needed cleaning.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Cari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear trippin2u,

Thanks for your review. Your comments are very important for us, so we can share them with our staff and take immediate action on suggestions made.
Hope you had a nice time in Costa Rica.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

Everything needs update! Rooms look like they haven't had any maintenance since the 70's/80's
I'm not sure how they get away with the 4* rating, this is not even close to a 2* in Europe or North America.
The front Desk area and restaurants look updated but it stops there. The Buffet Breakfast is very basic.
We booked 3 months in advance and they still gave away our 2 Queen bedroom to someone else. They gave us another 1 Bed bedroom that didn't fit a rollaway bed so we had to seperate the family and stay in 2 smaller rooms. After I complained, the manager said he could give me someone else's @ queen Bedroom and have them "quicked out" to another hotel.....Unprofessional, spend your money elsewhere. By Far, worse hotel we stayed in CR.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank barbaravidigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear,

Thank you for sending us the comments about your recent visit at the Wyndham Herradura.
We are very sorry that you have found an unacceptable level of service. We do everything possible to ensure that all our guests and customers always have a rewarding stay, which is why we have already addressed the aforementioned issues with our Front Desk department staff so that these situations do not happen again.

Thanks again for your comments.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

Our group stayed at this hotel for the first and last night of our Costa Rican adventure.

WiFi! Experiencing sporadic and very unreliable WiFi connections traveling through Monteverde and Arenal areas, this hotel's Wifi was strong and fast.

Breakfast offered good service and a good spread. Good breakfast!

Staff was friendly.

The room assigned to us the first night was of adequate size with double beds, located on the second floor. The room assigned to us during our second stay (last night) was located on the first floor. The room size was much bigger, with a separate shower and tub.

The beds were comfortable and the room temperature was comfortable. The carpets need although clean, need to be updated. The bathroom at both rooms also need to be updated.

The location was very convenient to the airport, which makes this hotel ideal for one-night stays, at the beginning or at the end of your Costa Rican adventure.

Room Tip: First Floor room worked best for me, esp. with ease of rolling luggage to and from lobby.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 723emp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Dear,

We are very happy that your stay with us was so satisfactory and convenient because there is nothing more important to us than our guests' comfort and satisfaction.
We hope we will see you again on your next visit to our country,


Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews