We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay with Amazing Views”
Review of Arenal Manoa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2017

We had a wonderful stay at Arenal Manoa in July. Our room faced the Arenal Volcano and most mornings we had a clear view.
PROS:
The hotel is well maintained. Our room was clean and everything seemed new and in great working condition. The air conditioner worked well and the room was well serviced with fresh towels and cleaning each day.
The WiFi worked well all the time - whether you're in your room, the pool, or lobby.
The front desk staff was helpful and spoke great English. They booked us some additional tours that were great.
The pool at the hotel was clean and the water was refreshing.
The daily breakfast (free) had plenty of options including omelets that would be made-to order.
The flowers and grounds around the property were gorgeous.
We dinner at the hotel restaurant and both the food and service were great.

Cons:
The hotel is a few miles out of town and down a (mostly) unpaved road. It is well off the beaten path. It allows for privacy and quiet, but you will need a car or Uber to get to town if you want to go to dinner or walk around.
The thermals at the hotel weren't that interesting. Basically a hot swimming pool. I recommend going down to the Tabacon River. It is free and a lot more fun.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaliforniaGirl040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,878)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 29 of 1,878 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2017

Our family loved staying at the Arenal Manoa. The detached bungalows are nice and private (ours had an amazing view of the Arenal volcano), though it can be a bit of a hike to get from place to place. The on-site restaurant offered tasty local fare and free breakfast, while my daughter and wife took full advantage of the on-site spa. Plus, the rooms feature real A/C! A genuine treat!

Room Tip: An east-facing view will give you good vistas of the Arenal volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gmac622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

This was an unexpected joy in our 9 day trip to Costa Rica. After a jungle lodge with no outlets, fans or AC...... this place was heaven.

The AC is super cold if needed. The bathrooms are large, beautiful, clean and have stone floors. The beds are comfy, the light darkening shade on the giant sliding glass door keeps it dark and cool. There is safe in the room as well. The office will shuttle you back and forth to your room if needed, especially at night.

Our room was a 3 min walk from the pool and restaurant. We were only a 10 min walk from the front office where we got picked up for our tours.

The food at the restaurant is very good, and the hot springs, and pool both have swim up bars, and happy hour at alternating times.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Joshua B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

I love this place! Excellent food and drinks. Beautiful surrowndings. Fabulous bungalow with view of the volcano. Service level was very high. Peaceful place to stay at. I could have stayed forever. Pura vida!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank MitziKattica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

Our family of four loved our time spent at the hotel - especially the two different pools and swim up bars. We spent each day doing a different excursion in the area, but wish we could have spent more time relaxing at the hotel. Our room had an excellent view of the volcano, especially in the morning. The guard was extremely kind and showed us a toucan flying around the property once we arrived. The guard was excited to see us each time we came back to the hotel. Cannot recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank allycat6h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
1.2 km away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,027 reviews
2 km away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,342 reviews
4.7 km away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#13 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,529 reviews
2 km away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,903 reviews
2.2 km away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 64 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Manoa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Manoa Hotel

Address: Route 142, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: €109 - €281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Manoa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Manoa Hotel is a beautiful Arenal hotel to relax and enjoy the marvelous view of Arenal volcano in Costa Rica. Surrounded by gardens, pastures and animals, our rooms have been designed so that each one offers you a panoramic view of the Arenal volcano. Our visitors can take advantage of our spacious gardens for walking and meditation as well as the opportunities to see the daily operations of a typical Costa Rican farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arenal Manoa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Manoa Hotel And Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Manoa Hotel Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing