We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Center for Tropical Agricultural Research and Education (CATIE)
Save
Review Highlights
You can do this without a guide but if you can get one it would be better

We went by ourselves without a guide and we enjoyed walking around but there are no signs. Just a... read more

Reviewed 17 October 2018
MJL39
,
Wixom, Michigan
A very neat place

Unfortunately it was raining when visited. But the drive through was a good experience. Huge... read more

Reviewed 12 May 2018
Anil A
via mobile
Read all 86 reviews
  
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveller rating
42
31
8
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
42
31
8
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews botanical gardens guided tour trees and plants cattle egrets boat billed heron fruit entrance fee large pond run down costa rica bird guide jacana agriculture admission cayman campus mamie
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 86 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2014

CATIE is a place that everyone who is visiting Turrialba should go and see. It is actually a Tropical Agricultural Reserch Center where people go to get a masters degree in Tropical agronomy but there they also study many traditional and non traditional tropical plants such as coffee, cacao (chocolate), and bananas, etc. and they are always working on disease resisitant strains. You can visit the lake near the main entrance. Spending the morning walking around the lake will give you a pretty good list of birds if you are a birdwatcher. You will see the Boat-billed Herons and Black-crowned Night Herons nesting on the island in the bamboo along with the Snowy Egrets and the Cattle Egrets. Not to mention all of the parrots and Toucans that are always around. If you get lucky you will see the Green Ibis there also! You can walk through the section of the Botanical Garden near the entrance closest to Turrialba and it is very nice there. The Garden has a good collection of tropical fruiting trees as well as many exotic palms. Most of the trees have been there for many years and are very large and impressive. They even have a section where locals can go and buy tropical fruit trees and native species of tropical hardwood trees for reforestation on thier fincas at very resonable prices. Some people take the tour with a guide but I always prefer to go on our own so as to take the time to see everything. Entry fee is $10.00 and guides are not always there.

Date of experience: April 2014
1  Thank LisaErb_CR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

For us it was a glimpse into old Costa Rica. It doesn't look like much has changed there visibly since my last visit 35 years ago. You will definitely want to arrange to have a guided tour. Is it worth the bucks? ..I say yes if you like the idea of supporting horticultural and agricultural research or the grad students themselves (I don't know how the guide fee is processed, hope the guide keeps it) . This guided tour is low on the excitement scale but good for people interested in what they do at CATIE.
A special part is the close viewing of the exotic oropendola birds who make hanging, swinging nests...google it.

Date of experience: December 2013
2  Thank LittleLagoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I was very excited to visit the botanical gardens at CATIE as part of our Eco Tour. I am a biology teacher and find this kind of facility very informative, but unfortunately, when we arrived there was no one there to give us our tour! Swiss Travel tour guide José was able to tell us what he knew, but I was very disappointed to not have the full experience.
The gardens were lovely, and there were lots of birds to be seen and heard, but without explanations from a CATIE staff member, the experience wasn't what I had expected.

Date of experience: January 2014
Thank Bridget P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I went to the Garden of CATIE with my wife and two friends, and we had a naturalist conduct a tour which made the place come alive and was very interesting. There is a lot in a small space and the total walking distance is about a half mile on level ground. Entry fee is $10. One of the leading tropical research centers in Latin America is on adjacent property.

This is a beautiful place and provides a great overview of the botany of the country.

If this review is helpful then please indicate so below.

Date of experience: January 2014
3  Thank Trek-Always
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

You can stroll through the acres and acres of fruiting trees and flowers and orchids and learn about the research that impacts our world related to agriculture. Highly recommended if you are interested in the Botanical world.

Date of experience: October 2013
1  Thank lovetotravel33176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews