We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Costa Rica Destination”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Reviewed 9 February 2012

I visit this hotel with my family earlier this month and decided to post my experience. At first when we booked our stay we had doubts due to the latest reviews that I found online, I spoke with the staff of the hotel upon arrival and was assured that everything was resolved and let me tell you it was more than just resolved, (judging from the reviews). The staff was extremely friendly and courteous, being a native Costa Rican I'm used to a level of service and friendliness but they where over the top, super friendly front desk, great activities guy and a very caring guest service manager, I had the opportunity to be welcomed by the hotel manager "Diego" who was extremely polite. Our Villas was perfect, huge pool, great food and one of the most beautiful beach I've ever seen.


With out a doubt this place is a true Fish! would recommend to anyone looking for the authentic Costa Rica heaven!

Room Tip: The villa we stayed was perfect right in front of the ocean, so pick an ocean villa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marco G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BradAnderson, Director of Sales at Hotel Villas Playa Samara, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2012

Dear Marco,

Thank you for the opportunity and pleasure of having you among our guests. Our activities and entertainment staff said you were extremely participant and cooperating. Hope to have you and your family back soon. If there's anything we can do please email us to reserva@villasplayasamara.com.

Best regards,

Brad Anderson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (916)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

575 - 579 of 916 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2012

It is hard to explain why exactly after all this years (5) I keep on dreaming about Playa Samara as my paradise on earth... Probably because I didn't expect to find such a peaceful location, easy going and relaxing as Playa Samara!
I ended up there by chance, traveling by car with my mother and I read on a guide about this place so I decided to check it personally. I was scared, at first by its price but than charmed by the politeness of its owner as he saw us walking away and decided to offer us a special price... we planned to stay for a night and we ended up spending there almost all our holiday because the more we travelled the more we thought Playa Samara was just perfect for us: easy, peaceful, not crowded, unexpected and simply lovely.
I miss that beach and can't wait to be back.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lyllidar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BradAnderson, Director of Sales at Hotel Villas Playa Samara, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2012

Dear Lilly,

I'm so happy you decided to stay with us and that you enjoyed your stay, looking at your pictures only makes us work even harder to provide the very best level of service and we hope to hear from you soon for your next visit. Actually if you mention that I replied to your trip advisor review we can offer you a very special price! If theirs absolutely anything else please don't hesitate to email us to reserva@villasplayasamara.com

Best regards,

Brad Anderson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Not sure where to begin - to be concise I will list the problems in no particular order:
1. Check in at 4. - room wasn't ready for hours after being told it would be ready in twenty minutes
2. The room they finally offered us was filthy .. Housekeeping was airing out the mattresses on the terrace because they were vomited on or worse... They were planning on just putting on new sheets- bathrooms were covered in mold - we were preparing to leave but because we had paid upfront we agreed to be moved to a new room
3. The new space was only slightly better - bathrooms were filthy- still felt dirty after a shower- the shades were covered in dust from the 1980's - the seat cushions had spills and stains we had to line the sofa with towels
4. No tv- only tv was in a moldy game room - only Spanish tv playing
5. No working wifi
6. Housekeeping kept refolding dirtly towels and putting them back on our bed
7. No one spoke a word of English except some French surfer whose job was smile at the French guests
8. Shower only had warm water with such little water pressure felt like you were showering with a watering can
9. Beach was beautiful - only from afar- as there was so much horse poop it was unsanitary to walk without shoes and the water was packed with so much silt - it was a muddy froth
10 stray dogs roamed the grounds
Felt bad for the staff who seemed embarrassed to be working there as the problems were so obvious
So far from town needed a car to get to town or taxi

Room Tip: Spoke with other guests who were just as dissatisfied
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Shira G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BradAnderson, Director of Sales at Hotel Villas Playa Samara, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Hello Shira,

Thank you for such an extensive feedback this can only help us improve. On super high peak seasons our check in is on some occasions at 4pm this is due to the amount of visitors we have at one time. Not a single one of our rooms as a TV this is because we believe Costa Rica and Specially Villas Playa Samara is a place to detox and relax, as you mention we do have an activities room that our clients can use to watch TV on local cable a Pool Table and a Air hockey Table, we also have our Gym and mini market area internet Service is free and overall very stable however we do depend on local services to be online, the beach is one of the cleanest beaches in the country and proven with their blue flag award, a certification issued by the Costa Rica’s government to guarantee cleanliness and safety to our visitors. We have taken the necessary steps to maintain a top of the industry level of service and have hired a new onsite manager and guest service manager. We hope in the near future to have great reviews from our guest.

1- Samara was voted for 2 years in a row 7 best traveler beach in Latin America
2- We believe you were able to enjoy this beach & ocean yourself since you enjoyed very much both fishing, dolphins, & snorkeling tour booked by us, we also cooked for you your catch we do want to believe that you reconsider our ocean to be healthy since you eat its “fruits”
3- To compensate the late check-out we offered you a complementary upgrade to a ocean view two bedroom villa to compensate this issue
4- The only reason were you found and unclean room is because you did not wanted to wait until the requested time 3:30 pm for check that we gently requested you and you went directly into your assigned room without letting the cleaning ladies finished their jobs.
5- You also requested a last minute cake for one of your child for its birthday which we delivered in an instant for free since this is our hotel policy when we received guest during their birthdays.
6- You also lost your cellphone upon check-in which we were able to retrieve for you in a glimpse.
7- You children were provided with 100 of free tokens in our games room during the entire stay to make sure you had the best vacations possible we are very sorry to read that you were not able to enjoy to the maximum your vacation and really experience the beautiful location & nature that Villas Playa Samara has to offer to its guest and in you case we wish that you could have stayed for a longer stay at our resort to really be able to detox which in reality our mission to our clients.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed at this resort having no idea what to expect and were pleasantly surprised at the accomadations. Each little house has a fully equiped kitchen and ready for whatever you decided to do there. We stayed in a two bedroom two bath and had plenty of room for five adults. There is a wonderful pool with a swim up bar and the resort is right on the beach. Some villas do not have ocean views, but you can request it, but it is an easy walk. They do offer all exclusive deals, but the town of Samara is not too far and they have many beach side restaurants if you are willing to walk or drive. Otherwise, you can add your meals and eat there, the food was pretty good. The facility offers many excursions and they are a lot of fun and a great way to explore the area. We did the river excursion and saw lots of crocodiles and monkeys and also the day of adventure was a lot of fun, but kind of hard work too. You spent the day outdoors zip lining, rock climbing, horse back riding, tubing down a river and the end of the day was soaking in hot springs fed by the local volcano. A true adventure. We missed the tour of the coffee grown locally, but next time... Personally I think this is the best place to stay in this particular area. And give my reagrds to Alonzo and Phelep. They were great and made our experience there memorable.

Room Tip: I think the rooms closer to the ocean have the best views and rooms closer to the restaurant have be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReneeK55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BradAnderson, Director of Sales at Hotel Villas Playa Samara, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2012

Hello Reneek!

We thank you for your feedback and we are thrilled that you had the chance to experience the "real" Costa Rica adventures. We are sure you will visit us again and take that Coffee Tour. Alonso said Thank you! It was a pleasure having you among our guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We stayed here during the holidays and celebrated New Years at this resort. It was full as expected since it is peak season after all. The crowd was 50/50 (American /Canadian tourists and Costa Ricans) and the party, dinner and fireworks were awesome!

There seems to be several negative comments towards this resort and all I can say is that if you want a fairytale vacation with white-glove service then this may not be the place for you.

We have travelled all over the world and stayed in a variety of resorts/hotels and would simply catagorize this place as charming, friendly, rustic and off the beaten path. We enjoyed the fact that wi-fi was down and there was no tv in the rooms. Vacation should be about unplugging and doing fun activites, reading a book and simply enjoying this tropical paradise. When the last time you saw wild horses running down the beach? :)

The staff and and management were friendly and helpful and we met some really great people, something you don't find at mega-resorts. We never go to the same place twice but are already considering returning next year.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Julius L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BradAnderson, Director of Sales at Hotel Villas Playa Samara, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2012

Hi Julius!

We would like to extend our gratitude for your comments, you get it! This is what our hotel is all about! We had a great time in new years and hope to have even a bigger party next year! Hope to see you with us soon! Mention that I replied to your review and get a special discount on your next reservation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
0.6 km away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
865 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#12 of 16 in Playa Samara
223 reviews
3.7 km away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
304 reviews
6.4 km away
Hotel Paraiso del Cocodrilo
Hotel Paraiso del Cocodrilo
#11 of 16 in Playa Samara
100 reviews
6.5 km away
Hotel Flying Crocodile
Hotel Flying Crocodile
#6 of 16 in Playa Samara
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villas Playa Samara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villas Playa Samara

Address: South From the Center of Samara Going Towards Playa Carrillo 3km, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Price Range: €198 - €504 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Villas Playa Samara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a hotel with fully equipped villas and deluxe rooms. We are located in front of the beach very close yo downtown Samara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Villas Playa Samara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing