We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$285
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
US$285
US$257
View deal
Trip.com
US$285
View deal
eDreamsUS$285
PricelineUS$285
Agoda.comUS$285
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,817)
Filter reviews
1,817 results
Traveller rating
1,460
278
45
18
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,460
278
45
18
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews capitan suizo howler monkeys costa rica in town superior room boogie boards tamarindo beach outdoor shower walk along the beach our honeymoon wonderful hotel grounds are beautiful restaurant staff sitting area air conditioning private beach high tide
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1,817 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2021

We stayed with two small kids and truly loved the hotel and its ambiance. The staff is extremely friendly and welcoming. Naty made us feel right at home from the moment we arrived and had lunch. They made sure our balcony was kid-proof, so thoughtful! The gardens and the magnificence of the size of the trees is unique. Monkeys rooms the grounds. Boogyboards are available at no charge. Breakfast buffet wasdelicious and abundant (even though we would have preferred being served instead of buffet during times of covid). Location of the property is excellent, outside of the hustle and bustle of tamarindo, on the nicest stretch of the beach. We will be back!

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank KimberlyRooijakkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2021

The grounds are lush and well maintained. The bungalows are very quiet and the landscape provides privacy while on the veranda. Staff is top notch. Breakfast buffet has a large selections plus you can order eggs any style and bacon among other offerings. Cats, dogs, as well as raccoons roam freely on site. The spa is very relaxing. Bungalows have mini fridge, coffee pot, safe, and hairdryer.in shower toiletries are provided. Very comfortable beds and linens. Great sitting area and veranda. It’s very close to town for those that want to shop and dine. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room tip: Every room has access to the pool, beach, and restaurant. Very quaint.
Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Location
2  Thank 776stephenr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2021

I cannot rave enough about this hotel. From even before we arrived, you could tell that the staff truly cared about its guests. I had so many issues with my reservation with hotels.com (will never use them again) and Raul at the front desk was so patient and helpful in getting it resolved.
The hotel is in a lovely setting, walking distance to town yet far enough not to be in the commotion. The landscaping is lovely -- lush and green and tended to on a daily basis. We were fortunate to see many of their monkeys up close and personal (and hear them howl at 5 am!) as well as iguanas and strange birds and squirrels.
THe pool is lovely lots of shade for those that want it. The beach in front of the hotel is public and is HUGE! Not the Caribbean white sand however. If you are expecting turquoise waters and white sand you won't find it here. But the water is super clean and clear and good for beginner surfing. We took lessons and rented boards from the hotel and it was quite fun. We also rented kayaks and used their boogie boards (which are free). There are a few chairs for guests on the beach as well as lounge chairs on the hotel property overlooking the beach. The beach was empty! Plus it is so big I cannot imagine it would ever be crowded. There are a few sellers. Make sure you get the coconut (pipas) from Pedro when he walks by. Delicious and refreshing.
The sunsets from the beach are spectacular so grab a drink and enjoy. I will say that the one bothersome thing is that they staff was always busy covering up furniture late in the afternoon so that you kind of felt guilty hanging out at the beach until after sunset which to me is the nicest time.
We had lunch at the hotel almost daily and dinner there 2 times. The food is quite good and varied. There are also lots of amazing restaurants in town just a short walk away. Breakfast is included and apart from the buffet which is quite good, you can order other things that are not on the menu. The tropical fruits are to die for.
I wanted to take home everyone of the staff, they are so kind, gracious and helpful, not like you find in many other islands. You can tell they love their job and are truly family.
The rooms are very spacious. We stayed in the 2d floor and I would recommend that over the garden floor rooms. The bathroom amenities are lovely. The one drawback was that housekeeping came late, sometimes after 2 pm!
COVID Protocols: they were so careful and we felt so safe here. They clean the rooms like crazy even removing the mattresses and disinfecting them! Everyone was masked even in town and in taxis etc. I would have no qualms recommending the area to anyone.
If i could give them more than 5 stars I would! We met a couple who has been there every year for the last 8 years and I can see why!

Room tip: I would get a second floor room or one of the lovely villas
Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Roberta1307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2021

We started our three week Costa Rican adventure at the Capitan Suizo. We loved it so much that we returned to end our trip there too! The location was perfect (a short walk along the beach to town, but not so central that the beach felt crowded). The rooms and amenities were incredible (loved our bungalow uno). And the food, absolutely amazing breakfasts (gallo pinto) and dinner options (with fresh fruit smoothies). We ate all breakfasts and most dinners at the Capitan Suizo. Huge shoutouts to those that made our stay special - Nubia, Naty, Erik, Andrés, Raul, Max, & Ruben.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank dyirinec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2021

This is our 3rd trip to Costa Rica and 2nd to the Tamarindo area. This trip we were looking for a boutique hotel and Capitan Suizo was exactly what we'd hoped for. We stayed April 14-19. Let's get down to details....The hotel is smaller and is well kept. Beautiful pool and trees everywhere!
There are 2 beachfront bungalows and we stayed in #4. It was a few steps from the pool but there are enough trees that you don't feel like anyone is staring in.
It's not exactly beachfront as there is a glass fence separating hotel from the beach but as you can see in my pictures, it feel as though you are on the beach.
The room was spacious with large tub in the bathroom and the outdoor shower was awesome. Plenty of shampoo, conditioner, shower gel and lotion to use.
The AC works great so even though it was super hot outside, we never had a issue with being hot indoors.
There are chairs and a hammock on the patio which was nice and relaxing.
The breakfast was AWESOME! The coffee is alway outstanding, they had pineapple, papaya, mango, watermelon, passion fruit... just to name a few. I don't know where they get the pastries but they had at least 8 different choices that were SO fresh. They also had hot eggs and a few side choices like vegetables, plantains, rice. If you prefer a different type of egg or omelet they make it fresh for you. And all of that is included with the room!
Everyone at the restaurant and bar were very friendly and helpful with anything you need.
The parking is also included across the street from hotel entrance.
It is about 10 or 15 minute walk to town but we ended up driving to dinner because it was just too hot to walk. Our clothes would be drenched by the time we arrived.
We ate dinner at the hotel 2 nights and both meals were delicious.
The hotel arranged covid tests that were quick and easy and cost $60 per person.
The only request I'd make it black out drapes. The sun (and animals) rise early and it gets bright around 6am.
All in all, the hotel was clean, fun and staff was very nice.
We would stay again for sure.

Room tip: Beach front bungalow
Date of stay: April 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shannon h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews