We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great for getting away from the beach hustle of...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Gabrielle...
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great for getting away from the beach hustle of Tamarindo.”
Reviewed 28 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Lovely location. We were traveling with a rental and found the hotel pretty easily. It's about a 40 min drive from Tamarindo, so not very practical if you're wanting to go out at night as the boat that takes you from Tamarindo to the hotel doesn't run after sundown. The host was AMAZING. Very friendly and helpful. Although the bathrooms are shared, they were kept clean and exceeded my expectations. The pipes themselves are more spacious than I had though they would be. This is a good place if you're looking to really relax for a few days--away from the busy beach hustle of Tamarindo.

Date of stay: March 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevesM94...
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
2 reviews
“CEO”
Reviewed 13 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

This pipe house is located on the most amazing (not busy) surf spot in playa grande (10 minutes away from the very busy Tamarindo) ! The pipe houses are clean, cool, and well built. Felipe provided world class service and made us feel welcome and at home.

Date of stay: March 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoyceMta
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Perfect Place!”
Reviewed 7 March 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We were two friends travelling around Costa Rica and spent 5 nights in the Pipe House! I cannot begin to describe how muched we loved this place! So layed back, relaxed and quite, we really got to relax here! It's 30 seconds to the beach, a few minutes from busy Tamarindo if you use the ferry and about 20' if you drive there. The common area was great, we spent a lot of time socialising with the other guests! The pipe was actually quite comfortable and surpisingly had enough space for all our plenty luggage! Felipe is an amazing host, and a very patient and enthiusiastic surf instructor! Take some surf lessons with him! We just loved Playa Grande and the Pipe House, we felt at home there, it was not like being in a hostel or airbnb but more like glamurous camping in a friends backyard! This is a place we will certainly go back to!

Date of stay: January 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsten P
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Neat spot close to beach”
Reviewed 18 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We stayed here for two nights and really enjoyed the uniqueness of this accommodation. For it's price, it can't really be beat. Tamarindo is very close - it takes 10 minutes to walk down the beach to the mouth of the estuary where a boat will take you across for 500 colones, or 1 USD. Sleeping in the pipes is totally unique and cool and the A.C. in the pipe works well. However, you can hear literally everything that goes on outside. Felipe is an awesome guy, very friendly, and speaks great English, but he is hard to track down (he lives on site but is often out). There is no housekeeping so don't expect your room (or pipe I should say) turned over each day. This is probably a good thing, as it's a tight space. The bathrooms are clean but there is no water pressure or hot water - which is kind of okay because it's so hot here. The grounds are very pretty and there are lots of birds and lizards around. We did not use the kitchen because it smelt quite bad and wasn't very clean (probably as a result of other tenants). There are some lovely hammocks and a slack line which are fun and the beach is a 2 minute walk away! Note that Felipe does not take credit cards (mentioned in the fine print) so bring cash or send him money through PayPal.

Date of stay: February 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mariliaca...
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
“great place and awesome host!”
Reviewed 12 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

My friends and i stayed here for 3 nights and we loved it! The bathrooms and showers are super spacious and clean and the kitchen is very well equipped. Sleeping in the pipe was awesome! Felipe was always around if we had any questions and he was a great host. The location couldn’t have been more perfect, it’s a just few steps from the beach and it’s super close to Tamarindo if you cross the stuary. Playa Grande also has great restaurants and they are a short drive away from Pipehouse. I can’t wait to come back!

Date of stay: December 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
US$USD
Ireland
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.