We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (193)
Filter reviews
193 results
Traveller rating
121
51
16
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
121
51
16
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdeep blue divingthe main streetdive shopgarden barenjoyed our staythe ownereggs and sausagefruit treesspring rollscomfortable roomscosta ricaroom was largebottled watershort walk to the beachmini fridgecoffee makerwould recommend this hotel to anyone
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 193 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2018

Based on a recommendation, we found La Puerto del Sol just off the beaten path - so to speak. We were promptly greeted in the parking lot, directed to the garden patio and totally enjoyed our evening from there.
Very attentive waitstaff, excellent food service with ambience to match.

Stayed: March 2018
1  Thank DHBunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2018

We came for dinner and immediately were greeted by the owner Devon. He had only been open for dinner for 2 weeks. We decided we were going to eat at the bar, which is a design masterpiece that you want see anywhere else in Costa Rica. The bartender was fabulous with is quickness and recommendations. We each had different Asian dishes with rice, noodles, chicken, and beef. The food was excellent with large portions, so big we all took some home.
It is very reasonably priced and Devon's hands on approach was great.He was always checking to make sure we were happy. Highly recommend this great spot.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KIM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2018

There was a level of expectation based on a 3rd party booking description, which was only partially fulfilled and inaccurately described by several TripAdvisor reviews. After the first night with A/C which did not function and non existent Wi-Fi service, I was moved to a suite which was a welcome upgrade due to the inconvenience. There is no minibar (small frig only), no in room phone, hair dryer (available in suite only), toiletries (hand soap only), no bottles of water or coffee (purchase in Coco only). The room(s) had bugs-biting flies and red ants. While this is Costa Rica; not something experienced in any other of the hotels in the country on several visits. The complimentary breakfast was hit or miss. There was occasionally coffee available and sometimes juice. Whatever was left by 8:30 am was perhaps eggs, toast, pancakes-for the few and fruit-maybe some pineapple. This was Not a traditional Costa Rican included breakfast. The lack of fluency in Spanish and English was a persistent communication issue with all aspects of the hotel staff. There were few pool-side lounge chairs and only towels on the days of a video/promo shoot. The hotel is located within walking distance to the town of Coco which is a convenience. The restaurant on-site is not a viable dinner option and uncertain whether this is hotel affiliated. The Garden Bar on-site is minimally staffed with equally marginal customer service and best for only a Cerveza.

Stayed: February 2018
2  Thank tblazer2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018 via mobile

If you really have to come to Playas del Coco (do you really?) this place is quite convenient. Staff are friendly (especially our favourite bartender and the night guy), the garden is beautiful, rooms are clean and comfortable. The beach and the pretty horrible downtown area are at walking distance. Breakfast needs improvement (the guy serving it was lovely but untrained), wifi wobbling. Try the margaritas!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank SimoGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2018

We stayed at this great gem for 5 nights and there were a total of 10 of us and we all enjoyed our stay. The owners and staff were great. They opened their restaurant during our stay and it was delicious and my family caught fish and they even fried it for us. The room was perfect and quite large, we stayed on the 2nd floor and it had a nice balcony. The pool and the bar area was nice and clean and the grounds are so beautiful and well kept, there was always staff cleaning and taking care of the property. We used the bar quite a bit and the staff was incredible. The beach and the downtown area was about a 5min walk and we walked there quite a bit. We loved out stay and would definitely stay here again when we return.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agape1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaPuertadelSolHotel, Owner at Hotel La Puerta del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Thank you for your kind review. We enjoyed having you all and hope to have you back next time you are in Costa Rica. Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews