We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,067)
Filter reviews
1,067 results
Traveller rating
335
310
188
117
117
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
335
310
188
117
117
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swim up bar all inclusive package wild horses a la carte restaurant costa rica beachfront villa in town all inclusive plan smaller resort great resort adventure tour bar tender horseback riding zip lining liberia airport low tide watermelon
Filter
Updating list...
647 - 652 of 1,067 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2012

The rooms were terrible. We stayed at an ocean view villa. We couldn't see the ocean from inside the villa, since there was another villa in the way or we saw the beach from a long angle. The rooms were terrible. There were cockroaches and bed bugs. There was no phone in the room so you have to walk to the front desk to complain. There were other bugs and frogs that somehow snuck in and made our bedroom their room too. One of the a/c units the LCD was broken so we could never tell if it worked. The kitchenette was nice but the hotel doesn't supply paper towels, kitchen towels, or dish soap. And the maid does not clean the dishes. So you are on your own there. Also the hotel is 5 hour drive away from San Jose Airport. So be prepared for the long drive. Expedia also was a terrible travel agent. We change our itinerary to shorten our stay by one day and the hotel was able to accommodate but Expedia didn't refund us the money for the 1 night stay. The food at the restaurant was okay, but it was better going into the town. We traveled during the off season so they were doing construction during our stay. Service was okay, and they were all friendly.

Date of stay: June 2012
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Very friendly staff like Louis and accommodating management like Philippe. Most likely the nicest resort in the entire region.
Would love to visit again.
Very beautiful and tranquil beach - an ideal wedding spot where you could have your entire wedding guest list stay!

Date of stay: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelIndustryPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

This was a very nice resort. The pool was excellent as was the restaurant. The staff were helpful and the grounds were magnificent. Horseback riding and massages on the beach. The beach was extremely scenic but not the type of Caribbean beach for sunbathing and swimming. The town was only a 30-60 minute walk on the beach, or an extremely inexpensive taxi ride. The town of Samara had some excellent restaurants, but not the place for a lot of shopping. The food at the restaurants in Samara was extremely reasonable. We would definitely return to this resort.

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Caribbeandan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

With continued improvements this place will be a great beach front resort. It is somewhat outdated, but clean.
Pros: Great friendly staff. Very nice size rooms. Very nice size pool.
Cons: 3 hour wait for room to be ready (after being told it would be 1 ½ hrs.
No sheets or bed clothes for beds in living room.
Absolutely no place to hang towels in bathroom. (there were 3 of us)
No wi-fi in rooms despite being told there was, only at reception area or restaurant.
Food in restaurant was pretty good, but small portions for the money.
Definitely a long 30 minute walk to town.

Room tip: Most villas have ocean front views. Closest to the beach are the best ones.
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jerri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We took my mother for 4 days for her 80th Birthday and we all loved it. She was treated well, loved her villa and will be talking for years about our tour to Rincon de la Vieja with Stephen. He looked out for her the whole day. She was escorted on the zip line, the rafting and to the hot springs and he did a mud bath for her face legs and feet! He carried her when she got too tired and made the whole day special for everyone. Well worth the tour price!!!! It was great to have the beach right there...food in the restaurant was great...grounds and villas kept quite clean...and everyone was helpful. Would definitely return!! Thanks, Stephen!!!

Room tip: Would definitely choose an oceanview villa which we had.
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lmixter07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews