We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (213)
Filter reviews
213 results
Traveller rating
89
68
27
14
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
89
68
27
14
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews french bakery french couple air conditioner cleaning staff hotel is located five nights night guard hotel is perfect night life short walk room was clean and comfortable hot water definitely stay here again estuary tour the main strip howler monkeys in the trees an ocean view room
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 213 reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2017 via mobile

My husband and I arrived after driving hours to convenient front row parking. Very friendly reception A/C and a cold refrigerator cranking in our clean room with a view. The walk to the beach is only a minute and it was nice staying out of the main busy parts of the Tamarindo night life. The local brewery and good restaurants were only a minutes walk on the Main Rd., Beachside. We would stay there again and again. Clean grounds beautiful wildlife safe atmosphere and exceptional views. What more do you want for $62 US a night?

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Washingtonred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017

Please do not make the same mistake that me and my wife did when we stayed at this hotel! We looked at two different rooms in this hotel and finally settled on the larger room with a small balcony directly above the registration desk.

It looked fine on the surface, but as soon as we looked at things closer, it was clear that the room was hardly ever cleaned. The sheets had dozens of black hairs along with multiple "mystery" stains. We found a large splotch of mold on the wall behind the bed and huge cob webs in the legs of the nightstand and other furniture.

We asked the woman at the front desk for a refund and she refused -- apparently she is the owner and is from France originally. She was very rude and didn't seem to think that an unclean room was that big of a deal.

Luckily, we had both brought compact sleeping bags and so we were able to sleep on top of those instead of in the nasty, uncleaned sheets she provided us. She also lied to us about construction being done at the hotel and said that they wouldn't start before 8:30am. This was a lie because we were both woken up by construction at 6:30am.

After telling the woman that we were dissatisfied with the room, she came up so that we could point out everything that was gross and disgusting about it. The best part about the entire exchange was when she said "it's not *that* dirty"...like, isn't that kind of an admission that it's at least somewhat dirty? In hindsight, we should have walked away from this place to begin with but we were tired and desperate.

After touring a few other hotels, we told one of them (Hotel Amarillo, I think) that we were staying at Cocodrilo and the guy replied "well our hotel is probably cleaner" -- he said this totally unprompted which solidified in my mind that this was a consistent issue with the Cocodrilo and not just some fluke occurrence.

In conclusion, I feel ripped off by this place, I wish I had my $100 back, and hope this post will keep others from having the same crappy experience we did. Pretty much anywhere is better than this smelly, dirty, moldy, cob web infested place. They didn't even have a morning breakfast.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jing J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017 via mobile

The hotel was fine. We had the 'city view room' aka ground floor on the road.

The space was clean and the air conditioning worked efficiently.
The staff were friendly but not overly helpful. We asked for assistance with the buses and received little interest in helping us.

There was absolutely no privacy if we opened the curtains in the room as it was right on the main road into town...the bars on the window were also pretty depressing...and they didn't open so there was no way to get fresh air in to the room.

There was no bathroom door so no privacy there either.
The lock on the hotel door felt flimsy and not very secure.
We stayed 5 days which was too long in this room.

They really need to freshen the hotel up as it is pretty rundown and 'sad'.

It did do the job for us though at $50 p/n.

The hotel is the first building on the right when driving into Tamarindo town. The main strip of town then continues on for a couple of miles along the beach. So you are somewhat removed from the heart of town.
They lock the main gates at 11pm (guests have a key) and do have a night guard, this offers some feeling of security...

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gidgetshare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

Close to the town and night life
Great for surf lover.
The owner is a french couple they are the welcoming party and a sweet bakery is a great gift for your sweet mouth so do not hesitate to stay atvthis hotel

Date of stay: December 2016
Thank jpl730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandylaguna, Gerente at Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Thank you very much!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

Hotel La Laguna Del Cocodrilo is at the northern end of the Tamarindo 'strip' and offers a gorgeous view and a more tranquil environment a few minutes walk from the hustle and bustle.

We rented an ocean view room which was basic, but spacious and clean. The hotel has a restaurant but it was closed due to it being low season

The receptionist, Trish, is a star and deserves a special mention. She was very welcoming and helpful throughout our stay.

Highly recommended.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank HB_Travellers13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews