We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real family hotel in Sámara Costa Rica”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 December 2017

At the southern edge of Sámara's beach there is a small hotel jewel. There is certainly more expensive hotels and also cheaper ones in Sámara but the question is if something gives such personal comfort as the HideAway. Many Costa Ricans are very nice and friendly but we were lucky enough to stay at the hotel for over a week while the owners Rosie and Doug from Reno / Nevada also was there. They along with the hotel's other staff Nancy, Maria, Kevin and Carlos were very very accommodating.

The family feeling occurred partly because the hotel only had 14 rooms partly because all guests shared their experiences from surrounding tours both at the excellent breakfasts and dinners (the different fish served is highly recommended). The food served is in luxury class and you should not count on losing weight. Be especially carefully of the hotel's delicious MangoMagueritas and Doug's home-made ice cream with Brownies. Both can be addictive for you.

Helén and Wictor

Stayed: November 2017
1  Thank Wictor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (874)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 874 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2017 via mobile

We really enjoyed The Hideaway Hotel. Right next to the beach with friendly staff, really good food, and nice and large rooms that are very well maintained. If you're going to Samara Costa this is the place to stay. I can't recommend it enough!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Josh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017

We stayed at The Hideaway Hotel two years ago for a couple of nights after a month long visit to Costa Rica and liked the place so well that we decided to return and just spend our week vacation at the hotel. We were not disappointed and had a great time. They offer a very good breakfast as part of the room rate and dinners are wonderful. They had fresh fish every night and it was always cooked to perfection.

The rooms are large and comfortable. I can't say enough about the great service provided for both housekeeping and restaurant staff. This is a small and quiet hotel but perfect for what we were looking for. One of the best things about this hotel is its close location to Playa Carrillo Beach, one of the best beaches in this part of Costa Rica. Playa Carrillo Beach is located about a mile south of The Hideaway Hotel. The hotel provided beach towels and mats for use at the beach.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Terry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017

We really enjoyed our stay here, everyone was helpful and friendly, service went above and beyond. I enjoyed many conversations with staff and even the owners! We were looking for a place outside of town that was close enough to amenities, but far enough from town that we could enjoy some seclusion. The food, service, and room met and exceeded all expectations. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Valerie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017

We had a very reception and the staff is so nice that you feeling very warm welcome. A walk of 10 to 15 minutes to playa Carrillo and 3 minutes to Samara Beach.
Very large - spaceous room with a terrace.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bruwa4543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Samara
4.1 km away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
584 reviews
4.4 km away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
313 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#7 of 16 in Playa Samara
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 km away
Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge
0.8 km away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#12 of 16 in Playa Samara
228 reviews
2.9 km away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara

Address: On the Road From Samara To Carrillo | on the road from Samara to Carrillo; 150 meters from the ICE Tower, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Price Range: €77 - €172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Hideaway you will enjoy the privacy of our exclusive location on Samara Beach in Costa Rica. We offer 12 hotel rooms and a Penthouse suite with 3 bedrooms. The Hideaway appeals to travelers looking for a luxury hotel, who appreciate extra amenities. Our quiet location close to Samara & Carrillo offers relaxation and privacy, plus easy access to exciting activities. Our boutique hotel on Samara Beach is uniquely situated on a one-acre private lot, approximately 1-minute's stroll to the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Booking.com so you can book your The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing