We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location Location”
Review of Villas Kalimba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villas Kalimba
Ranked #1 of 32 Playa Samara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Durango, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Location Location Location”
Reviewed 29 November 2011

The Villas are great for groups and families, our family of 4 (2 girls ages 8 & 12) just spent the Thanksgiving week in these wonderful villas with another family and couple to celebrate a 40th birthday. Our group was 10 in all and the setting was perfect- we were together yet had our own private villas. We enjoyed the location being just across the street from C & C surf school (great surf school:9 of us surfed from ages 8 to 67) and the beach. It was great to be at the beach and then within minutes back at the pool or villa to get a snack. The staff is very friendly and we liked that someone was always available and the gate is locked at night. Dining with Roberto(the owner) was more than a meal, it was an experience not to be missed. Other highlights: close to the market and restaurants, air conditioning cooled the rooms quickly, hammock and table in outdoor veranda of each villa, fully equipped kitchen, rooms cleaned daily as well as new sheets and towels. Our experience was memorable and we hope to go back and enjoy Pura Vida life again!

Room Tip: #1 was more sunny than #4. #4 is on the street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hallfamilyof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    687
    75
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
369
184
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 November 2011

We stayed here at the end of October and had a great time. It is the slow season so we had the entire place to ourselves. It felt like our own private getaway. The rooms were great. Clean spacious and next to the pool. We had heard about Roberto's great meals and because we were only staying two nights we were hoping to be there when he was cooking. Because it was the slow season Roberto had been in Italy for the last month and just got back the day we checked in. At first Roberto said we was not prepared to cook because he just got into town but somehow he pulled it together and said he would cook for us.

We went to the dining area at the appointed time and believe me, we were the ones not prepared for what was before us. Roberto made us a 6 course meal with the main course consisting of whole lobsters in a pasta dish. We had spent some time in Italy last year and Roberto's meal was as good as anything we ever ate in Italy.

Overall this hotel is great and the location is perfect, and if you can be there when Roberto is cooking that will be the highlight of your trip.

Room Tip: Because all of the villas surround the pool there is not a bad room in the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colorado1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

The bungalows are very nice and clean. Good food (we were lucky enough to enjoy a dinner that roberto prepared for his guests). We liked the pool right infront of our bungalow. It is only 50m to the ocean and the beaches are very nice too. The staff was very helpful and friendly and made our stay an unforgettabele experience.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schoppenizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 12 September 2011

comfortable villas for solo or family with full kitchen and easy access to beach.
Owner is very helpful

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gfrancesca99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

I went with my 3 kids ages 13,12 and 9 for spring break in April. My husband had to stay home and work, so it was a mom and kids kind of trip. We stayed at the Villa Kamar and can't say enough wonderful things about it! The reviews here say it all, so I wont repeat too much, only to say the house was spacious, clean, well tended to, and private! My kids loved the beach, private pool and Roberto's cooking! As a "single" woman with 3 kids, I felt totally safe. The little market next door came in handy, as well as beach chairs and boogie boards provided by the "hotel". We took a trip to the river to see the monkeys, birds etc (thanks Roberto for setting that up!) and did the zip line..(kids favorite part of the trip). We didn't "prepare" enough for the bugs, but the bites go away after a week or so, so no big deal! The beach water is warm and only steps across a little street through the surf shop on the sand and you are there. Lots of places to eat on the beach. I rented a car at the airport, and drove myself (only lost once) and that worked out fine. However, once in Samara if you only plan to stay there, you will not need a car, and there is an Alamo rental car only 1 block away if you do want a car for the day. Beware to add insurance costs, (and other random charges) to the total of your rental car if you do rent..it almost doubles the cost of the initial quote. We were sad to leave as we had the most enjoyable 4-5 days at Villas Kamar ~ thank you Roberto, we will be back! PS~ Roberto was very helpful in setting up our stay, answering questions online and helping with anything we needed!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank klh1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
2.7 km away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
841 reviews
2.2 km away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#7 of 16 in Playa Samara
874 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
392 reviews
1.7 km away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
291 reviews
1.9 km away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#11 of 16 in Playa Samara
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Kalimba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Kalimba

Property: Villas Kalimba
Address: Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are just steps away from one of the most beautiful beaches on the Pacific Ocean and within easy walking distance to restaurants, bars, shops, grocery, and other services. Our villas feature fully equipped kitchens, air conditioning, cable TV, telephone, internet connection, in-room safes, and 24 hour security. We offer a perfect and safe place from which to explore the many attractions of the area, or for relaxing in the swimming pool and inviting jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Villas Kalimba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Kalimba Hotel Playa Samara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing