We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,772)
Filter reviews
4,772 results
Traveller rating
3,004
1,155
403
113
97
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,004
1,155
403
113
97
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal beach clubroom servicezip liningerik garciaswim up barswiss travelcosta ricadinner reservationspizzaour honeymoonitalian restaurantmain poolhot springsall inclusivespura vidamake reservationshorseback riding
Filter
Updating list...
1,337 - 1,342 of 4,772 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2016

This is a nice property, although it is lower normal Westin's standards.
Service is ok, nothing to complain about, nothing to remember. For being an all-inclusive resort the restaurants are pretty decent.

Rooms are spacious with basic furniture. most of them don't face the ocean.

It has a decent golf course (which is the main reason why I decided to stay here), however there is zero water (maybe just in this season ?) which makes the course look not very sexy.

Beaches are nice and there is a few activities you can take advantage of.
My friends and I had a small accident after jet-skiing. Our sunglasses were stolen by the staff (fyi- jet-ski peeps are not related to Westin). Same thing happen to another friend of mine at the starter of the golf course, and to a guy we've met whose was staying at the resort. This is very upsetting btw!

Overall this is an ok resort for a relaxing and unpretentious weekend away (although you'd pay premium rates which are way overpriced for what you'll get)

DO NOT go here if you are looking to have some fun This resort is dead. There is really zero, nothing, nada, niente, going on. Ever. Ok for families and boring couples. Singles and friends should stay away from this property.

The area btw (Tamarindo) is super hippie / hipsterish and full of young kids. Another info that I wished I would have known before booking this place.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rds_NYC_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2016

Dear Rds_NYC_traveler,
Thanks for your feedback.
We regret to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations.
About the drought at the Golf course, we would like to explain you more about this issue, during the past years the rainfall has decreased in Guanacaste, this situation affects not only the different natural ecosystems, but also the communities settled within this region, and our hotel where our gardens have been affected by water scarcity. Local authorities are working to solve this issue, but this is a task that requires the collaboration of all of us, and we appreciate your understanding about this, as well, we would like to inform you that our hotel is the only one in Costa Rica with a water treatment plant for irrigation and dumping, and we're working in another water treatment plant to help with this matter, not only in the resort, this project will also benefits the communities in the region. The drought situation is not all the time, all year, but it get stronger the past years.
Regarding the incident at the beach, unfortunately we have no control over external activities on the beach as it is a public beach, but we always recommend to our guests to use the services of our partners of Swiss Travel for tours.
Thanks again for your feedback.
Best regards,

Zasha Pérez Gallardo
PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2016

The Westin is very large and can be a bit overwhelming. It is very spread out, and the walk from our room to the pool/beach/restaurants was rather far, however, they have very frequent shuttles that you can hop on anywhere around the property. That is a definite bonus, especially in the heat (and it is HOT in this area during the springtime!).

The pool is large and shaped in such a way that there are lots of different areas in which to swim/play. My kids loved the basketball hoops and the swim up bar for smoothies. The beach is very nice, once you walk away from where all the vendors are. Some vendors can be rather pushy and annoying, but others are very nice. The beach staff will bring chairs/umbrellas anywhere you want, which is great. Loved using the included snorkel equipment and SUP boards. There are also kayaks.

The restaurants were very good---we were pleasantly surprised at the high quality of the food and service. My only issue is they all require reservations (other than the buffet), and when we arrived late on our first day, the reservation line was apparently already closed (at 4pm) and the buffet was closed. I wish someone would have told us to make a reservation prior to arriving, because we just wanted to have a nice dinner and couldn't on our first night. Had to get room service, which was kind of a let down after a very long drive from the Arenal area. On other nights we loved the Facinella (yummy Italian), Las Candelas (Latin--fantastic), and the French restaurant in the top lobby (great views and great food).

Activities at the resort were fun---bingo, dancing, towel-animal folding classes, and lots more. Definitely lots for kids and families. That being said, there seemed to be a really high number of singles/20-somethings there, which made it more of a party atmosphere than I was expecting for a family vacation. At one point a really drunk guy passed out on the swim up bar--not really something you need your kids to see. Obviously you cannot control who comes to a resort, but I would have liked it better if it was more family-centered.

Had we been there one additional day I would have liked to take the shuttle to Tamarindo, but we didn't have time. They need to work on the air conditioning in the rooms, which was spotty. Overall, a very fun stay.

Room Tip: Use Starwood points to get "family club" rooms/access for better service/closer rooms.
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TLHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2016

Dear TLHM,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your wonderful Westin experiences.
We're happy to hear that all your family had a renewal time in our resort and enjoyed all the facilities and services of our All Inclusive. Thanks for your kind comments about the restaurants and acitivites. Our aim is to give our guests a beautiful vacation, and it's great to hear that we achieve this with you.
Hope to have you back soon.
Warm regards from Costa Rica,

Zasha Pérez Gallardo
PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2016

We planned this trip as a celebration of 10 years of marriage along with two other couples. This was a big trip for us and we normally do not do an all inclusive and spend this much for a week long trip. Unfortunately, 5 out of 6 of us became violently ill during our stay which continued for some of us when we returned home. Myself and my husband had to go on antibiotics when we returned in order to get better. We travel 3-4 times a year and this has never happened to us before. I actually fainted on the beach during my stay and then was pretty much confined to my room the final three days of my trip and could not really eat or drink much of anything. I had to miss some pre planned pre paid activites due to this. In addiiton when you pay up front for an all inclusive this is very unsatisfactory. The hotel staff was aware of my situation and circumstance as well as my husbands but other than calling our room to check on us there was no accomodation made for the inability to utilize the resort for a number of days. Very disappointing especially considering the cost and the occasion.

To be fair the following is a list of the genral pros and cons of Costa Rica and this resort:

Pros:
1. Great beach, we loved the surf and found the vendors to be friendly and not aggressive at all. One or two actually helped me when I fainted on the beach
2. Costa Ricans are very friendly
3. Although the resort seems extremely spread out after a day you realize the walk is not bad and the shuttles are constantly running. We liked the non-hotel feel of it
4. Weather was nice and hot
5. They sent us a bottle of sparkling wine mid way through our trip which we did not get to enjoy because we got sick soone after, but it was a nice gesture
6. The pool area and beach was big, never felt too crowded
7. Able to utilize non-motorized toys for free (snorkel gear, etc)
8. Service was great 99% of the time by wait staff, bartenders, etc
9. Tours are easily booked through any tour company, I recommend the Hacienda Guachipelín combo tour through Blue Crab tours, it was the highlight of the trip(and thankfully before we got sick!)
10. Shuttle service to Tamarindo is available, cool beach town
11. We loved seeing the various animals around the resort
12. Nice fitness center
13. Comfortable bed
14. The on site photographers do a great job, I wished we felt better to get more pictures
15. Room service was a nice option although limited
16. Housekeeping was very good, room was always cleaned and replenished
17. Good sunset view from the beach or from the lobby

Cons:
1. Dinner reservation 'system'- we tried to do this prior to arrival since there were six of us but we were denied. Upon check in we had to spend over an hour with the concierge to get reservations for the sit down places for each night. We could not get a reservation prior to 8pm the whole week. Forget changing anything once you have the reservations, it's impossible.
2. Inabillity to see nightly shows due to the dinner reservation times - since the show is at 8:30, if you have anything other than a 6 or 6:30 reservation you cannot see the show. We missed out all week.
3. Food was just ok everywhere. It seemed that the sit down restaurants pretty much had the same items to order but a slightly different preparation or sauce. I think the lunch pizza and the Asian restaurant were my favorites.
4. Pools are very warm
5. Included alcohol brands were not good - stoli vodka for example. To upgrade to Kettle one/mid level was an extra $30 a night per person
6. We had a cockroach in our second floor room on our second to last day
7. Although traveling with a group, we were unable to get rooms nearby
8. Need to get down to the beach/pool early in the morning to get good spots and shade
9. Closing of bars/restaurants for private events - there were various times we were unable to use certain bar/restaurants due to private functions, this can be inconvenient
10. Bathroom set up allows for NO privacy, this is horrible once you get sick
11. A fruit basket was sent to our room the afternoon before we left in the middle of our illness, we did not understand why anyone would send that so late iin the week and knowing we were so ill
12.THE ILLNESS WE ALL EXPERIENCED :(
13. There were contained fires we could visibly see during our trip, it was dry season as well and might be better to go after the rainy season when things might be more lush
14. No nightlife(esp if you cannot attend the shows), it was more of an early place

Unfortunatelly due to our experience we will not be back. There are too many tried and true places and new places to experience. Please message me if you have any questions I can help someone with.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank butterfly0618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2016

Dear butterfly0618,
Thanks for sharing your feedback.
We regret to hear about the inconveniences that you had during your stay, nevertheless, it's important that you be aware that all our procedures are performed under strict quality control and hygiene to ensure the welfare of our guests. This kind of complaints are not usual in our resort, and we don't have similar cases, so we kindly ask you to please contact directly with our Guest Service Manager to the email we sent you by Tripadvisor Private Message to assist you in a better way and investigate more about your case.
We look forward to hear from you
Best regards,

Zasha Pérez Gallardo
PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2016

We spent a week here for our honeymoon. We decided to book the Royal Beach Club (RBC) to make it extra special for us! It was all worth it.

The grounds are beautiful whether or not you choose the RBC option. However, for the extra special touch, pick the RBC option. We were in Tower 1, which is closer to the RBC pool. We checked in at the RBC lounge. The welcome drink and cold towel was refreshing after our flight. We had such a great room where our bags were waiting for us. The room is spacious with the huge bathroom and the beautiful balcony and tub balcony! The room was also clean. The tower has a concierge who booked all of our dinner reservations. The concierge was also very tentative to anything we needed (extra toiletries, mini bar, towels, etc.) The special RBC options were great. Adults only pool, RBC buffet, etc. Since this option has exclusive amenities, the pool was quiet. We went to the public pool once and it was very nosy. The RBC pool was quiet and just lovely. The pool bar and wait staff was wonderful and tentative to our needs!! I really need to emphasize that. The beach was great too. Get there early to get some shade. If you walk further down, the sand is just beautifully white. There are locals offering massages or horseback riding. Sometimes they could get annoying but just tell them no, and they'll go away.

They have shuttles everywhere to bring you to where you need to go. If you feel like walking, things are still close too. The hotel has everything you really need from a general store, to a souvenir shop, photo place, gift shops, etc. The photographers come around and take your pictures and you can check back at the photo shop if you want to buy any - there's also no pressure to buy any. You can also book photography sessions, which we did with Grey, for and loved it. It was hard to decide which ones to get!

As far as food, I enjoyed it. The restaurants that require reservations were worth the planning. The service is great and the food was amazing. It was nice to try different cuisines and be at the different grounds. Catalins was located by The Spa and The Reserve so it forced us to walk around and check out the grounds - and like I want to emphasize again - just LOVELY.

I don't need to write another 5 paragraphs about how great this resort is. I just want to say that everything was exceptional from service, grounds, accommodations, and food. You will not be disappointed !!!!!

Stayed: April 2016
Thank Annabelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2016

Dear Annabelle C,
Thank you very much for choosing us for your honeymoon.
We're glad to hear that you had a great time in our resort and enjoyed the exclusive services and facilities of our Royal Beach Club area. As well, it's great to know that you enjoyed the culibary offer of our restaurants and the beautiful beach Conchal.
We truly appreciate all your kind comments and hope to have you back soon for another memorable visit.
Warm regards from Costa Rica,

Zasha Pérez Gallardo
PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2016

We traveled here as a family with 2 teenaged girls and 2 of their friends for Spring Break 2016. It was incredibly family oriented -- if you want the typical spring break ridiculous-ness, this is not the place for you. We were there in April at the end of their 9 month dry season - realize you are in a tropical DRY forest -- all around the resort was brown and dry landscape -- the rainforest is 3-4 hours away over the volcanoes or mountains.
We have been to many all-inclusives in the central american/carribean areas, and this was wonderful. The pool is enormous and warm, the swim up bar well stocked, the grounds are immaculate. There was always staff attending to the grounds. Attentive cart/shuttles take folks anywhere they please on site and there was never more than a 3 minute wait,
Costa rican beaches are public, so the Westin does not own this beach, but they do provide chairs that are closely monitored. The vendors on the beach are kind and respectful and not repetitively bothering you. The beach is a coarse-grain sand made from shells - many other beaches are too rocky for swimming in. Great to swim in but not great to surf or boogy board -- the drop off is too close to shore. For surfing I recommend going to Playa Grande Surf Club (even more than Tamarindo!).
The staff for events in the main lobby was very very helpful in assisting and accommodating us for tours and transportation. We never needed a rental car (which adds a mandatory $325 insurance to every rental!)
What really stood out, however, was the outstanding quality of the food here!! The themed restaurants were absolutely fantastic - we enjoyed the french, latin american, costa rican,& asian. We are foodies and insist on great meals. All well presented and freshly prepared and very flavorful! I adored the local pork dish and the fried green plantains. We usually stay away from wine at tropical all inclusive, but we found it properly stored and still intact in the flavor profiles . The buffets changed themes regularly and was also done well. Absolutely head and shoulders above nearly every other all inclusive I have been to.
Top shelf spirits are an extra charge (like a 25 year Ron Zacappa rum) but I found the house Flor de Cana great for mixing.
The ONLY negative was the positively absent night life on site. The nightclub was either dead or playing ridiculous las vegas style latin music. even the over 55 crowd looked bored. If you go with a festive group you could certainly BE the nightlife there.
I would still absolutely return, perhaps at the beginning of the dry season. In a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoreneF777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2016

Dear LoreneF777,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience.
We're happy to know that all your family had a great time and that you enjoyed the culinary offer of our restaurants, our Chef and kitchen team will be very happy to read your review! We all work with passion to give our guests a beautiful vacation and it's great to hear that we achieve this with you.
The next time you visit Costa Rica, we will be waiting for you at The Westin.
Warm regards,

Zasha Pérez Gallardo
PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews