We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,064)
Filter reviews
1,064 results
Traveller rating
334
308
188
117
117
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
334
308
188
117
117
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swim up bar all inclusive package wild horses a la carte restaurant costa rica beachfront villa in town all inclusive plan smaller resort great resort adventure tour bar tender horseback riding zip lining liberia airport low tide watermelon
Filter
Updating list...
675 - 680 of 1,064 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We paid in advance for an ocean-view villa. When we arrived at 1:30pm, we were told check in was at 4pm. By 6pm we still didn't have a room. The front desk said they were working on it. We approached the manager and he said the room would be ready soon and it wasn't that late to get our room. His attitude was rude. We finally got a room at 6:30pm and it was not the ocean-view villa we paid for. It was one of the 4 villas that were being remodeled that were the furthest away from the beach. All items and furniture had just been brought in and nothing was plugged in. The bathroom was dirty and the toilet was leaking. We heard construction taking place each morning at 5-6am.
When we discussed this with the front desk all they did was offer us a free dinner. How does that help our experience? We would have gone to another hotel, but it was the holidays and the busiest time of the year. I don’t understand how they can run a business with no integrity and horrible customer service. After all this we didn’t feel welcome at all. We are still trying to get the difference of rate for the room, since at check out, they said the manager in charge was not available to give us the refund.

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Lucero27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BradAnderson, Director of Sales at Hotel Villas Playa Samara, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Hello Lucero,

We are truly sorry about the experience you had at the resort, as you mention we were under construction and our contractor was extremely delayed thus the reason your rooms were not fully ready upon your arrival thankfully all of these situations have been resolved and the hotel is taking measure here to provide a better service to all of our clients, we have hired a new hotel manager and a guest service manager to make the necessary changes we are eager to see in the near future the new reviews that come in and invite you to come over and let us renew your experience with a very special Price.
Also if your situation has not been resolved please contact us at reserva@villasplayasamara.com so we can take care of your situation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We were told rooms would be ready by 2 PM for check-in but we did not arrive until 6 PM. When we arrived we were told it would be 15 min. until they finished furnishing the room because it was just finished being built that day and the furniture had just arrived. In reality, we were not able to check-in until 9 PM and their were 2 beds, no soap, no glasses, no towel rack, closet, dressers, lights, shower curtain, blow dryer just 2 beds in a room the size of a large walk-in closet. Their was no warm water but the owner emphasized the water was fresh and he would make amends in the AM with warm water and more furniture in each room. The following day we not only were minus warm water but now we had no water at all therefore showers and use of the toilet were not feasible. The air conditioner leaked all over the floor and one of our suitcases full of clothes. Their was no phone in the room, no T-V and one very bright overhead light. For 3 days we showered in either cold water or by the pool where folks rinsed off their feet when they came in off the beach. The food at the restaurant was average but service quite slow. The small store was stocked with the basics and opened for small periods of time in the AM. The owner did not really act very empathetic but had more of a " get over it attitude " which is a very poor business tactic if he is really interested in the reputation of his hotel ?? I would not recommend this place to anyone including people looking for a place to board their dogs. There are a lot of nice hotels and resorts nearby. I recommend you pick another property so you won't be counting down the days before you leave like we did. We loved Costa Rica but wished we had not booked rooms here because this place was truly a huge disappointment !!!!Spare yourself the pain and pick a place where you can sleep comfortably and take a shower.

Room tip: Not sure what to advise because I heard from other travelers that the villas were old and dirty but I know they had warm running water !!!
Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank KathieLaCrosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BradAnderson, Director of Sales at Hotel Villas Playa Samara, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Hello Katie,

We are truly sorry about the experience you had at the resort, as you mention we were under construction and our contractor was extremely delayed thus the reason your rooms were not fully ready upon your arrival thankfully all of these situations have been resolved and the hotel is taking measure here to provide a better service to all of our clients, we have hired a new hotel manager and a guest service manager to make the necessary changes we are eager to see in the near future the new reviews that come in and invite you to come over and let us renew your experience with a very special Price. At the same time we have finish constructing a brand new gym, new rooms and a new reception and restaurant area that we think will satisfy all of our clients.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

This hotel was TERRIBLE!! Owner is an arrogant [--]. They were literally still building our rooms when we got there -had to wait 2 hrs to get in.(our reservations had been confirmed for MONTHS) Rooms just had a bed. No bed spreads. NO hot water some of the time (owner said, "Well, it's "fresh water"), NO water others, electricity went out. DIRTY floors. Asked the staff to clean them, it didn't happen.

Room tip: I wouldn't stay here again if it was free.
Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BMoss111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BradAnderson, Director of Sales at Hotel Villas Playa Samara, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Hello Bmoss,

We are truly sorry about the experience you had at the resort, as you mention we were under construction and our contractor was extremely delayed thus the reason your rooms were not fully ready upon your arrival thankfully all of these situations have been resolved and the hotel is taking measure here to provide a better service to all of our clients, we are eager to see in the near future the new reviews that come in and invite you to come over and let us renew your experience with a very special Price. At the same time we have finish constructing a brand new gym, new rooms and a new reception and restaurant area that we think will satisfy all of our clients.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

We were overwhelming disappointed in our accommodations at this place. The photos were obviously taken the year this place was built. The air conditioners did not cool in two different rooms & we got moved twice. There is mold on the walls near the leaky air conditioners. Pubic hair on the floor. Mirrors were filthy. You would not walk barefoot in this place. Non stick pans with the non-stick all scratched off, which is now carcenogenic.
The pool was dirty. The convenience store on site closed.

We checked out and found another place to stay for the remainder of our week of vacation. It goes to say.... you can sell anything on the internet with good photos! Beware.

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NancyPuraVida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BradAnderson, Director of Sales at Hotel Villas Playa Samara, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Hello Nancy!

We thank you for your comments and truly apologize if the services was not up to the task, all of our hotel is currently under renovations and new areas were just constructed we also take our clients feedback pretty close to the heart so to prevent future situations like this we have been joined on our staff by a new hotel manager and a guest service manager this to ensure that we make amends to new visitors and hopefully in the future if you decide to come to back Costa Rica give us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

They unclogged our shower drain with a toilet bowl plunger, our reservations thru interval was not honored, even though we confirmed it on our own and had two emails and a certificate from Interval International. We were moved from Villa 13P after one day once a larger family arrived and put in Villa 41A where they used our silverware to put our beds together and unclog drains. We have ants and scorpions in our Villa yet no one comes with spray, kitchen towels, our AC isn't working and I've nicely tipped and asked for a fan for three days, no fan. We are being forced to check out early at our own expense bc they say they have no room ( ?)
The dirt in our bathroom cabinets resembles that of a mud slide. I am still here but will post pictures soon. OUr hot plate doesn't work and we have asked even for a grill to cook on but nothing. The kids were given one sheet each for sleeping, we are using pool towels and we had to prop our own books under the fridge or the door flies open and the food spoils. They don't care. The manger ( perhaps) Ferendita is so rude it's unreal because it's a lovely country and the location of the resort is amazing. It's so sad but between the toilet bowl plunger, being moved out twice, and told to leave 2 days early....and honestly, we have asked so politely. I've traveled the world, a hostel would have been more welcoming. I can't tell you enough, do not stay here.

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank travelgirl2581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BradAnderson, Director of Sales at Hotel Villas Playa Samara, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Hello Travelgirl,

We thank you for your comments as every review is always useful to us. However we do feel we need to point out some pertinent information regarding your stay with us to clarify to readers and travelers, you arrived at our hotel without nay reservation requesting we accepted your interval exchange, we notified your interval agent that we did not had availability for your full stay however we would attempt to provide the best service possible thus the reason why you had to leave on Friday, if you had planned your visit with anticipation and proper reservation non of the points above would’ve taken place. I trust on your next visit you will join us properly so that we can make sure you really enjoy your Costa Rican vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews