We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Volcano Lodge & Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$200
US$107
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$136/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Lomas del Volcan(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$235
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$231
US$203
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$237/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Jardines Arenal(La Fortuna de San Carlos)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$43
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Lodge(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$153
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$529
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nayara Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$636
US$593
Relais & Châteaux
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (764)
Filter reviews
764 results
Traveller rating
428
221
69
28
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
428
221
69
28
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot springscosta ricareception areagrounds are beautifulbreakfast was deliciousfried plantainsopen airevery morninggreat view of the volcanoreception desknice poolpura vidarooms are largefront porchshort drivetown of la fortunapollo
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 764 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2017

The hotel staff as well as facilities were wonderfull. It like walking in the Forrest green and beutifull. Termal pool was excellent and the yoga sanctuary was great. Access to the hotel and near by town was great.

Room Tip: Exelente. La atencion de su personal extraordinario
Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Victor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YLPeggy, General Manager at Hotel Kokoro Arenal, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel. Welcome back and we are pleasure to serve. kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

We booked this ecolodge over Mother's Day weekend largely because other, more posh facilities were not available. The rooms are large and air-conditioned. Lighting is dim, barely adequate and the bathrooms rudimentary but have plenty of hot water. The staff is courteous but primarily Spanish speaking. If you have no Spanish, you will be at a loss. The hot bath pools were uninviting. I, personally, would not book again.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ted H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YLPeggy, General Manager at Hotel Kokoro Arenal, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your review of your stay at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. Regarding the points you mentioned and feel disappointed , I am glad to let you know our maintenance staff is already fixed and improved all. Beside, as a manager, I will pay more attention to our receptionists and make sure they can provide an quality service to each guest. Again, we apologize any inconvenience cause to you and thank you for your reviews, hope you will feel more comfortable and please in your next accommodation in our hotel. Our pleasure to serve you again.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

Needless to say, the view of the volcano was outstanding.
We were greeted by Peggy, the front desk manager at check in and during our whole stay, and we felt spoiled by all of the attention and great service that she showed us.
I would come back and stay at Kokoro in a heart beat, no doubt! And we hope that Peggy will still be there!!
Vanessa and Robert. CR - USA.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank vanessa_march09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YLPeggy, General Manager at Hotel Kokoro Arenal, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Great to meet you two and enjoy life everywhere. Welcome back anytime. Blessing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

Our group of 7 stayed at Kokoro Arenal for 3 nights. It's a very pleasant somewhat rural retreat about 10-15 minutes outside La Fortuna de San Carlos. We were fortunate to have cabins 12-15, which have great views of the volcano. It's very peaceful, and Peggy, the manager, is incredibly accommodating and gracious.

A few tips: If you don't have a car, you can use taxis or the hotel van. It costs about $8 one way into town. The rooms do not have refrigerators. The hotel food is good, but a little limited.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YLPeggy, General Manager at Hotel Kokoro Arenal, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Great to hear your group enjoyed the stayed in our Hotel. Sorry for the inconvenience regarding the refrigerator. Welcome back and we are please to serve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

Good clean detached cabins, comfortable and well equipped. The setting and views are brilliant, all the staff friendly and helpful and the breakfast is fantastic! Loved walking around the grounds and soaking in the hot spring. Plenty to do in the surrounding area - we loved the hot river!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roballen28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YLPeggy, General Manager at Hotel Kokoro Arenal, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Great to hear you enjoy the stayed in our hotel. Our pleasure to serve. Blessings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews