We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Unique stay, great location by the beach”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

TheRedGre...
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unique stay, great location by the beach”
Reviewed 5 May 2020 for a stay in January 2020

We absolutely loved our stay at the Pipe House! This is such a unique place to stay with a great vibe and the location is ideal. It is in a very quiet neighborhood right next to Playa Grande. We didn't realize until after that it is part of the Marino Las Baulas National Park, so the beach is pristine. It is only a $1 boat ride + 10 minute walk down the beach from Tamarindo.

The pipes have free wifi, a shelf for storage, lights, AC, outlets and underneath the bed is room for luggage. I thought that they were so fun to stay in! The washrooms/showers are shared and were kept incredibly clean.

We spent a lot of time in the outdoor kitchen/lounge area and ate most of our meals at nearby restaurants a short walk away.

Felipe was very kind to email with prior to staying and we were very impressed with our entire experience here!

Thanks again Felipe!

Date of stay: January 2020
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevesM94...
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
2 reviews
“A true gem ”
Reviewed 18 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

I brought my family (7 people total) to stay at the Pipe House and it was perfect. We rented a total of 4 pipes. The pipes are perfect for sleeping, reading, changing, getting out of the heat or just chillin(power and a/c). The common space (open air) has a functional kitchen, nice bathrooms, lots of seating (lounge, hammock, table and chairs) and is very well maintained. This place is - about a hundred steps to the beach: grab your surfboard and go -that’s all you need. You can walk to a couple local restaurants in playa grande or walk to Tamarindo(with a 1 dollar boat ride across the estuary) for the full tourist experience with shopping, restaurants, live music and more. This is our second visit in 3 months because we love the place so much! Felipe is a great host - whatever you need just ask, and he makes it happen. This place is a true gem! Pura Vida!

Date of stay: June 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabrielle...
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great for getting away from the beach hustle of Tamarindo.”
Reviewed 28 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Lovely location. We were traveling with a rental and found the hotel pretty easily. It's about a 40 min drive from Tamarindo, so not very practical if you're wanting to go out at night as the boat that takes you from Tamarindo to the hotel doesn't run after sundown. The host was AMAZING. Very friendly and helpful. Although the bathrooms are shared, they were kept clean and exceeded my expectations. The pipes themselves are more spacious than I had though they would be. This is a good place if you're looking to really relax for a few days--away from the busy beach hustle of Tamarindo.

Date of stay: March 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevesM94...
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
2 reviews
“CEO”
Reviewed 13 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

This pipe house is located on the most amazing (not busy) surf spot in playa grande (10 minutes away from the very busy Tamarindo) ! The pipe houses are clean, cool, and well built. Felipe provided world class service and made us feel welcome and at home.

Date of stay: March 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoyceMta
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Perfect Place!”
Reviewed 7 March 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We were two friends travelling around Costa Rica and spent 5 nights in the Pipe House! I cannot begin to describe how muched we loved this place! So layed back, relaxed and quite, we really got to relax here! It's 30 seconds to the beach, a few minutes from busy Tamarindo if you use the ferry and about 20' if you drive there. The common area was great, we spent a lot of time socialising with the other guests! The pipe was actually quite comfortable and surpisingly had enough space for all our plenty luggage! Felipe is an amazing host, and a very patient and enthiusiastic surf instructor! Take some surf lessons with him! We just loved Playa Grande and the Pipe House, we felt at home there, it was not like being in a hostel or airbnb but more like glamurous camping in a friends backyard! This is a place we will certainly go back to!

Date of stay: January 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
US$USD
Ireland
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.