We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Hotels.com
US$220
View Deal
Expedia.com
US$220
View Deal
Trip.com
US$220
US$212
View Deal
SAVE US$8
Booking.comUS$220
eDreamsUS$220
Orbitz.comUS$220
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,230)
Filter reviews
2,230 results
Traveller rating
1,836
338
45
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,836
338
45
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free facial hot springs small farm collect eggs recommend el costa rica individual cabins spring pool beautiful grounds arenal area fresh fruit front porch hot pools every morning private hot spring colorful birds regular pool
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 2,230 reviews
Reviewed 25 December 2020

I booked this place last minute on a whim to Arenal. So glad I did. This place is so cool. All the cabins are spaced perfectly apart from each other that you feel like you are in your own private area and a step out the door and it appears most cabins have a direct look up at the volcano. A huge bonus is that they have the hot spring pools on-site so no need to go anywhere else. The restaurant and separate bar/restaurant prepared great food delivered by great service! Do not hesitate to book this hotel!

Date of stay: December 2020
1  Thank mikeinsac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2020 via mobile

I can’t say enough good things about our stay at Hotel El Silencio de Campo in La Fortuna. While there are so many other bigger hotels in this part of the Costa Rica, this hotel is truly a hidden gem, with only 24 separate cabins in total. Yes, they are ALL cabins, not just adjoined rooms in one large hotel building, so you can have all the privacy that you need. When we arrived, we received complimentary glasses of a fruit shake, most welcome after a more than three hour ride from San Jose. The hotel was also gracious enough to have prepared our room as it was our anniversary, complete with fresh flowers from the garden outside our cabin, candles, and a complimentary bottle of champagne. What a nice touch!

The hotel includes really nice amenities such as their shampoo, conditioner, and body lotion which all just smell lovely. And I was surprised they also had an additional bottle labeled “ insect repellant” which smelled just as clean and fresh. The water pressure in the shower was strong enough as well as it’s hot, perfect after a day out in Arenal.

The hotel has its own set of thermal pools: a large pool, two smaller ones, a hot jacuzzi, and a small cold pool just for variety. A poolside bar completes the ambiance. We could have spent all our days (and evenings, yes, they’re open well into night time) by the thermal pools.

Breakfast is always fantastic. They have a nice selection of set menus served a la carte. Of course, the uniquitous gallo pinto was always available. The best part is the “bird feeders” right next to the breakfast area: small trees were fashioned so that the fresh fruit peels from the restaurant kitchen can be pinned on them and the various colorful birds of the region can perch on them and have breakfast themselves.

What I really loved was the attached small farm which was a mere couple of minutes from our cabin. Chickens of the egg-laying kind and some white fluffy ones (not sure what kind they are) abound. The hotel offers egg picking for guests each morning at 9am. They also have cow milking every morning as well at 7:30am (that was an experience!). I guess they use the milk to make their homemade cheeses. The farm also includes roaming peacocks and ducks, goats, horses (there is a miniature one as well) and donkeys, one of which one morning we found to have wandered out of its fencing and right in front of our cabin. They also have a small vegetable farm on site.

Our stay at this hotel was as memorable as it can be. For the perfect price, Hotel El Silencio de Campo definitely has it all, and it even exceeded our expectations with the farm experiences. Most definitely would recommend!

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank luigivalencia39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2020 via mobile

This place is a dream. Our kids , 9 and 13, are in total love with this place, and so are we. It is impeccably clean and feels extremely safe regarding Covid. The rooms and premises are sparkling clean.
The food is good and we have had several meals here, even though usually we prefer to not eat at our hotel but explore instead.
In the morning, they put out fruit around the restaurant, so that you get to watch incredible birds (from parrots to honey creepers, so many colorful ones!), and you get beautiful views of the volcano. The pool and hot springs are wonderful. There is nothing that we would wanted to be different.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Njoydiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2020

We just returned home from our first ever trip to Costa Rica. Our first stop was Volcano Arenal in LaFortuna. We stayed in El Silencio del Campo. My family (2 children 10 year old and 8 year old, my husband, my mother ) and I absolutely LOVED this place. The people are so welcoming, genuinely nice and helpful. Our bungalow was cleaned to perfection every day (and we own a cleaning business, so we know what a good clean looks like!) The breakfast, smoothies from the bar for lunch, and dinners were fantastic! My kids enjoyed the farm and all the unusual plants around the property (bananas, papayas, starfruit, coconuts just to name a few). The hot springs were outstanding. And I cannot forget the massages that we got from the spa!
Thank you El Silencio for an unforgettable experience! We already miss you!

Room tip: I liked our bungalow 24, it was close to hot springs and the farm
Date of stay: November 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank karibova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2020

El Silencio del Campo is our family's favourite getaway in La Fortuna. The family Casita is excellent: comfortable, private, fully equipped, top quality amenities and toiletries, and close to the farm animals which our children love. The thermal baths are designed with many options, hot and cold pools for a perfect thermal experience. The restaurant serves delicious food in a lovely atmosphere and great service. The breakfast, included in the rate, is amazing, more than you would expect: table service, not buffet. The gardens are gorgeous. The staff at this hotel deserve special mention for their professionalism, attentiveness, responsiveness and attention to detail.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Catriona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews