We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (304)
Filter reviews
304 results
Traveller rating
250
38
11
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
250
38
11
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews short walk costa rica every morning beach chairs and umbrellas water supply water taxi nice pool beautiful hotel included in the room rate deserted beach breakfast was included private path the hotel's restaurant hotel management howler monkeys room hotel hear the waves
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 304 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2018 via mobile

Spent Christmas week in Costa Rica at Hotel Cantarana. It was our first time visiting Costa Rica and we couldn’t have asked for a better trip.

The hotel itself is quite small (only 5 rooms) which my fiancé and I were not used to, but it ended up making for a really memorable experience. The staff is incredible - just very accommodating, friendly and helpful making it a welcoming place for all.

The food and bar were also great. While there are a few other restaurants/bars within walking distance of Cantarana (all of which are good), we found ourselves wanting to eat most of our meals at the hotel just because the food was THAT good. Breakfast each day was freshly prepared and included with the cost of the room. They changed up the dinner menu depending on the day, but there was always a lot of diverse options of both local, and international, cuisines.

While Cantarana does have a small pool, it is a less than five minute walk to the beach and the hotel has towels and chairs for you to use. The beach itself was fantastic given how close it was to the hotel, quiet, safe + beautiful sunsets.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ishtang42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federico d, Owner at Hotel Cantarana, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Hola !
Thank you for taking the time to leave us this amazing review. We are glad your first experience in a boutique hotel was amazing!
We hope to see you again for your next vacations in Playa Grande.
Pura Vida
Evelyne Lariviere
Hotel Manager
Hotel Cantarana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2018 via mobile

My wife and i were there for five days. Very friendly staff Evelyn Jenna and Lorraine. The hôtel was nice and clean. Exceptional beach for sunset an paradise for surfers.

The breakfast at the hôtel were so good. We needed a quiet place To relax the all day music was the birds
Signing.

We went To Tamarindo by the beach it was a 20 minutes Walk under the sun . People are nice and friendly with tourists. Food is fresh tasty an good.

We are planning To return To the Cantarana hôtel for my next vacations. Playa Granda beach got us.

The Rio Celeste tour is a must. The staff Kindly guided us with the best
Activities To do . The sunset Cruise was so nice the food the music the snorkling and the staff on the sail boat everything just wow !

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank RogerL2794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federico d, Owner at Hotel Cantarana, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Hola Roger !
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. Our guests experience is really important for us !
We are glad you enjoyed your vacations with us and we hope to see you very soon in Playa Grande.
PURA VIDA
Evelyne Lariviere
Hotel Manager
Hotel Cantarana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2018

This is our 3rd time visiting Cantarana and it feels like home! The staff is really the best thing about this place (although there are numerous BEST things about this small cozy hotel!) Jenna & Evelyn are Fabulous! They make you feel so welcome and are always ready to help with directions, ideas for your stay, loaning a beach chair, yoga lessons, or just telling stories. Each morning you are greeted with smiles, endless good coffee and a wonderful breakfast. They've also added a very accomplished chef, Theresa, making delicious breakfast and dinners. The owners are 3 local brothers making it a very special Tico experience. The rooms are small but clean, and all you need. The beach is just a few short steps away. Beach towels, beach chairs and umbrellas are available for use. The pool is always clean and very underused. They've just added a few beautiful covered swings and a canopy bed. We will be back again and again.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federico d, Owner at Hotel Cantarana, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2018

Hola Francine and Thomas,
What a pleasure to have you again ! We are glad your vacations were exceptional.
We can't wait to have you again.
Cantarana Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2018 via mobile

Our group of 6 ate here twice in our two week stay. First time we shared the broccoli pizza -it was exceptional. 2nd visit was for the fish - once again it was excellent food .Jenna our server was very nice
Would go back again

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Snort24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federico d, Manager at Hotel Cantarana, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Hello,

Thank you for sharing your experience!

We are really happy to heard nice things about our service and food!

Hope you can come back and recommend us!

Pura vida

Cantarana Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile

Good breakfast but so expensive and super small portions. $2.50 for black self serve coffee here in CR?! Come on. We ordered the least expensive meals on the menus each with coffee, just two of us was $26. Nice atmosphere but way too pricey, deff gringo prices. Lame.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank kmhz1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federico d, Owner at Hotel Cantarana, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Hola,
Thank you for taking the time to review us ! Your feedback is really important for us.

The price offered for coffee is for unlimited coffee refils.
We are taking the comment to make the guests experience better.
Pura Vida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews