We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (265)
Filter reviews
265 results
Traveller rating
130
76
25
22
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
130
76
25
22
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshuttle servicefull kitchenconcierge officeconchal beachcosta ricabeautiful condoexercise roomconcierge staffpaddle boardingdaily maid servicerental carshuttle busnice poolplaya grandepura vidainternational buffethowler monkeys
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 265 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2018

We stayed here for three nights and really enjoyed our time.

Pros: The beach.
Very private, beautiful views. + The Reserva resort had paddleboards, etc. you could use.
The service. Drinks and food were delivered fast.
The Spa. - The spa was beautiful and the staff were very professional and friendly. The bathroom was well stocked. I especially appreciated all the warm towels.

Cons: -I wish you could see more of the beach from the pool. I know this is picky and likely for more privacy, but I'd rather enjoy seeing the beach more frequently.
-Limited food options on site. Next door at the Westin were more restaurants but we ended up driving to town for pretty much every meal.

Extras: saw monkeys wild on the premises, which is really fun.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SydSyd31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander G, Guest Relations Manager at Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Dear SydSyd3,

We are Thrilled to see you were able to enjoy our beatiful property, with our outstanding service from our staff. The Spa is a wonderful place to forget about everything.

As you noticed we want to provide exclusivity and give the privacy to our customers, we are sorry about the fact you were not able to see the ocean from the pool. Regarding the food options, we do have a few options at the Westin as you mentioned.

We are looking forward to count with your visit again,

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018 via mobile

I love this place. THE BEACH IS THE BEST on the Pacific. Can't wait to go back. Staff at the Beach Club were all so excellent and friendly. The food was great. The pool, especially after sunset, was really nice. Really nice master planned development of high quality. I could live here someday.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
3  Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander G, Guest Relations Manager at Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Dear Bob S,

The turquoise waters of playa Conchal, the iguanas and our friendly staff already miss you.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience in our beautiful property. You are more than welcome to visit us anytime soon, get in touch directly with us that way we can offer a great opportunity to stay renting and even a real state opportunity to be part of this exclusive community.

Looking forward to serve you again, from our family, to your family.. ¡Pura Vida!


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018

I will start with the Cons: you can not walk to the beach. So, maybe it can loose a point.
But other then that I can not find much negative to say about this property. We are not big fan of beaches, but Playa Conchal and Reserva Conchal made a very special experience for us. It's hard to describe. Also we are not big fan of all-inclusive resorts, but we would like to stay in Westin at least for a night, because of the energy that they have. As far as food, the restaurant that is part of Reserva Conchal in my opinion had better food then in Tabacon, I am talking about the quality not the quantity and the prices was very reasonable. The surrounding of Reserva Conchal is very, very beautiful. We did a package with a professional photographer through Westin, they are next door of the concierge. They were amazing, it was the best family photos that we ever had. I highly recommend them. I wish we would stay longer.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank RRL07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander G, Guest Relations Manager at Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Dear RRL07,

We want to thank you for taking the time in letting know the community of TripAdvisor the good experience you had in our property. We are sorry that you were not able to walk from your condo to the beach, due to the nature of our property and the conservation of the wildlife only our Beach Club is beach front and we have a Shuttle service for the transportation within the property for this matter. We hope you understand that is part of the experience.

We kindly invite you to visit us again and we will do our best to place you in the closest condo to the beach.

From our family, to your Family... ¡Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

What an awesome property on the northwest side of Costa Rica. We loved so many things about this place. First, the condo we stayed in was a 4BR, 4BA with awesome golf and water views. Second, the Westin Resort and Spa is on the Reserva Conchal site so condo guests get to enjoy the Westin facilities as well which means shops, bars, pools, and several excellent restaurants. The property also provides continues shuttle service to and from anywhere on the site so getting around is never a problem. The restaurant provides excellent meals (drinks were just ok) and servers can serve you poolside. What's nice about the pool area at the Reservation is that it is a lot more quiet and private than the Westin pools where all-inclusive guests can get very noisy and rowdy. There are also ladies that offer massages right on the beach for $20/HR.

Location is also another big plus. It's pretty centrally located to getting to Tamarindo for meals or nightlife is only about 20-30 mins away. Brasilito is another town you can visit within 15 mins and the LIberia airport is about 50 mins away. Contrast that to other big developments like the Marriott which further south, takes forever to get to, and has next to nothing around it. If you're looking for a place to stay in the Guanacaste area in Costa Rica, this is the place to be.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jun_r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander G, Guest Relations Manager at Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Dear Jun_r,

We are thrilled to see you and your family were able to enjoy our beautiful property. We always strive to provide an excellence customer service with our amenities and service.

The turquoise waters, howler monkeys and our friendly staff already miss you!

We would love to have you visiting again,

From our family, to your family... ¡Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2018

If I were to return to Reserva Conchal I would stay at the Westin as it is the better option all around. The staff on the Westin side is more knowledgeable, just as friendly but we asked many questions but did not receive accurate information repetitively on the Reserva side and there were missteps in our reservation/s that others would not be so easy going about. I must mention the reception for the Reserva side is by the beach club which is a 4-7 km (depending on who you talk to) drive from the main entrance and about the same distance from the Milache division of the resort. The apartment that we were provided was nice with a separate bedroom with king sized bed and quaint living area and full kitchen with silver and glassware. Despite being told that it had a fold out couch the room did not. The owner did have a blow up bed in the closet and that did help us out since we had an extra guest that joined us last minute (this turned out to not be a problem, which I was initially worried about with our reservation). The housekeeper did help us out by providing some additional treatments that we needed but only after being tipped and not until the 3rd day :(. We arrived around 7 which was too late to obtain extra towels and linens but survived the first day with what we had. On the second day we had called twice but towels arrived just after 10am which is when they promised, still short of what we needed with the extra person but no worries we ran into the housekeeper in the hall and she opened the storage room just steps away filled with home provisions and we got the extra towels and the linen needed. Our trip began improving. The third day we received beach towels extra linens and the blow up bed was even fitted with sheets.

Staying in Milanche is a hike from the beach/ beach club but not too bad for us since we were constantly in and out of the resort and only went to the beach two days of our trip, though in reflection we would have liked to have gone more. Like others have mentioned there is a shuttle or after hours you can call for a taxi (but why?). I just drove so I could be on my own sched and not at someone else's mercy. Conchal is a great beach and in my opinion the best option in the area. Playa Hermosa and Flamingo are good for the kids and there is adequate natural shade but the water/ waves can be rough during high tide so the West side of Conchal is prime for families who wish to get a little in the water fun. Tamarindo is just always too busy. There are a couple markets in the area and Super Compro is the best in the immediate area and a 5 min drive but it's not the cheapest. Mega Superstore towards Tamarindo is cheaper but it is best to stop at the Walmart in Liberia and stock up with essentials before you get here. It will easily save you 10-20 dollars on a grocery run.

Our apt was on the first floor and there was some building maintenance going on that left us waking up face to face with workers outside our windows every morning and eyeing us when we were eating breakfast. There was also a lot of noise from the room adjacent to us every morning around 9 as there seemed to be a meeting that occurred routinely between staff. There is a nice pool in the complex that would be great for kids but it was filthy when we arrived with bird poop, flowers, leaves and debris. We did make an attempt to jump in another day but only made it to watch the sunset.

There is really only one restaurant option (or so we were told) for Reserva with Pizza nights that opens up this portion of the restaurant that has a very contemporary pizza station. We came to find out later that you can visit the offerings on the Westin side and I do recommend that you head straight for the international buffet, dinner is a worthwhile time.

Overall, the service and amenities offered at Reserva Conchal (including the Westin's offerings) cannot be beat at the price point that we were at. I have stayed at Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort and this in my opinion at it's best is just a step above that (in price point) but at the regular price there is no value here and for a serviced apt option that doesn't have full day services but cost the same as a resort that does begs the question...why pay more for less?

Room Tip: If your are looking for a lazy beach vaca here might not be the best option.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank JNUBI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander G, Guest Relations Manager at Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

Dear JNUBI,

Before anything, we want to thank you for taking the time to provide us with this valuable feedback, which it will be considered for improvements as soon as possible. We want to apologize for all the inconveniences that you went through at the beginning of your stay. Our customers always expect the best customer service and we always strive to provide service excellence, it is a shame we were not able to show that to you.

The turquoise waters of Playa Conchal, the iguanas and our friendly staff will be here to assist you, we would like you to give us a second opportunity to demonstrate you and your family that we are what we offer.

One more time, thank you for your feedback,

From our family,to your family... ¡Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews