We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveller rating
72
56
16
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
56
16
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pata negra costa rica surf shop off the beaten path dry season ceiling fan great surf hot water surf break hermit crabs only reason i didn't give relaxing restaurant tide pools stayed days entire group fresh food surfing
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 155 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2018

Even though the local surf tournament was on the calendar while there, the management and staff made sure none of the guests were left out. Menu selections at the restaurant were all delicious and beautifully presented. Good surf, crowded at times but everyone tries to share so that all get some of the nice quality waves on offer, for the most part. Really a very good place to relax and blend. Guarantee it will get your equilibrium back.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018

I love this place! We have now stayed here twice, this time for 11 days. The no A/C Bungalows are just fine for two people, and the circular design, with a lot of windows, keep the place cool as soon as the sun goes down, though the ceiling fan is too small. The drawback is as follows, with all the windows open you will hear and see everyone around you, and you are only 20 feet away from other bungalows, and on many sides. This time we had a group of several children, without an adult staying next to us for one week, and they were VERY loud and horsing around, knocking Hornets nest down from trees, playing pranks, teasing each other, playing music loud, and sometimes right after we dosed off to sleep. The pool, usually very relaxing, was a playground full of toddlers, and pre- teens, Real bummer. Yes, I complained to a very empathetic staff and she set up a move for us the next day, but we decided moving would suck, and maybe the kids would get the message, they didn't. Keep in mind this is a "family friendly" place. However, not all families are well behaved, so it can get crazy. NOT, a great place for couples looking for a relaxing retreat, beware. Not all of the wait staff at the restaurant are qualified to have the position, meaning, unfriendly, or too straight faced. Smiling a lot is a must for wait staff, as well as a sunny disposition, none of them have it. Eight dollar drinks, and over priced food, should come with a smile. Yes, the sunset is remarkable, the surf break is a perfect right (just don't be there if a contest is going on like our last weekend was unless you are into that), the beach is remote, and the tide pools are cool, close to Kon Tiki for great pizza too, so not all a bad stay. In short, I would only recommend this place to those with children, or large groups, not couples. Make your own drinks in your room, stay away from the restaurant unless they lower their prices, and they hire professional wait staff. They only reason I didn't give a worse rating is our first trip there was mostly good, not great though, because of the wait staff.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018

We had such a beautiful time here. Yes, the internet is not great--but we didn't come to a remote beach in Costa Rica to spend time on wifi. The beach is amazing and endless, there are wild horses roaming around, the pool is big and warm, and the cabinas are cute and comfy. Our kids had fun playing with all the other kids there and we didn't encounter any of the unfriendly staff mentioned in other reviews--everyone was nice and helpful. Totally recommend this place! Yes, the restaurant is a bit pricey but there are some other places nearby that are great, and the restaurant did have some reasonably priced options that our kids would actually eat! Great place for your family!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kbird620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018

The place itself is really nice, super cool location almost on the beach overlooking the waves. The food is ok but what makes the experience not so nice is the staff. Super grumpy and one can tell they don't really like what they do, they went rom being rude to slamming the food and drinks on the table. It probably has something to do with the fact they are the only restaurant in the vicinity and independently of the service they will always have costumers. I most definitely won't be going back anytime soon.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank André F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018

Great location and beach, but low quality over priced food. Charging gringo prices for local food. Many local restaurants nearby with great food at great prices. Service poor, seems to be no workers or managers around to assist with your needs.
Accommodations are ok but not very clean and the AC is not 100%. Buy some rubbing alcohol to sterilize your bathroom.
WIFI is VERY unreliable.

Room Tip: demand room with AC that actually works
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Texasgrower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews