We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - major flaws”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Beautiful location, we had an ocean view 2 bedroom villa and it was very nice and suited our family perfectly. I don’t think I would stay there again for a couple or reasons.
a. Found management and people who worked there very unfriendly. No one seemed happy with their jobs. Our Villa was 3P and our key said 3C. When I pointed this out, they said it didn’t matter. ??? so 3C key can open 3P… didn’t make sense to me – see item d, below. Could be the problem.
b. Prices were much higher than anywhere else and the quality of food and service did not warrant the higher prices.
c. They were adding on to the restaurant. Construction started at 6:30 a.m. and went until way after dark each night. I realize that the addition is a plus, but the time we stayed was considered peak season... why they chose this time to do this work, is beyond me.
d. Woke up after first night and my husband asked me how come I didn't lock the door. The chain was on but the door was ajar. I told him that I absolutely locked everything. Later that afternoon, we found out that the villa next to us was broken into during the night. The couple happened to wake up as the intruders were entering. The husband chased them out. I spent the next 2 nights with furniture barracading our doors at night.

The beach is beautiful and the location is ideal, but I will look for another place to stay on our next visit in June.

Room Tip: Excellent layout of Villas, but due to security issues would not recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BradAnderson, Director of Sales at Hotel Villas Playa Samara, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Hi Dxander,

Thank you for your feedback every single review or comment from our customers help us become better, I would like to point out a few things the key you had said 3p as a typo from our provider since we simply do not have a 3p only villa 3B probably this is what the front desk staff referred to when they said it didn’t matter. Secondly the situation with security was verified the next morning when we presented to your neighbor our security officer that was on duty that night. He was the one doing his round around the resort and by accident flashed into your room taking is rounds. No one at any moment had anyone brake in to their villas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (954)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

605 - 609 of 954 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2012

We paid in advance for an ocean-view villa. When we arrived at 1:30pm, we were told check in was at 4pm. By 6pm we still didn't have a room. The front desk said they were working on it. We approached the manager and he said the room would be ready soon and it wasn't that late to get our room. His attitude was rude. We finally got a room at 6:30pm and it was not the ocean-view villa we paid for. It was one of the 4 villas that were being remodeled that were the furthest away from the beach. All items and furniture had just been brought in and nothing was plugged in. The bathroom was dirty and the toilet was leaking. We heard construction taking place each morning at 5-6am.
When we discussed this with the front desk all they did was offer us a free dinner. How does that help our experience? We would have gone to another hotel, but it was the holidays and the busiest time of the year. I don’t understand how they can run a business with no integrity and horrible customer service. After all this we didn’t feel welcome at all. We are still trying to get the difference of rate for the room, since at check out, they said the manager in charge was not available to give us the refund.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Lucero27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BradAnderson, Director of Sales at Hotel Villas Playa Samara, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Hello Lucero,

We are truly sorry about the experience you had at the resort, as you mention we were under construction and our contractor was extremely delayed thus the reason your rooms were not fully ready upon your arrival thankfully all of these situations have been resolved and the hotel is taking measure here to provide a better service to all of our clients, we have hired a new hotel manager and a guest service manager to make the necessary changes we are eager to see in the near future the new reviews that come in and invite you to come over and let us renew your experience with a very special Price.
Also if your situation has not been resolved please contact us at reserva@villasplayasamara.com so we can take care of your situation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We were told rooms would be ready by 2 PM for check-in but we did not arrive until 6 PM. When we arrived we were told it would be 15 min. until they finished furnishing the room because it was just finished being built that day and the furniture had just arrived. In reality, we were not able to check-in until 9 PM and their were 2 beds, no soap, no glasses, no towel rack, closet, dressers, lights, shower curtain, blow dryer just 2 beds in a room the size of a large walk-in closet. Their was no warm water but the owner emphasized the water was fresh and he would make amends in the AM with warm water and more furniture in each room. The following day we not only were minus warm water but now we had no water at all therefore showers and use of the toilet were not feasible. The air conditioner leaked all over the floor and one of our suitcases full of clothes. Their was no phone in the room, no T-V and one very bright overhead light. For 3 days we showered in either cold water or by the pool where folks rinsed off their feet when they came in off the beach. The food at the restaurant was average but service quite slow. The small store was stocked with the basics and opened for small periods of time in the AM. The owner did not really act very empathetic but had more of a " get over it attitude " which is a very poor business tactic if he is really interested in the reputation of his hotel ?? I would not recommend this place to anyone including people looking for a place to board their dogs. There are a lot of nice hotels and resorts nearby. I recommend you pick another property so you won't be counting down the days before you leave like we did. We loved Costa Rica but wished we had not booked rooms here because this place was truly a huge disappointment !!!!Spare yourself the pain and pick a place where you can sleep comfortably and take a shower.

Room Tip: Not sure what to advise because I heard from other travelers that the villas were old and dirty but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank KathieLaCrosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BradAnderson, Director of Sales at Hotel Villas Playa Samara, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Hello Katie,

We are truly sorry about the experience you had at the resort, as you mention we were under construction and our contractor was extremely delayed thus the reason your rooms were not fully ready upon your arrival thankfully all of these situations have been resolved and the hotel is taking measure here to provide a better service to all of our clients, we have hired a new hotel manager and a guest service manager to make the necessary changes we are eager to see in the near future the new reviews that come in and invite you to come over and let us renew your experience with a very special Price. At the same time we have finish constructing a brand new gym, new rooms and a new reception and restaurant area that we think will satisfy all of our clients.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

This hotel was TERRIBLE!! Owner is an arrogant [--]. They were literally still building our rooms when we got there -had to wait 2 hrs to get in.(our reservations had been confirmed for MONTHS) Rooms just had a bed. No bed spreads. NO hot water some of the time (owner said, "Well, it's "fresh water"), NO water others, electricity went out. DIRTY floors. Asked the staff to clean them, it didn't happen.

Room Tip: I wouldn't stay here again if it was free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BMoss111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BradAnderson, Director of Sales at Hotel Villas Playa Samara, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Hello Bmoss,

We are truly sorry about the experience you had at the resort, as you mention we were under construction and our contractor was extremely delayed thus the reason your rooms were not fully ready upon your arrival thankfully all of these situations have been resolved and the hotel is taking measure here to provide a better service to all of our clients, we are eager to see in the near future the new reviews that come in and invite you to come over and let us renew your experience with a very special Price. At the same time we have finish constructing a brand new gym, new rooms and a new reception and restaurant area that we think will satisfy all of our clients.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

We were overwhelming disappointed in our accommodations at this place. The photos were obviously taken the year this place was built. The air conditioners did not cool in two different rooms & we got moved twice. There is mold on the walls near the leaky air conditioners. Pubic hair on the floor. Mirrors were filthy. You would not walk barefoot in this place. Non stick pans with the non-stick all scratched off, which is now carcenogenic.
The pool was dirty. The convenience store on site closed.

We checked out and found another place to stay for the remainder of our week of vacation. It goes to say.... you can sell anything on the internet with good photos! Beware.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NancyPuraVida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BradAnderson, Director of Sales at Hotel Villas Playa Samara, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Hello Nancy!

We thank you for your comments and truly apologize if the services was not up to the task, all of our hotel is currently under renovations and new areas were just constructed we also take our clients feedback pretty close to the heart so to prevent future situations like this we have been joined on our staff by a new hotel manager and a guest service manager this to ensure that we make amends to new visitors and hopefully in the future if you decide to come to back Costa Rica give us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Samara
0.6 km away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
886 reviews
3.7 km away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
603 reviews
6.4 km away
Hotel Paraiso del Cocodrilo
Hotel Paraiso del Cocodrilo
#11 of 16 in Playa Samara
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
320 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#12 of 16 in Playa Samara
233 reviews
3 km away
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
#3 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villas Playa Samara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villas Playa Samara

Address: South From the Center of Samara Going Towards Playa Carrillo 3km, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Price Range: €242 - €803 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Villas Playa Samara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a hotel with fully equipped villas and deluxe rooms. We are located in front of the beach very close yo downtown Samara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Villas Playa Samara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing