We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing stay and nice views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mystica Lodge & Retreats
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay and nice views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed here for two nights in Dec 2009. We had our own car, and the drive to Mystica was quite scenic around the Arenal lake. If you don't have a car, it would take a bit more effort to get here. We are not into yoga, didn't get massages, but we did have a wonderful time here. The atmosphere is just relaxing and quite welcoming. The room was quite clean and spacious. We enjoyed the quiet time.

We quite enjoyed talking with the owners during our dinners (pretty good italian food!) and liked the fact we were staying at a place that was somewhat off the beaten path. The owners recommended some nice walks for us around the hotel property, and also a super fun hike to see 4 different waterfalls. Very beautiful - "Cataratas Viento Fresco." It was a wonderful surprise because we really wanted to go to Rio Celeste, but because of recent rains it was going to be difficult to get there. Their recommendation to see the waterfalls was great.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atwoodexplores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    34
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
28
56
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delaware
Level Contributor
72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2010

As I attended a yoga retreat at the Mystica Lodge, I was in awe of the lush environment, hearty and healthy meals, great and personable owners, who made us feel like family. My room accommodation was in the villa style where I could brew my green tea each morning and observe nature and the Arenal lake and volcano from my front balcony.

The colors, rustic style and landscape added an ambiance of sheer bliss.

They offered massages and Reiki performed by a very talented healer who treated you with much compassion and love.

Each day at Mystica got better and better....I didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pacemsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2010

Mystica is Magical! The food is outstanding the service is great and the owners make you feel like part of the familly without being obtrusive. The views of the Lake and Volcano are simply breathtaking! Take a walk around the extensive property and see Toucans, Capuchin and Howler Monkeys! Or get a massage in the Treehouse overlooking beautiful trees with the sound of the water racing down the creek! I can't recommend this place enough...its safe the rooms are clean and the experience is unforgettable! Do yourself a favor and stay at Mystica!

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Coaster330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2009

Mystica definitely was the hotel highlight of our Costa Rica trip. We staid there twice for 2 and 3 nights.
The place is super peaceful and the views over Lake Arenal are stunning. The restaurant serves great natural food. The rooms are clean & comfortable, but no luxury.

Its a hotel for a quiet get away and you need a car, so nothing if you want to party and travel by bus.

We really enjoyed the morning Yoga on their Yoga platform that hangs about a river and the massages in their treehouse.

Would recommend it to anyone who wants to have a chilled couple of days.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Astienvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B.C.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2009

Mystica is isolated, which can be nice if you have your own transportation. But don't rely on the owners to help you out arranging alternate transportation to and from. In other words, don't go!! Unless you have your own wheels.

It was an odyssey to get there without a car, and while the view theoretically would have made the trouble of getting there worth it...the clouds socked us in for the entirety of the stay. So...that left the food and the service to make the experience worthwhile.

The food is very good, especially the banana cream pie. And the Costa Ricans working there were on top of everything: rooms were spic'n'span, restaurant was spotless, and the food came quickly when ordered.

But...the owners are pretty much uninterested in interacting with guests. If you have a problem, it's yours!! YOU take care of it.Other reviewers have mentioned a spiritual side to this place...but...if you go there expecting some kind of guru on a mountain top (we didn't), you'll be disappointed. Really.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pruebela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arenal Volcano National Park
33.9 km away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
17.5 km away
La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel
La Mansion Inn Arenal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nuevo Arenal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
37.5 km away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.8 km away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,749 reviews
3.4 km away
Lake Arenal Hotel & Microbrewery
8.6 km away
Agua Inn
Agua Inn
#4 of 12 in Nuevo Arenal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mystica Lodge & Retreats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mystica Lodge & Retreats

Property: Mystica Lodge & Retreats
Address: | 300 mts north of Tierras Morenas Cross Road, Arenal Volcano National Park 50801, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 81 Speciality Lodging in Arenal Volcano National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Mystica Lodge & Retreats 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mystica Hotel is a tropical paradise with an excellent Italian restaurant, wonderful yoga and meditation classes in a forest sanctuary, a detoxifying infrared sauna, a dipping pool with a waterfall, and tree-top therapies such as massage and Reiki. Mystica is conveniently close to all of the great adventures and water sports that Lake Arenal offers: windsurfing, kayaking and fishing, excursions to Arenal Volcano including canopy tour and hot springs (40 km/25 miles from the hotel) and Tenorio National Park with its world famous Rio Celeste waterfall hike (35 km/22 miles from the hotel). Mystica Hotel is especially designed for travelers who want to relax and/or be in contact with nature. The lodge sits atop a rolling green hill and is surrounded by lush gardens. The rooms don't have TV, WiFi, or phones to support the complete relaxation of our guests, but there is free WiFi in the reception and restaurant area. Mystica's motto, inspiring all who visit, is: 'Live the Magic!' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Expedia so you can book your Mystica Lodge & Retreats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mystica Restaurant Lodge And Retreats
Mystica Restaurant Lodge & Retreats Hotel Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing