We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“was nice once”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Reviewed 19 July 2012

this once was a nice resort i imagine and could once be one again. it needs a big infusion of money and better trained staff.

my experience began with trying to enter the resort. since they could not find the reservation they did not want to let me into the resort. when they finally did i was treated like i would steal something. front desk treated me no better till they found my reservation. room was not ready yet which was fine. i just wanted to find the place then get some lunch. i headed to the city after that to grab lunch.


once i came back they said they had my room ready took me to the back of the resort for some room i did not rent since i booked a ocean view villa/bungalow. more time to find my reservation. once corrected they put me in a villa that was dirty worn out and dated in furniture and just needed to be renovated. the frig made some sort of strange sounds. some sort of dust insect leavings or what i don't know on top of the frig. the living room had no ac or fan. all the blinds were worn and missing slats. the sofa cushions were just cheap foam with worn out cloth on top. the lighting in all the rooms was poor. the front door had cracks in the wood that you could see through. the mattress was worn out and not very comfortable. the ac in the bed room was really to small for the room and took most of the night to cool the room. the bathroom had drains in the floor which is normal for places outside the USA but what was not normal was they did not have grates on the top but some sort of sponge thing jammed into them. i don't want to no why. calcium stains all over the place not very clean. everything kind of worn out.
no phone in the rooms, so if you want to contact the front desk you have to walk to the front desk. no front desk after 11pm. your on your own i assume.

outside the villa. great beach, very quite, nice pool area with a swim up bar. i dont know what the food is like since i hardly ever eat in hotels.

staff friendly once they found my reservation. till then they treat you like you will steal something.

having to wear bands on your wrist to let the staff know you are a guest in the hotel is a joke. there is no hotel anywhere close to this one with in walking distance. if you were walking from another hotel i wold guess it is at least 45 minutes along the beach.

i booked only one night thank god and would have stayed more if i thought it was a nice place.also i booked through one of the online places that always has commercials on tv. so my price was 1/3 of what the hotel website charges. still should have been less for this type of hotel.

when this place is renovated and the staff is better trained it should be a nice place. most likely if that happens the price will skyrocket. still not be worth what you pay. no ammenities besides the pool and nice beach. no water sports no nothing.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Troy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (951)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

574 - 578 of 951 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2012

The rooms were terrible. We stayed at an ocean view villa. We couldn't see the ocean from inside the villa, since there was another villa in the way or we saw the beach from a long angle. The rooms were terrible. There were cockroaches and bed bugs. There was no phone in the room so you have to walk to the front desk to complain. There were other bugs and frogs that somehow snuck in and made our bedroom their room too. One of the a/c units the LCD was broken so we could never tell if it worked. The kitchenette was nice but the hotel doesn't supply paper towels, kitchen towels, or dish soap. And the maid does not clean the dishes. So you are on your own there. Also the hotel is 5 hour drive away from San Jose Airport. So be prepared for the long drive. Expedia also was a terrible travel agent. We change our itinerary to shorten our stay by one day and the hotel was able to accommodate but Expedia didn't refund us the money for the 1 night stay. The food at the restaurant was okay, but it was better going into the town. We traveled during the off season so they were doing construction during our stay. Service was okay, and they were all friendly.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Very friendly staff like Louis and accommodating management like Philippe. Most likely the nicest resort in the entire region.
Would love to visit again.
Very beautiful and tranquil beach - an ideal wedding spot where you could have your entire wedding guest list stay!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelIndustryPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

This was a very nice resort. The pool was excellent as was the restaurant. The staff were helpful and the grounds were magnificent. Horseback riding and massages on the beach. The beach was extremely scenic but not the type of Caribbean beach for sunbathing and swimming. The town was only a 30-60 minute walk on the beach, or an extremely inexpensive taxi ride. The town of Samara had some excellent restaurants, but not the place for a lot of shopping. The food at the restaurants in Samara was extremely reasonable. We would definitely return to this resort.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Caribbeandan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

With continued improvements this place will be a great beach front resort. It is somewhat outdated, but clean.
Pros: Great friendly staff. Very nice size rooms. Very nice size pool.
Cons: 3 hour wait for room to be ready (after being told it would be 1 ½ hrs.
No sheets or bed clothes for beds in living room.
Absolutely no place to hang towels in bathroom. (there were 3 of us)
No wi-fi in rooms despite being told there was, only at reception area or restaurant.
Food in restaurant was pretty good, but small portions for the money.
Definitely a long 30 minute walk to town.

Room Tip: Most villas have ocean front views. Closest to the beach are the best ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jerri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Samara
0.6 km away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
884 reviews
3.7 km away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
600 reviews
6.4 km away
Hotel Paraiso del Cocodrilo
Hotel Paraiso del Cocodrilo
#11 of 16 in Playa Samara
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#12 of 16 in Playa Samara
233 reviews
3.9 km away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
320 reviews
3 km away
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
#3 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villas Playa Samara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villas Playa Samara

Address: South From the Center of Samara Going Towards Playa Carrillo 3km, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Price Range: €239 - €779 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Villas Playa Samara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a hotel with fully equipped villas and deluxe rooms. We are located in front of the beach very close yo downtown Samara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Villas Playa Samara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing