We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great experience”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

734daniel...
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed 26 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

The owner is super nice! He fetched and brought us to and from the boat station.
It's an experience staying in this place and an adventure for itself, sleeping in a pipe. Very cozy atmosphere, bathroom facilities are very nice and clean!
Its very close to the beach, so great for surfers!

Date of stay: January 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakeharri...
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“My daughters favorite accommodation in all Costa Rica!”
Reviewed 6 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We stayed in 3 pipes for our family of 5. We slept like babies! You can't hear anything outside of the pipes and the a/c in the pipe worked great. We loved the vibe here..very open layout with tons of common space. My son played on the slack line (like a tightrope) and my daughter hung out on the hammock. We cooked breakfast in the morning and all the amenities were there. We ate dinner at Bula Bula and it's a 2 minute drive away and we loved it! My kids just wanted to hang around the Pipe House and not even hang out on the beach! Would definitely stay here again. Filipe was also super helpful with finding it..just ask him for the GPS coordinates and it will lead you right to it! (good luck finding it without them!)

Date of stay: January 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2017
Thank you so much!! I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay at the PipeHouse! Hope to see you again! Pura vida!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyrwheel
Edison, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Wonderful Place, Awesome Owner , great nature”
Reviewed 5 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Wonderful! Pipe Houses are cute , lovely , great experience.The owner, Felipe is a great great soul, humble, friendly and sincere ; helped a lot and so lucky to met him. Pipe House are located in a beautiful Natural Beach ,Playa Grande , stunning sun-sets and awesome beach and Ocean, perfect for surf lovers as well. Taco and Blanquita were cute friendly dogs of the house which fill your heart. Beach is perfect,miles of beach with best sun-sets ever, every evening it was a different cloud sunset show ! You can 3-4 min walk to boats at the beach-river to pass Tamarindo(1$ or 500colones,which is nothing) , boat pass is like 20 seconds!! . So many thing to do; Ask Felipe for kayaking at river, it was relaxing, nice; he also recommends lots of activities... If you are going to learn surfing ask for Marcos from YouareCostarica . Pipe Houses are great experience, lovely people, one of my best decision. So happy to be there,Everything was just perfect and will always remember and will be back with my nephews for sure . As they say all the time : Pura Vida( Pure Life) ☺️

Date of stay: December 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rallie_b
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“SO lucky to have found this place”
Reviewed 6 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

This place, and especially Felipe, deserve more than 5 stars! Long story short, my husband and I got lost on the beach at night (I know, so smart) and happened to have the best luck ever by wandering up to The Pipe House. Although we didn't actually stay here, Felipe made what was a really frightening experience so much better. He was immediately so welcoming and hospitable, offering us information about where we were and what to do. He sat and talked with us while we were waiting on our ride to come pick us up, and we got to know a little more about him and his vision for his awesome hostel. I can't brag on him enough or fully explain how thankful we are for his generosity. We would revisit Costa Rica just to stay at The Pipe House and see Felipe again!

Date of stay: October 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michaelkS...
Bentonville, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING Beach and Excellent Vibes ”
Reviewed 2 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Traveling with my wife for a getaway trip.. We stayed in the Pipe house for 4 nights. First, you could not find a nicer host. Felipe always has a smile on his face and an incredible attitude.. He genuinely creates the Pipehouse Vibe!
Highly recommend Playa Grande versus Tamarindo... Relaxing, Quiet, and much less tourists but close enough to visit Tamarindo If your looking to check it out...

Pros -
Location
Relaxing
Quiet
Less Tourists
Private

Pro Tip - Have Transportation - Pipe house is perfect with a car or bike but can be challenging without..Also check out La Huerta - Best food I've had in a long time and very reasonably priced. Lastly
find Marcos at Youarecostarica and get you a surf lesson. Well worth it!

Date of stay: August 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
US$USD
Ireland
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.