We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Recovery!”

Roberto's Bar & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Roberto’s specializes in a variety of Costa Rican and American dishes. It is located on the beach in the beautiful La Gaviota Tropical Boutique B&B.
Reviewed 30 September 2018 via mobile

Lunch during a resort’s slow season is dicey. Either they’re quite understaffed and all service (front of house as well as back in the kitchen) lacks, or they’re so bored they’re on top of everything. At Roberto’s last week, it was a bit of both. Our server was attentive and pleasant. Even after their locally well-known ceviche tasted completely off, our server flexed. He removed the dissatisfying item from our bill and quickly had the kitchen make a mahi sandwich (which was great)! We’ll return looking for same great service.

Thank RJillMaxwellAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (493)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 493 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

Good breakfast near the Ocean. Loved the beans and rice!! Great egg omelet that went with it! Filled me up all day!! I would recommend it for food, view and staff!!

Thank marigene10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertjes2, Propietario at Roberto's Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Thank you very much for your opinion, PURA VIDA. Always to serve you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018 via mobile

First of all the order took 20mins to be taken and the orange juice was hot.... there was not changes allowed in your order and the waitress didn’t know customer service. After the order was taken i had to wait for an extra 40mins to be served.. and the food was normal. Not recomended. I said thanks and got silence as response

1  Thank Roberto B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bette G, Owner at Roberto's Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2018

This does not sound like Roberto’s. First, we do not have a waitress. Our staff does make changes to accommodate customers and are very friendly. Breakfast is amazing. Who did wait on you and what did you eat?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018

Beautiful and well designed dishes, they treated us in an incredible and effective way, the staff is pleasant and professional. I want to go back, it's the best restaurant

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rachael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertjes2, Propietario at Roberto's Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

PURA VIDA thank you for such a nice opinion, we are always here to serve you, and we look forward to your visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018

I did research and talked to Roberto over the phone to hold our wedding ceremony at his restaurant after reading the reviews and the menu. He was nothing but gracious and understanding and never tried to sell more than I requested which I appreciated. Once we got to Playa hermosa, all 12 of us, went to visit the restaurant and see the beach. Roberto's became our go to place every time we went to the beach and every time food and drinks were served with a smile. Our wedding ceremony was beautiful and memorable. We ordered off the menu- the food was fresh and delicious- and we have nothing but wonderful memories thanks to Roberto and his staff. We definitely will be back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 33vicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertjes2, Propietario at Roberto's Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Thank you very much for such a nice opinion, we are always here to serve you. and we hope you visit us again PURA VIDA COSTA RICA.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Roberto's Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Ocotal, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Roberto's Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing