We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Hotels.com
US$220
View deal
Booking.com
US$220
View deal
Trip.com
US$224
US$208
View deal
SAVE US$16
Expedia.comUS$220
PricelineUS$220
HurbUS$224
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,231)
Filter reviews
2,231 results
Traveller rating
1,837
338
45
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,837
338
45
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free facial hot springs small farm collect eggs recommend el costa rica individual cabins spring pool beautiful grounds arenal area fresh fruit front porch hot pools every morning colorful birds zip lining two queen beds
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 2,231 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2021

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights. From the moment we arrived the service was impeccable. We were greeted with fresh fruit juices and Eliomar explained the layout of the property to us. Before we arrived, I had requested a casita near the hot springs toward the back. We stayed in #19. I highly recommend! It was near the hot springs and the spa. In the restaurant the servers were always kind and very attentive. We would definitely stay here again. If you have the chance, the spa is a must! It was one of the best spa experiences we’ve ever had. The grounds are very beautiful and serene. We also milked a cow at the farm one morning. There are other high end hotels in the area, but this one was perfect for a little bit of everything.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank marcandm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis Diego Zúñiga, Dueño at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear valued guest. Thank you for giving us a few minutes of your valuable time to share with all of us your feedback regarding your hotel experience at El Silencio del Campo, it is so nice to hear this comments about the hotel surroundings, the room location, the service given by our staff, the spa experience and the onsite hot springs. We wish you come back and visit us again next trip to Costa Rica and to Arenal!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2021

This is one of the most calm and peaceful places I have ever stayed. The sounds of nature, the natural hot springs, the birds and squirrels that accompany you outside the restaurant at breakfast every morning... the staff even puts little pieces of fruit on bush branches for the small animals to enjoy. And their farm! They have a little farm, from which the restaurant draws all its vegetables, eggs, and cheese that they use to make delicious breakfasts and more. We walked over to the farm and the different staff members that work there proudly showed us the food and animals they tend to.

In addition to the grounds and friendly staff, they are incredibly helpful and innovative. I say this because I decided to take the opportunity of our stay to propose to my girlfriend of 3.5 years. I called and spoke with one of the head receptionists, Elio, and told him about my plans and desire to set up a romantic evening to propose. Elio, along with Raúl, Jonny, Carlos, May helped to arrange a beautiful setup next to a hot spring, with lights, dinner, and even a hidden GoPro camera to help record my proposal. It was spectacular! They were so helpful and proud to make it a special night for the two of us, and I couldn't recommend them more highly. I was thrilled, and they were clearly so happy to help make it a truly unforgettable night and stay.

Come to Hotel El Silencio and you will have the most peaceful, romantic, relaxing stay surrounded by nature and a lovely staff who know what true hospitality looks like. Thanks to everyone there!

Room tip: Room 19 is close to the hot springs and bar area.
Date of stay: January 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mike_Inglewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis Diego Zúñiga, Dueño at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear valued guest,
Thank you for that beautiful and detailed review! We truly enjoyed helping you organize this special surprise for your girlfriend, now your wife. We are very pleased to learn that everything we made for you and your girlfriend exceeded your expectations! it was our pleasure. We appreciate your kind words about breakfast, the staff, the hot springs and the hotel surroundings. We hope when you start making plans to come back to Costa Rica, our staff would be glad to have you again!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2020

I booked this place last minute on a whim to Arenal. So glad I did. This place is so cool. All the cabins are spaced perfectly apart from each other that you feel like you are in your own private area and a step out the door and it appears most cabins have a direct look up at the volcano. A huge bonus is that they have the hot spring pools on-site so no need to go anywhere else. The restaurant and separate bar/restaurant prepared great food delivered by great service! Do not hesitate to book this hotel!

Date of stay: December 2020
1  Thank mikeinsac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis Diego Zúñiga, Dueño at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you so much for your kind words, We appreciate your time. Glad to learn you had a nice time with us and that you enjoyed all the services used during your visit. We will be glad to have you again next time your decide to visit Arenal. It would be our pleasure to welcome once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2020 via mobile

I can’t say enough good things about our stay at Hotel El Silencio de Campo in La Fortuna. While there are so many other bigger hotels in this part of the Costa Rica, this hotel is truly a hidden gem, with only 24 separate cabins in total. Yes, they are ALL cabins, not just adjoined rooms in one large hotel building, so you can have all the privacy that you need. When we arrived, we received complimentary glasses of a fruit shake, most welcome after a more than three hour ride from San Jose. The hotel was also gracious enough to have prepared our room as it was our anniversary, complete with fresh flowers from the garden outside our cabin, candles, and a complimentary bottle of champagne. What a nice touch!

The hotel includes really nice amenities such as their shampoo, conditioner, and body lotion which all just smell lovely. And I was surprised they also had an additional bottle labeled “ insect repellant” which smelled just as clean and fresh. The water pressure in the shower was strong enough as well as it’s hot, perfect after a day out in Arenal.

The hotel has its own set of thermal pools: a large pool, two smaller ones, a hot jacuzzi, and a small cold pool just for variety. A poolside bar completes the ambiance. We could have spent all our days (and evenings, yes, they’re open well into night time) by the thermal pools.

Breakfast is always fantastic. They have a nice selection of set menus served a la carte. Of course, the uniquitous gallo pinto was always available. The best part is the “bird feeders” right next to the breakfast area: small trees were fashioned so that the fresh fruit peels from the restaurant kitchen can be pinned on them and the various colorful birds of the region can perch on them and have breakfast themselves.

What I really loved was the attached small farm which was a mere couple of minutes from our cabin. Chickens of the egg-laying kind and some white fluffy ones (not sure what kind they are) abound. The hotel offers egg picking for guests each morning at 9am. They also have cow milking every morning as well at 7:30am (that was an experience!). I guess they use the milk to make their homemade cheeses. The farm also includes roaming peacocks and ducks, goats, horses (there is a miniature one as well) and donkeys, one of which one morning we found to have wandered out of its fencing and right in front of our cabin. They also have a small vegetable farm on site.

Our stay at this hotel was as memorable as it can be. For the perfect price, Hotel El Silencio de Campo definitely has it all, and it even exceeded our expectations with the farm experiences. Most definitely would recommend!

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank luigivalencia39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis Diego Zúñiga, Dueño at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you so much for such amazing and detailed review, we truly appreciate the time you have spent in order to tell us and everyone what you have been able to enjoy during your visit. It fills us with joy when our guests tell us how much they have enjoyed the hotel and the service we provided to them. Your input definitely motivate our staff to keep working this way to keep offering our visitors the best experience possible!

Thank you for spending a few days of your valuable time to celebrate your anniversary in our hotel! If you ever return to Costa Rica , we will be so pleased to welcome you and serve you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2020 via mobile

This place is a dream. Our kids , 9 and 13, are in total love with this place, and so are we. It is impeccably clean and feels extremely safe regarding Covid. The rooms and premises are sparkling clean.
The food is good and we have had several meals here, even though usually we prefer to not eat at our hotel but explore instead.
In the morning, they put out fruit around the restaurant, so that you get to watch incredible birds (from parrots to honey creepers, so many colorful ones!), and you get beautiful views of the volcano. The pool and hot springs are wonderful. There is nothing that we would wanted to be different.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Njoydiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis Diego Zúñiga, Dueño at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind comment, We are glad to learn that the entire family enjoyed the visit at El Silencio del Campo and that you all loved the services and views in the hotel. We hope to see you soon as it would be a pleasure to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews