We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing time up in the mountains.”
other travellers have booked this property
Watch all the different birds on the balcony at Steve's cabin
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Watch all the different birds on the balcony at Steve's cabin
The Turrialba Volcano is smoking nearby but not too near!! The living room area with TV, computer desk and books
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
Watch all the different birds on the balcony at Steve's cabin
The Turrialba Volcano is smoking nearby but not too near!!
The living room area with TV, computer desk and books
Orchids on the farm
Down in the jungle on the farm are colorful flowers and berries
View of the Tuis Valley below from the farm
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Guest house -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Turrialba, Province of Cartago

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mike H
Seattle, Washington, United States
2 reviews
“Relaxing time up in the mountains.”
Reviewed 3 December 2013 for a stay in October 2013

I had a chance to stay on Steve’s farm and want to say what a pleasure it was. The cabin itself is lovely, with wood walls and ceiling, tile floors, a kitchen with refrigerator, sink, and cooktop. There’s a bathroom and a separate bedroom but otherwise it is wide open with high ceilings and windows that let in sunlight and a wonderful breeze. The cabin was clean and tidy. There was Internet access, more bananas than I could get to, oranges, grapefruit, anona (oh, I hope it’s in season when you go), and frankly more unusual and wonderful foods than I can name. I had visits from geckos and hummingbirds, butterflies and lizards. The views from the porch alone are worth the stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The porch has the most spectacular view
Liked least: It's a little tricky getting around: it's 500 feet above Tuis.
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlisonJea...
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful view at off the beaten track retreat”
Reviewed 18 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

This is a great retreat from which to experience the central mountains of Costa Rica. The view from the cabin is beautiful, and Steve was a great host. He loves playing tour guide, and we saw and experienced many beautiful parts of the area that we definitely wouldn't have found by ourselves.

Since it is a bit out of the way, I would recommend trying to get there in daylight. The timing of our trip was lucky enough that Steve was able to meet us at the airport and guide us to his home, because otherwise finding his farm in the dark would have been challening.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The location of Steve's farm is beautiful!
Liked least: The mattress on the bed we slept on was a bit old and sloped towards the middle. Great for cuddling, but not always the most comfortable.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happyfeet...
Austin, Texas
1 review
“Awesome host, great time exploring the farm!”
Reviewed 25 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013

My husband and I spent 2 nights of our honeymoon here and we have great memories of our stay. Steve, the host, was extremely gracious and did all he could to make sure we had a wonderful time. He took us on a hike around the farm which has lots of different vegetation, tilapia ponds and even waterfalls. He showed off his impressive MacGyver skills with a water pump that he fashioned himself. I enjoyed picking lemons, raspberries and blueberries to my heart's content. He also gave us fresh eggs (just hatched by the farm chickens) and green peppers to make delicious omelettes for breakfast. He lives right next door so anytime we needed anything (like pepper for cooking!), we got it immediately(we bugged him several times and he was always very helpful). He regaled us with interesting stories of his experiences as a gringo living there. He is also an encyclopaedia of information on birds and other information about the place. He's a super nice guy who, when I left my iPhone in the cabin, took the trouble to have it shipped back to me in the US at the cheapest cost (through a friend)!

While we were there, at night we enjoyed watching movies and a good internet connection. During the day, we drove to town to go rafting on the river Pacuare which was another big highlight of our trip. The Irazu volcano park is also great to visit while there although we ran out of time.

The only con to this place is that it is remote but it was completely worth it for us as it blew our expectations. We spent 3 weeks in Costa Rica and of all the places, this is the only one that I felt moved enough to recommend (this is also my first ever recommendation on Trip Advisor).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The host and the cabin
Liked least: Distance
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcBrand...
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Relaxing and Beautful”
Reviewed 7 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012
3
people found this review helpful

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for three nights and had a lovely time. The location was quiet and serene with beautiful views of the valley and surrounding mountains. Steve was a generous and accommodating host who went out of his way to make sure our stay was exceptional. The cabin we stayed in was roomy, clean and comfortable with a full kitchen we utilized for breakfast. Tuis, La Suiza and Turrialba are great vacation spots with lots to do but if you just want to be lazy, sleep in and left alone, this place works to. Great value for money. I highly recommend this rental.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful location where we felt privacy without feeling isolated.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
71joe
san diego
1 review
“A Must stop, Mountain and valley View Cabin”
Reviewed 19 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012

This is a must for people wanting to see the real Costa Rica countryside.
The Cabin has all the modern conveniences, with a bedroom, shower, and balcony view of the valley. There are lots of birds; we saw toucans, hummingbirds and a variety of others.
Steve is a wonderful host. He is very knowledgeable about Costa Rica, and was kind to accommodate us with our questions. We highly recommend making this a stay when in Costa Rica, we will be back.
Thanks Steve…. for everything that made our trip most enjoyable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The countryside, and Steve is the host with the most.
Liked least: The bus drive from San Jose was beautiful, but plan on 2 hours.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing