We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.comUS$86
FindHotelUS$117
PricelineUS$86
Expedia.comUS$86
eDreamsUS$86
CheapTicketsUS$86
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,223)
Filter reviews
1,223 results
Traveller rating
539
352
162
87
83
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
539
352
162
87
83
Show reviews that mention
All reviews crazy monkey costa rica swim up bar ocean view pool area surf school nice pool san jose the main strip laid back bw sols evelyn town maid surfing trees
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1,223 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2020

This hotel and grounds will work for you - affordable, convenient and secure. Free breakfast with a variety "A La Carte Menu " choices. It's fresh but nothing outstanding. The property is spacious with many different suites. Rooms with balconies facing the ocean are amazing. The pool is comfortable and clean. The bar has a Happy Hour, management is exceptional and accommodating, staff are very kind.

Tour Guide - We used a local guide who spoke English fluently. Victor from VIC TOURS is very experienced, honest, friendly and accommodating. Spent a full day with him doing a private guided tour to visit crocodiles, monkeys and stunning birds. Visited an iguana park and ended the day Zip-lining. Victor will tailor your tour to your specific interests. He also offers private fishing trips or ATVing. His price is VERY reasonable. Contact him at victours08@gmail.com or (011) 506-8548-0059. He will pick you up at the airport or drop you off (Best Western can also arrange this service).

Overall, the hotel is CLEAN and MAINTAINED! The suite was clean and bedding was comfortable. The decor, washrooms and furniture are dated but serve its purpose. It's the vintage of most BW, Holiday Inn etc. The hotel suites and patio furniture need upgrading. The property has so much to offer and can do with minor cosmetic modifications. This is wonderful value for the daily rate. The best part is that you are on the beach once you leave the property. Cross the road and in four minutes in the ocean. It is on the edge of Tamarindo so it's not busy. A seven minute walk along the main commercial street puts you at the centre of the action. Check out Wabi-Sabi for Japanese. Delicious, very fresh and reasonable.

Room tip: Top floor view of ocean/large veranda. Families - book "1 King Bed". Spacious suites with a kitchen and sofa beds.
Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank torontonian2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2020

The hotel was perfect for us! The pool was rarely crowded with a swim up bar. The staff is very friendly. Our room was smaller but we had a fabulous view of the mountains and ocean. It’s located on the quieter edge of town but close enough to restaurants and shopping. The beach is just across the street. Would absolutely stay here again!

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank TheMagpieee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2020

We arrived at this hotel on a Friday night and were very pleased with the lovely view and the space that the suite offered (we were travelling with two teenagers so not being on top of eachother is very important to family harmony). The room was dated and the beds not super comfortable. The bedding was dingy and scratchy. None of that mattered the first night because there was no chance of sleeping anyhow. There was a party by the pool. Now, I had read reviews on here warning about it. I thought it would be no big deal. I don't need complete silence. I enjoy a party. Well, what I did not expect was deafening noise coming from two directions (ie two different DJs blasting their different music at the same time). I had a decibel metre on my phone and it was 87 decibels. This is not just "a little noise". I called front desk to ask how long this was going to go on. She was quite rude and said that she had advised my husband about this when he checked in. Ummmm not helpful. This info would be been more useful at time of booking. She said there is a warning on their website but I was unable to find it. This noise went on until 2:30am. It was awful. The pool area is nice enough. The view is good. The pool bar is good. The breakfast however was AWFUL. The choice is super limited. There are absolutely no meat options available. You can pay extra for eggs benedict if you like (which was actually lunch meat on toast with fried eggs and a disgusting looking gelatinous mixture poured on top. There were frequently no coffee cups. They had no butter for the toast. So nice dry toast was super lovely. Service was slow. The coffee was good though. When you could find a cup to put it in. The hotel was well located. But given all the issues we had with it I would not recommend. Was also pretty off put by how dismissive the front desk was about our concerns about the noise given that we are diamond elite members. It was very disappointing.

Room tip: Do not stay here on a Friday.
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julietY5614PK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2020 via mobile

Can't beat the views at the BW Vista Villas and only a stone's throw from the beach. The pool area is perfect for an afternoon dip or evening drink at the swim up bar. Service throughout was impeccable. Check in was quick. Staff were very friendly and willing to accommodate our many requests. Equipment rentals are a huge plus. Breakfast offerings are reasonable. Look forward to visiting again!

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 854mais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2020

Hotel is charming, location is good, not so close to the downtown loudness. We stayed on a Friday night - there is always 2 live bands Friday night - so be sure to not have a room near the pool. The hotel warned us of the band before we checked in. Unfortunately when I got there the room was not ready, and then the Friday night we waited 2 hours for meals and the kids meals never showed up. We did get a refund for the food, but the hotel manager was supposed to get us a discount on a day trip, said they will call us, but never did.

Room tip: Do not get a room near the pool or bar if you plan on being there on a Friday night.
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Leeworldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews