We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Tamarindo Diria(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
US$228
US$221
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$497
US$441
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa(Playa Flamingo)(Great Value!)
US$214
US$207
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection(Punta Islita)(Great Value!)
US$462
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Paraiso del Cocodrilo(Playa Samara)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Occidental Papagayo - Adults only(Gulf of Papagayo)(Great Value!)
US$212
US$188
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$208/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Rio Perdido(Bagaces)
US$328
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$846
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$2,020
US$1,384
FourSeasons.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveller rating
129
11
7
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
129
11
7
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachla cruzel joboevery mealevery morningcosta ricawatch the sunsettennis courtswelcome centerhomemade salsawhite water tubingmaster bedroomminute drivefelt very safefamily vacationneeded anythinglounge chairs
Filter
Updating list...
115 - 120 of 155 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2010

Recreo is a remote sanctuary 30 minutes down a dirt road on a hilltop with great views overlooking the Pacific ocean. You're in the jungle with crabs, lizards, monkeys, giant toads and all kinds of birds and butterflies. At the same time you have satellite cable lcd tv's , great home cooked meals and guest services with excellent housekeeping and privacy.

If you rent a 4x4 & get around, check out Santa Rosa & Rincon de la Vieja National Parks. There's nice grocery stores in La Cruz & fried chicken at Rico Pollo. But you can get around without a car - just take day trips to Nicaragua & Rincon booked through Ricardo. Everything is low key - isolated beaches are great for snorkeling too if your bring your own gear with Kayaks & chairs supplied. Overall it's Four Seasons luxury at less than half price - and makes perfect since with Costa Rica only having Two seasons anyways!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UnoTravelingG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2010

There aren't enough amazing things I can say about Recreo. My husband and I went there for our honey and stayed at house #7. This house had an amazing panaramic view of the ocean, valley, and gorgious sunsets from every place in the house. But the best part was the bedroom. The views from the bedroom were breath taking! Our chef was Heidi and she cooked up delicious meals and was very helpful. She even tought me how to make two cakes from scratch. The staff was very welcoming and helpful, they made our honeymoon an amazing experiance. We played tennis on the grounds, basketball, and had a massage out near the pool area. The house was private and felt like we were the only ones at the resort. The electric car that came with the house was a huge plus because we went into town and got to explore the area we were in, we even found a private secluded beach not too far from the resort. I would recommned this resort and can't wait to go back one day. The only con I can think of was there is no air conditioning in the living room area and sometimes it did get a little warm, but there is air conditioning in the bedroom. This was the best place in the world for my husband and I have our honeymoon, an amazing start to our life together.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2travelroundworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2010

If you're looking for a luxury remote, relaxing beach and mountain resort - you've found it. Set in the tropical mountain, the bungalows and vilas are a comfortable combination of traditional spanish style and modern design. The staff are nice and very friendly. Riccardo, the resort manager was going above and beyond to accommodate all requests. We really enjoyed the Nicaragua day trip with the tour provided by Norman and his father. The atmosphere is relaxed and laid back - just the antidote for life's stresses. We enjoyed every minute. and now we can add the Recreo to a list of fond memories.

Would we go back? Without a moment's hesitation.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimb-2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2010

My wife and i were looking for a vacation where we could just relax from the stressful world of work and kids in NY. Recreo provided us with everything we were looking for and it proved to be one of the very best vacations/locations we had ever been to.

We traveled with another couple and I would strongly recommend traveling with a group to Recreo. This location is remote and the accomodations/service are so good that you will be spending a lot of time in and around the resort.

1. Accomodations: We stayed in Villa 3 which was excellent. We enjoyed our private pool, A/C rooms and general decor of the villa. This was better than any hotel suite you could possibly stay.
2. Service: Attentive, polite, and wonderful. Every time we asked for something, it was done for us (laundry service, pool cleaning, A/C repair, food prep,).
3. Food: The best food we've ever had on a vacation EVER. Shondra was our cook and every meal was better than the one prior. If you love plantains, she has many different ways to prepare them and they were phenomenal. Our group was not big on Breakfast but the fresh fruit and egg dishes were so appetizing, she turned us all into fans of breakfast. We weren't big dessert eaters but the flan she prepared was extraordinary. I only wish we would have asked for more guacamole on the trip. On the last day, she prepared the fish we caught on our excursion and it was remarkable.
4. Excursions: Take a full day to go on the ziplining combo trip. Its an hour drive but a full day of horseback riding, tubing, ziplining is unbelievable. While you go zip lining make sure you hang upside down every chance you get - its amazing. At the end of the excursion, you can take a quick sauna / mudbath / hot springs refresher before heading back to Recreo. We also did a 2 hour fishing excursion which is also a must. I forgot the names of our local fisherman who took us out but the were great. We caught 8 different fish over the first hour. We kept enough fish to eat but gave our crew the rest - they were very grateful. We spent the next 40 minutes snorkeling and were treated to a dolphin sighting (apparently this is rare). Just a relaxing day on the boat
5. Alcohol: If you are picky about your wines like my wife, then stop at the brand new wine shop right outside the LIberia Airport. The selection was great and my wife was very content. If you are flying from the states, stop at Duty Free for any liquor you think you'll want but let Recro supply the beer. Its reasonably priced and just nice to walk into a cooler full of beer.
6. Beach - Its essentially a private beach and Recreo has a trailer full of chairs and boogey boards. If you are looking to lounge out on the beach and do nothing, there is not a better place to do it than this private oasis.
7. Issues: The only negative is the bug situation. There are a lot of bugs that come out at night and we knew that going in so we prepared accordingly with bug spray. As long as you are aware of the bugs, pay close attention to keep doors completely closed and using bug spray, these critters will not become an issue. Once we had a few cocktails each night, it was like the bugs weren't even there.
8. Activities around Recreo: They didn't have enough snorkels and you might want to bring your own anyway. The tennis courts and work out room were perfect. If you are a serious tennis player, bring your own racket but it was a perfect workout each morning for my wife and I. If you have the chance, check out some of the unoccupied villas. Each one is stunning and its a great time. Hilltop Cantina - We didn't enjoy this as much as we should have but pack the cooler and head up there for a couple of drinks and cocktails. Golf Carts - If available, get a golf cart, it makes life easy around the resort.
9. My favorite moment. On our third night, we sat outside under a covering during a Thunder and LIghtning rain storm. The sky would light up every few seconds and it was incredibly peaceful. I sat with a beer in one hand, a cigar in the other and surrounded by my wife and great friends, laughing and telling stories while the rain pored down and the thunder and lightning played in the background. It was the perfect trip
10. If there are other guests around, be friendly and make new friends. Our first day, we met a group of 5 canadians on the beach. That evening we took the golf cart a 6 pack to their villa and enjoyed 2-3 hours of good fun and conversation. We spent some time with them on the beach the next day but then they were off to a surfing adventure.
Finally, wear sun screen and bug spray. The sun is very strong and my wife got burned pretty bad on day 1 and while it didn't mess with our vacation, it was painful for her.
I'm already looking forward to my return trip to Recreo.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthonynap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2010

From the very first contact to the very last goodbye and everything in-between recreo offers a mind blowing experience.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MariaTF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews