We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$99
View Deal
Free cancellation until 11/03/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
US$99
US$94
View Deal
SAVE US$5
Free cancellation until 11/03/21
Expedia.com
US$99
US$94
View Deal
SAVE US$5
Free cancellation until 11/03/21
eDreamsUS$99
Trip.comUS$99
TravelocityUS$94
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (832)
Filter reviews
832 results
Traveller rating
472
234
76
30
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
472
234
76
30
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot springs costa rica reception area beautiful grounds surrounded by nature every morning reception desk low season volcano view pura vida rental car thermal pools hanging bridges kokomo cabin arenal birds
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 832 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2020 via mobile

Peaceful and beautiful grounds, birds and wild life all around. Many varieties of birds you can hear you can hear throughout the day.

Staff was very friendly and helpful. And we had perfect view of the volcano from our porch.

Very convenient to downtown and all adventure locations (Zip lining, sloths, ATV tours, waterfalls, hanging bridges, Nation parks), didnt have to travel more than 25 minutes for anything.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Tavia19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YLPeggy, Manager at Hotel Kokoro Arenal, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2020

Good morning guest,

We appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel. We do take pride in catering to our guests’ needs the best way we can. If you’re traveling to our area again soon,please don’t hesitate to call us. Welcome back !

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2020 via mobile

We had an excellent stay here. The vibe is very relaxed and authentic. The staff is very friendly. The rooms had an incredible view of the volcano and we woke up every morning to birds and howler monkeys. The rooms are not a 5 star hotel, but more like a cabin. We rarely spent time inside them because it was so gorgeous outside. It is a about a 5 minute drive from town, but that makes it peaceful.
We enjoyed wandering around the grounds and going in the thermal and cold pools. The food was great and priced well for the touristy area.
We saw 2 adult sloths and a baby while we were sitting in the pools!!!

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank auryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YLPeggy, Manager at Hotel Kokoro Arenal, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2020

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. Our pleasure to serve and welcome back anytime.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2020

This is a wonderful place to stay with amazing staff. Peggy looked after us so well. The restaurant has many birds visiting with sloths in the trees. And we loved to natural springs pool. Thanks to everyone for making our stay so much fun.
Ruth and John.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YLPeggy, Manager at Hotel Kokoro Arenal, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2020

Good morning guest,

We appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel. We do take pride in catering to our guests’ needs the best way we can. If you’re traveling to our area again soon,please don’t hesitate to call us. Welcome back !

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2020

When we arrived we were told that we would be upgraded the next day. We were then taken to a very dark and gloomy room on the edge of the property - Casona A. The curtains had one of them hung inside out, it seemed there was no care taken with this room.
We had dinner in the restaurant and the choice was limited, we didn't get what we asked for and it was cold. I did not want to eat here again in the evening.
Breakfast was also very limited but the place was much more enjoyable and we were able to watch birds.
We were soon moved to a lovely bungalow No 7 which was pleasant and nicely furnished complete with mosquito net. There was no coffee/tea making fascilty in the rooms but drinks were available in reception free of charge. The view from our deck was limited but pleasant and relaxing. There was no food available betwween breakfast and dinner and restaurants were about a mile away along a busy road.
The other 2 nights we ate out but had to get a taxi which ranged in price from $6 - $10 for a less than 5 minute ride.
I would not stay here again due to the food mainly.

Room tip: 1 - 18 would be fine . NOT Casona A or B
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lowdham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YLPeggy, Manager at Hotel Kokoro Arenal, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2020

I appreciate your positive and constructive feedback about our hotel. We do take pride in catering to our guests’ needs the best way we can. We will put all issue to the related dept. and I apologise that we did not exceed the standard you have received during previous stays. Again, thank you for your time and sorry for any inconvience cause.


Warm regards.

Address:
Hotel Kokoro
7.1 km from central of Fotuna ,
San Carlos, Costa Rica.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2020 via mobile

Amazing stay in this tropical paradise. Individual cottages/bungalows spread over the grounds with walking paths and beautiful scenery.
Rooms were clean and comfortable and breakfast every morning was buffet style ( good variety ) and very tasty.
The owners go out of their way to help you with excursions, services and information.
We felt this property was a perfect location as the volcano view was breathtaking and the distance to town was short. We had a rental car but all of the tourist/ excursions come to pick up/drop off here.
The hot spring bath was a daily thing for us, really enjoyed.
Good value for the money. We would definitely come back to Kokoro again!

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank sonyabussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YLPeggy, Manager at Hotel Kokoro Arenal, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2020

Dear Guest.

I appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel. We do take pride in catering to our guests’ needs the best way we can. If you’re traveling to our area gain soon, don’t hesitate to call us. Welcome back.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews