We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable Views, Romantic Setting”
Review of Arenal Manoa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unbelievable Views, Romantic Setting”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

You stay in this hotel for the breathtaking views and luscious gardens. Our room had an unobstructed view of the Arenal Volcano. The patio doors were almost the length of the entire wall. There was a nice patio with a table and two chairs outside so you could contemplate how lucky you are to be in paradise. We did not spend a lot of time at the hotel because our tour schedule did not allow enough time to do so. It is one of our regrets that we didn't because the grounds, views and rooms were soooo beautiful. We did eat in the restaurant for dinner and breakfast. The food, overall, underwhelmed. We ordered the surf and turf for dinner and the lobster, although delicious, was overcooked and expensive. Probably better to eat offsite. Breakfast was standard fare, eggs, rice & beans, toast, fresh fruit, bread... Service was a mixed bag. Service at dinner was slow, the bartender by the pool seemed more interested in surfing the computer than servings his patrons. On the other hand bar service in the restaurant was great as was bag & room service.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole-Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,839 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,185
    520
    100
    23
    11
See reviews for
556
815
39
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We were a little skeptical of the bungalow-style rooms going in, but they actually turned out to be awesome. Great views of the volcano (when its not cloudy), beautiful property, 2 nice pools to relax by, good air conditioning in the rooms, and kept very clean (we did have a few tiny black worm things crawling on the floor every now and then, but they were harmless and easy to get rid of). The only thing I would caution against (as many others have) is eating dinner at the restaurant. We didn't want to do it but we got in late after a long day of travel, and $28 a plate and a lot of overcooked steak later, we knew we should have listened to the warnings. Surprisingly though, the lunch we had there on the last day was pretty good, and a lot more reasonable price. So, overall its a great place to stay, just think about eating dinner elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zn08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

The Manoa Hotel was a very relaxing and beautiful place to stay. We had a great view of the volcano and the rocking chairs on the deck at sunset made for a great experience. The pool and swim up bar also made for a relaxing end of the day. My only issue was that we didnt plan enough days in Arenal (2 days) to see everything we wanted. We will be back

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldManBinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
long island
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Beautiful hotel, nice rooms, good service. We had problems with a light and they sent someone within minutes, then with the safe and the service was just as quick.
Only complaint is the quality of the meats at the restaurant. Everything else was fresh and excellent (fruits, salads, juices, etc..)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Arenal Manoa is a nice place but it is so spread out! you walk everywhere including the restaurant, pools, or front desk. we stayed there with Caravan Tours and it rained majority of the time making getting to the above mentioned places difficult. Front office staff is on the rude side. We had questions and they would just walk away from us and ignore us until we verbally asked for help. Also the location is far from the city. unless you have a car, it is expensive to get a taxi for RT. would i stay there again? most likely NO!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.2 km away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,888 reviews
0.5 km away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,440 reviews
2.0 km away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,513 reviews
2.0 km away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,870 reviews
1.0 km away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Manoa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Manoa Hotel

Property: Arenal Manoa Hotel
Address: Route 142, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Manoa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Manoa Hotel is a beautiful Arenal hotel to relax and enjoy the marvelous view of Arenal volcano in Costa Rica. Surrounded by gardens, pastures and animals, our rooms have been designed so that each one offers you a panoramic view of the Arenal volcano. Our visitors can take advantage of our spacious gardens for walking and meditation as well as the opportunities to see the daily operations of a typical Costa Rican farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arenal Manoa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Manoa Hotel And Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Manoa Hotel Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing