We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax on a honeymoon...”
Review of Recreo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Recreo
Reviewed 8 July 2010

Visited Recreo the last week of June for the beginning of our honeymoon and couldn't have chosen a better place to stay. 1 hour and 30 minutes north of Liberia outside of the small towns of La Cruz and El Jobo is where you will find this gem. We arrived around 10pm the first night after a long day of traveling and were welcomed by Shane (concierge) and a nice snack of fresh fruit and juice prepared by our chef Haiti. We stayed in the bungalow which was spacious and secluded. Shane gave us a tour of Recreo the next morning and after that our stay was filled with plenty of time down at the beach, day trip to Nicaragua, horseback ride around the peninsula, and laying out at our private pool and patio. Shane and the other concierge Ricardo are very helpful and can set you up with pretty much whatever you want. The staff did an excellent job cleaning the bungalow and pool every morning. Haiti, our chef, did an awesome job. Every meal was delicious and fresh. One of the best places I have ever stayed at. Well worth every penny.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BMedina84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 118 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2010

Recreo is a remote sanctuary 30 minutes down a dirt road on a hilltop with great views overlooking the Pacific ocean. You're in the jungle with crabs, lizards, monkeys, giant toads and all kinds of birds and butterflies. At the same time you have satellite cable lcd tv's , great home cooked meals and guest services with excellent housekeeping and privacy.

If you rent a 4x4 & get around, check out Santa Rosa & Rincon de la Vieja National Parks. There's nice grocery stores in La Cruz & fried chicken at Rico Pollo. But you can get around without a car - just take day trips to Nicaragua & Rincon booked through Ricardo. Everything is low key - isolated beaches are great for snorkeling too if your bring your own gear with Kayaks & chairs supplied. Overall it's Four Seasons luxury at less than half price - and makes perfect since with Costa Rica only having Two seasons anyways!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UnoTravelingG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2010

There aren't enough amazing things I can say about Recreo. My husband and I went there for our honey and stayed at house #7. This house had an amazing panaramic view of the ocean, valley, and gorgious sunsets from every place in the house. But the best part was the bedroom. The views from the bedroom were breath taking! Our chef was Heidi and she cooked up delicious meals and was very helpful. She even tought me how to make two cakes from scratch. The staff was very welcoming and helpful, they made our honeymoon an amazing experiance. We played tennis on the grounds, basketball, and had a massage out near the pool area. The house was private and felt like we were the only ones at the resort. The electric car that came with the house was a huge plus because we went into town and got to explore the area we were in, we even found a private secluded beach not too far from the resort. I would recommned this resort and can't wait to go back one day. The only con I can think of was there is no air conditioning in the living room area and sometimes it did get a little warm, but there is air conditioning in the bedroom. This was the best place in the world for my husband and I have our honeymoon, an amazing start to our life together.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2travelroundworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2010

If you're looking for a luxury remote, relaxing beach and mountain resort - you've found it. Set in the tropical mountain, the bungalows and vilas are a comfortable combination of traditional spanish style and modern design. The staff are nice and very friendly. Riccardo, the resort manager was going above and beyond to accommodate all requests. We really enjoyed the Nicaragua day trip with the tour provided by Norman and his father. The atmosphere is relaxed and laid back - just the antidote for life's stresses. We enjoyed every minute. and now we can add the Recreo to a list of fond memories.

Would we go back? Without a moment's hesitation.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimb-2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2010

My wife and i were looking for a vacation where we could just relax from the stressful world of work and kids in NY. Recreo provided us with everything we were looking for and it proved to be one of the very best vacations/locations we had ever been to.

We traveled with another couple and I would strongly recommend traveling with a group to Recreo. This location is remote and the accomodations/service are so good that you will be spending a lot of time in and around the resort.

1. Accomodations: We stayed in Villa 3 which was excellent. We enjoyed our private pool, A/C rooms and general decor of the villa. This was better than any hotel suite you could possibly stay.
2. Service: Attentive, polite, and wonderful. Every time we asked for something, it was done for us (laundry service, pool cleaning, A/C repair, food prep,).
3. Food: The best food we've ever had on a vacation EVER. Shondra was our cook and every meal was better than the one prior. If you love plantains, she has many different ways to prepare them and they were phenomenal. Our group was not big on Breakfast but the fresh fruit and egg dishes were so appetizing, she turned us all into fans of breakfast. We weren't big dessert eaters but the flan she prepared was extraordinary. I only wish we would have asked for more guacamole on the trip. On the last day, she prepared the fish we caught on our excursion and it was remarkable.
4. Excursions: Take a full day to go on the ziplining combo trip. Its an hour drive but a full day of horseback riding, tubing, ziplining is unbelievable. While you go zip lining make sure you hang upside down every chance you get - its amazing. At the end of the excursion, you can take a quick sauna / mudbath / hot springs refresher before heading back to Recreo. We also did a 2 hour fishing excursion which is also a must. I forgot the names of our local fisherman who took us out but the were great. We caught 8 different fish over the first hour. We kept enough fish to eat but gave our crew the rest - they were very grateful. We spent the next 40 minutes snorkeling and were treated to a dolphin sighting (apparently this is rare). Just a relaxing day on the boat
5. Alcohol: If you are picky about your wines like my wife, then stop at the brand new wine shop right outside the LIberia Airport. The selection was great and my wife was very content. If you are flying from the states, stop at Duty Free for any liquor you think you'll want but let Recro supply the beer. Its reasonably priced and just nice to walk into a cooler full of beer.
6. Beach - Its essentially a private beach and Recreo has a trailer full of chairs and boogey boards. If you are looking to lounge out on the beach and do nothing, there is not a better place to do it than this private oasis.
7. Issues: The only negative is the bug situation. There are a lot of bugs that come out at night and we knew that going in so we prepared accordingly with bug spray. As long as you are aware of the bugs, pay close attention to keep doors completely closed and using bug spray, these critters will not become an issue. Once we had a few cocktails each night, it was like the bugs weren't even there.
8. Activities around Recreo: They didn't have enough snorkels and you might want to bring your own anyway. The tennis courts and work out room were perfect. If you are a serious tennis player, bring your own racket but it was a perfect workout each morning for my wife and I. If you have the chance, check out some of the unoccupied villas. Each one is stunning and its a great time. Hilltop Cantina - We didn't enjoy this as much as we should have but pack the cooler and head up there for a couple of drinks and cocktails. Golf Carts - If available, get a golf cart, it makes life easy around the resort.
9. My favorite moment. On our third night, we sat outside under a covering during a Thunder and LIghtning rain storm. The sky would light up every few seconds and it was incredibly peaceful. I sat with a beer in one hand, a cigar in the other and surrounded by my wife and great friends, laughing and telling stories while the rain pored down and the thunder and lightning played in the background. It was the perfect trip
10. If there are other guests around, be friendly and make new friends. Our first day, we met a group of 5 canadians on the beach. That evening we took the golf cart a 6 pack to their villa and enjoyed 2-3 hours of good fun and conversation. We spent some time with them on the beach the next day but then they were off to a surfing adventure.
Finally, wear sun screen and bug spray. The sun is very strong and my wife got burned pretty bad on day 1 and while it didn't mess with our vacation, it was painful for her.
I'm already looking forward to my return trip to Recreo.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthonynap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Province of Guanacaste
5 km away
Blue Dream Hotel
Blue Dream Hotel
#1 of 4 in La Cruz
111 reviews
0 km away
No photo provided
Hospedaje Cerro Pittier
#306 of 694 in Province of Puntarenas
1 reviews
1.8 km away
Ecoplaya Beach Resort
Ecoplaya Beach Resort
#3 of 4 in La Cruz
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Dreams Las Mareas Costa Rica
70.5 km away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort
104.9 km away
Casa Alice Surf Lodge
Casa Alice Surf Lodge
#1 of 2 in Marbella
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Recreo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Recreo

Address: West Playa Rajada 800, 51001, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 237 B&Bs / Inns in Province of Guanacaste
Price Range: €258 - €1,799 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Recreo 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recreo Resort, a 63-acre mountain and beach estate near Playa Rajada is just 1 hour and 30 minutes from Liberia airport. Choose from one of our private villas, all with private pools and ocean views. During the holidays,included in the price of the All-Inclusive package are airport transfers, a villa cook and housekeeper, all meals and beverages, concierge and all onsite activities including kayaking, tennis, mountain biking, hiking, snorkeling and a range of beach activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Recreo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Recreo Hotel Province Of Guanacaste
Recreo Costa Rica/Guanacaste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing