We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Trip.com
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Hotels.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (816)
Filter reviews
816 results
Traveller rating
553
205
42
8
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
553
205
42
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews in town costa rica howler monkeys owners and staff pool water dirt road rooms are comfortable complimentary breakfast min walk quiet at night every morning beach signal wildlife excursions jungle
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 816 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2020

We were traveling with 3 family's which made us a group of 9. This is our second time in Costa Rica and most definitely not last. We very highly recommend This stay for everyone but mainly families with children. The hotel in general was very clean mainly the pool, the rooms were basic but has very good AC and hot water. The owners and staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast and service were excellent.

Date of stay: March 2020
Thank JustynaPawel7981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2020 via mobile

With my wife, we ha stayed 2 nights at hotel samara pacific lodge.
Everything is good at the hotel (people, room, breakfast, location) but the water of the pool is really dirty, troubled water. I don’t feel good to swim in this kind of water. But all the other things are clean. It’s just the pool water which is dirty nothing else.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 89maxencep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samara Pacific ... C, Propriétaire at Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2020

Dear Maxence

Thank you for your comment. I would like to talk about our pool. We are living on an area where temperature are very high. We have a very good maintenance but the water is so hot that some products are not working well. But you can swim perfectly everything is good.Sorry for the inconvenient

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2020

The hotel is run by a very nice family, supported by terrific staff. Everyone really wants your stay to be comfortable and fun so they are very helpful, patient and accommodating. The hotel is a 15 min walk, via Playa Samara, to the town centre. This is a good thing as you are on the edge of the jungle so there is plenty of wildlife (especially Howler Monkeys) and a hiking trail to awesome lookouts and Playa Escondida. The hotel is also a 15 min walk from Playa Buena Vista, where the sunsets are spectacular. The hotel restuarant is the best in town, with excellent, well-priced meals. The breakfast that comes with the room fare, is very good and generous. The pool is large and surrounded by a beautiful garden that attracts songbirds in the morning. Our room was very spacious with a lovely private patio. We stayed at this hotel for two weeks and loved every minute of it. Our thanks to the owners, Glorianna, Ronald, Javier, Santo and all the other staff who ensured we had a terrific holiday!

Room tip: Room 14 - spacious, with a private patio that looks over a farm filed.
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Weerobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2020

Great food whether it was the complimentary breakfast or the evening meals. Very friendly, helpful staff. Owners live on site. Grounds are well maintained. We enjoyed the pool. Close to downtown yet quiet at night for those who want to turn in early. Tours and excursions can be booked through the hotel at a discount. Very reasonable prices. This was our fourth time staying here and have already booked our next visit. As an added bonus we have, oftentimes, been able to strike up friendships with other guests. The restaurant was able to accommodate special requests due to allergy restrictions, etc.

Room tip: There are 2 different size rooms one of which is larger that can accommodate larger families.
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank stevejO9229QG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2020 via mobile

We (family with triplets aged ten) had a fantastic few days at the Sámara Pacific Lodge.

Our suite of rooms comprised two single beds in the entrance hall, with two doors each leading to a double room with an en suite and a shower. The rooms are comfortable, clean and well proportioned. There’s a balcony front and back, and we enjoyed sitting out there reading (see photo).

The staff at Sámara are excellent. They take real pride in ensuring everything is well maintained and nothing is too much trouble. We’d travelled around Costa Rica quite a bit prior to our arrival and really enjoyed a chilled day sitting by (and swimming in) the pool in the beautiful tropical gardens (see photo). The sun loungers are incredibly comfortable and cold drinks served direct; couldn’t have asked for more!

Breakfast was included and very good with fresh pancakes, fresh juice, eggs, toast etc.

The food at the evening restaurant is excellent. Really good value, beautifully presented (see photo) and absolutely delicious. We only had dinner there one night as there was a special set menu on our first evening (NYE) and we weren’t hungry enough to justify the cost, then it was closed on New Year’s Day. A shame as I’d have like to try more of their menu.

The other photos are of the small beach accessed when turning right out of the hotel (away from Sámara beach). We walked down there (takes 10/15 minutes) every morning after breakfast and saw howler monkeys, lots of birds, lizards, etc.

Main Sámara beach is also about a 10 minute walk away in the opposite direction. We swam in the sea a couple of times and ate at La Dolce Vita and Luv Burger (see separate reviews), both are right on the beach and decent. The hotel food is better though, and cheaper.

We enjoyed our kayaking and snorkelling excursion to Chora Island.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank AnnaOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews