We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$92
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$93
US$90
View deal
SAVE US$3
Hotels.com
US$93
US$90
View deal
SAVE US$3
PricelineUS$92
TravelocityUS$90
StayForLongUS$93
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveller rating
81
58
20
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
81
58
20
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great surf the room appeared clean sound of waves crashing beach hotel slow down amazing place bungalow surfing hammocks shutters yoga
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 171 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2020

Really cool bungalows! Hammocks on the patio and the sound of waves crashing make for a perfect and relaxing stay. The chef at the restaurant was amazing! Very clean and comfortable. I can't wait to return!

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank ChrissypieTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2020

Beautiful location with unique bungalows very close to the beach. Although our bungalow was not air conditioned, at was extremely comfortable with cross ventilation through the open screened shutters. The room appeared clean but the shower needs some cleaning. The beds were not the most comfortable.

The pool was located right outside our door and the ocean was just beyond that. Both were quite enjoyable. Shade is present in both areas. The children’s pool is not being used and is unattractive with leaves and some trash.

The restaurant is pricey but what do you expect with no competition. Dinner was delicious. The chef’s special, something related to mahi-mahi, served with a mushroom, brandy cream reduction was delicious. The chef comes to the table to describe the dish prior to ordering. Service was good but not great.

The reception person was acceptable but not really welcoming or helpful.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SparkyandEly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2020

Hard to go wrong here. Spent 8 days here with our 2 boys (6ys and 8yrs) Lovely service, good food, clean simple rooms and one of the best beaches in the world for learning to surf, shredding or just enjoying the water. The amazing energy and people here enable you to slow down, relax and enjoy.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank BillyFilm213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2019

Hotel Playa Negra is set beautifully with great surf and a lovely sandy beach. Bungalows are charming however basic, missed having a fridge, hammock, washing line and AC. The restaurant was extremely disappointing with careless, unattentive staff and food very highly priced. Fresh vegetables were scarce. Pool area was run down, the kiddies pool empty of water. Not enough deck chairs, litter. The atmosphere around the yoga area and teacher was uninspiring. The place has alot of potential given its secluded location but was poorly run. We cant recommend it, it felt like a trap.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 334frederikb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2019 via mobile

Hotel Playa Negra is a gem if you like casual comfort and a low-key, family friendly place. Playa Negra is not a party town like Tamarindo, and I mean that in the best way possible. It has a bumpy dirt road as it’s main street. The road to the hotel is bumpy but then you end up right at the beach with amazing views and surrounded by lush trees. Howler monkeys eat mangoes in the trees next to the bungalows. Although we came at the “shoulder season” in early August the breeze was cool most days . Definitely need sunscreen and hat or full SPF clothes. I enjoyed doing yoga at the hotel’s yoga deck looking out over the beach in the early morning while my husband surfed. We enjoyed sitting in the open air hotel restaurant (the food is quite good) watching the surfers.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We used the google translate app a lot which amused them but it was very helpful. because most of the staff are not fluent, with the exception of Michelle at the reception office.

Dogs come and go freely around the property including the restaurant . That isn’t as bad as it sounds though, it just feels like a family place... and dogs seem to be part of the local scene.
The hotel arranged horseback riding, and while I’m glad I did it we were very sore afterward and I was glad when the ride was over! My only regret was the masseuse was unavailable the week we were here.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ondine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews