We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$192
View deal
Free cancellation until 29/04/21
Expedia.com
US$192
View deal
Free cancellation until 29/04/21
Trip.com
US$210
US$190
View deal
SAVE US$20
Agoda.comUS$192
Hotels.comUS$192
ZenHotels.comUS$210
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,830)
Filter reviews
1,830 results
Traveller rating
1,233
421
110
49
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,233
421
110
49
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews luxury suite hanging bridges outdoor shower swim up bar heated pool la fortuna arenal volcano costa rica golf cart rocking chairs tabacon hot springs hiking trail rental car minute drive zip lining howler monkeys perfect view
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,830 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2021 via mobile

Our third year in a row at this beautiful resort. Staff are exceptional-the front desk woman is superb! Juan Carlos in the bar/restaurant was fabulous. Missed Luis at the pool bar. The resort was exceptionally quiet due to Covid, which was a little disappointing. Due to low volume of guests, staffing was also low, so food service was slow (but food was excellent). The grounds keeping staff must also be decreased...but overall this resort is gorgeous and lush

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Pam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2021 via mobile

This hotel is nestled deep in the rain forest and is absolutely beautiful. We stayed here with two other families. One family booked the casita, one booked the junior suite and the last booked a standard room. Every room faced the Volcano and every room was big and spacious.

We stayed at Lost Iguana for six nights, and although there is only one restaurant, we were blown away by the variety of meals to choose from. I tried something different every night and was never disappointed. The breakfast was included with the room and absolutely delicious. I asked one day if I could bring a glass of mixed juice ( delicious!) back to my room and they gave me a whole pitcher full ( we had the junior suite so we had a full refrigerator!)

As incredible as the landscape, views, hotel was, the best part of our stay was the staff. Yadira, Joge, Valerie, ( office ... putting up with my countless emails!), Juan Carlos, Dylan, Karol ( Restaurant waitstaff) Ronnie ( Pool Bartender!) and Esteban and Cesar ( Golf Cart Drivers) and many many others that worked so hard to make sure we had a good time and were happy.

Last, we were a group of ten people and so the hotel arranged for a van to pick us up and drive us to all of the activities we signed up for. I highly recommend Vilmar the driver for the van company( you can book him through the hotel) He was prompt, he pulled over to allow us to take pictures, shop, and even brought drinks and fruit on a particularly long day of hiking.
It was stress free because we did not have to figure out where we were going and could just look at the scenery as we went to each destination.

I hope you get to experience this special hotel and its staff , who work their hardest to make your stay special!
Pura Vida!!!

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank KMcK12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2021

Overall hospitality was amazing. We were there celebrating an anniversary and they accommodated us with an outdoor jacuzzi, wine and snacks. Definitely went above and beyond to make sure we felt special. Its a bit far from town (La fortuna) but I feel this is why we went there. Its very secluded with almost no other people and the property has its own hiking trail. Shampoo/conditioner, soap, sewing kit all provided.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JCC0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2020 via mobile

Beautiful grounds and a wonderful staff and that‘s were the good ends.
The COVID restrictions have hit the area hard, many attractions and restaurants are closed or operating with limited services.
This hotel is a perfect example of that. The “heated pool” has not been operational for months and trust me, there is no way to get in a regular pool here unless it is heated. The spa is closed. The below average and expensive restaurant is working very limited hours and considering the hotel is 25 min away from town, there are no options near by. To top it off, the TVs in the room are not functioning either. Regardless of the many excuses we were told, none of this will change anytime soon. The hotel is empty, so the owners have little motivation to correct the problems.
As somebody that has visited the area many times, I can assure you you will be much happier at a slightly bigger resort. They will be able to offer you a accommodating restaurant, be closer to the town’s great restaurants, have an operational spa and natural hot springs to welcome you after a day of activities during the rainy afternoons.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank simond655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2020 via mobile

My boyfriend and I just checked out of this hotel and we are so sad to leave. This hotel is absolutely beautiful. It sits secluded and is a bit off the beaten path but worth it. It’s 20 min ride to La Fortuna. Close to all attractions and walking distance from the Hanging Bridges at Mistico.
We flew into Liberia Airport and rented a car. Our flight was delayed 3 hrs so that pushed our almost 2 hr car ride into the night time. The ride from Liberia to the hotel was tumultuous. It was raining and deep into Rt 142 (need to take to get to hotel) there are no street lights. Very dangerous and would not recommend unless in daylight**
Staff were very accommodating throughout our stay. They are so polite and so friendly. Rooms were clean and the beds were very comfy.
Throughout the day, especially at night, you can really hear the sounds of the rainforest which is so tranquil. The view from our room was worth a million dollars, omg. Amazing. And our shower.... was so cool! A double-head outdoor shower that is enclosed but so spa-like and tropical. Water pressure was amazing.
Breakfasts were awesome and very traditional. We ate dinner there twice which was decent.
The hotel is gated with a 24-hour guard and we felt very safe. Many areas of parking on site. One thing we did not realize is that with the heavy rainfall in this country, there can be flooding. One day when we returned to the hotel during a rain storm and there was flooding in front of the entrance to the hotel. We had to sit in the vehicle for about 35 minutes until the rain let up and it was safe to pass.
If you are staying near Arenal, check this place out! When we return to Costa Rica I will absolutely want to stay here again!!

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank arianameg924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews