We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveller rating
106
34
6
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
106
34
6
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews laid back craft beer amazing surf great pool chill beach vibes tours yoga
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 151 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2018 via mobile

Craft beer, nice rooms friendly staff and gym. The attention to detail in this place is so wonderful, the hotel design is stunning and serene. A designers dream I just love the floor in the gym and coffee by the pool in the morning is the perfect way to unwind.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Christine Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018

On the strip by Playa Grande with a few other hotels. Sugar's is usually the best priced and just as good! Geared more towards no frills, young travelers, perfect for us! The only thing lacking was a regular hour restaurant however 1 day we had a Ensalada Pollo and it was great. Great restaurants close by, a few grocery markets for dry foods, water, wine/liquor. I would love to go back if I am staying around Tamarindo area. We also fell in love with Princess (their dog) who had a personality just like ours back home!

Date of stay: January 2018
Thank lancerluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

I was at Sugar's Monkey for a week in June. We booked at the last minute and we couldn't have picked a better spot.
The place is awesome and so the staff. It's really close to the beach. The food is one of the best you can find in Playa Grande (especially the pizza and the pulpo salad..mmmm delicious)
We were coming back to a fresh and clean room with clean towels everyday.
Loved it!!

Room tip: Quiet, awesome staff, good food
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Stéphanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2017

I love Sugar's Monkey so much! 2 min walk from the beach which is an amazing surf spot. the staff and owner will hook you up with whatever you need when you are there, transport, surf rental, tours they will always help you!. I will be back there for sure

Room tip: The rooms are simple, theystill have AirCon and your private bathroom.
Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank _Makiss_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017

This is a small, informal and impressively crafted wooden surf hostel. The rooms have basic creature comfort (no TV), but the common areas are comfy and open with appealing contemporary furnishings. The A/C was cold, the pool was refreshing, the food and drinks were great. Just down the road is the path to the beach, and at low tide you can walk to Tamarindo in about 45 minutes.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mangomum2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnricoAngeloReina, Direttore at Sugar's Monkey, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

Thanks we work every day to offer best quality food ..... and good vibe!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews