We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, but beware of communications challenges”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Reviewed 24 October 2011

The hotel was great and the staff was fantastic - only complaint is that there is very little light in the kitchen (which we did not use, since the hotel is far from town and shopping) and the living room. We compensated by bringing in lamps from bedroom.

You don't need Costa Rican colones; everyone takes US dollars. Tips are NOT included with the meals.

Beware of a known (but not to me, unfortunately) telephone scam that I *** think *** the hotel is aware of because payphone providers can profit from the overcharges. I was charged $61 four times for calling the US (five minutes max each call). Despite the hotel's assurances before I arrived that they had two pay phones and wireless internet, I was unable to make a Skype call and the pay phones were decrepit and didn’t work. The hotel is in a remote area, so phonecards weren't practical. When using the lobby credit card phone, the calling procedures did not work as advertised; the operator always picked up to complete the call. Either pay through the nose, go to town ($10 round trip cab), or don't call. Check out these sites for more info:

http://amcostaricaarchives.com/2010/11/web-site-hosts-reports-of-bbgs-outrageous-phone-charges/
http://www.bbgcommunications.info/
http://www.bbgovercharge.com/
http://www.bbgovercharge.com/news/its-a-global-scam/

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank auntashlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (957)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

624 - 628 of 957 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2011

This was a nice hotel. The AC worked GREAT. This was the only place we found a king size bed in our 3 trips to CR - a huge plus. The grounds were really nice and well maintained. The pool was HUGE and nice, though a little warm. The beach in front of the hotel was really nice. The only downside was the location - it is pretty far from town.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarkChw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We had a 2 bedroom, 2 bath, bungalow for a night in early September, and frankly, we were glad it was only a night. This should have been one of the nicest places we stayed, but there was just something a little off about the place. Fodor's, which I rarely use for hotels, noted that the rooms had a cleanliness issue. We figured that if it was in a guide book, the issue would have been taken care of. It wasn't, and it was the only place we stayed in CR that wasn't particularly clean. We were told that the unit could sleep up to 7 or 8, altho we were only 4. What surprised us was that all the extra beds, rollaways, were in place, and thus getting dirty for the next group. There was no tv, surprising for a hotel with these pretensions, and the rooms were so poorly lit that it was difficult to read. At check in I had to read thru and sign a full page of rules while being watched, which was kind of creepy. One of the rules was that checkout was 10am, the earliest of any place I have stayed, or a full day would be charged. Seeing my shock, they immediately changed it to 12, but why not a more reasonable time in the first place? We were required to wear wrist bracelets, for reasons that the staff couldn't explain, even tho it wasn't an a i. (The desk staff were very friendly, and I think a little embarrassed by all the regulations.) This place has so much potential, it wouldn't take much to make it better.

Room Tip: It should be noted that the 2 bedroom bungalows can be set up for 2 different parties, with one taki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank talb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

It is my fourth trip to Costa Rica and second time to Samara Beach. We had a great experience at this hotel. The restaurant food was delicious. We had fresh fruits in the morning and fresh fish at night. Thy the ceviche de pescado you wont regret it. The pool was quite big and I was able to swim. The villa we were in was recently renovated and confortable. We had an astonishing view of the beach from our window.

My husband and I took several walks at night on the beach and around the hotel and always felt safe. Samara beach is amazing. I have not seen a single cloud the entire time I was there. The sands is soft. I even did some jogging feet naked one morning! the water is very warm, way more than on the Atlantic side. You enter the sea as you enter your bath. Samara village is very nice with shops and nice restaurants. At sunset we mounted horses along the beach, It was great!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Hotel Villas Playa Samara has everything you want for a vacation. Its located in a safety and gorgeous beach. The rooms are very comfortable, the food is delicious. And one of my favorite things is the pool with the bar, perfect to stay all day long with your friends. A great place to stay with your family or friends. Everybody is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Beanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BradAndersonSamara, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Villas Playa Samara, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2011

Dear Beanana,

We are really happy that you have enjoyed your vacation at our resort and that you took the time to share your trip experience with the TA community. We certainly hope to host you & your family again at the resort very soon.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Samara
0.6 km away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
890 reviews
3.7 km away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
605 reviews
6.4 km away
Hotel Paraiso del Cocodrilo
Hotel Paraiso del Cocodrilo
#11 of 16 in Playa Samara
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
321 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#12 of 16 in Playa Samara
233 reviews
3 km away
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
#4 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villas Playa Samara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villas Playa Samara

Address: South From the Center of Samara Going Towards Playa Carrillo 3km, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Price Range: €245 - €812 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Villas Playa Samara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a hotel with fully equipped villas and deluxe rooms. We are located in front of the beach very close yo downtown Samara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Villas Playa Samara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing