We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$105
Orbitz.comUS$105
CheapTicketsUS$105
TripadvisorUS$105
StayForLong
HurbUS$108
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (380)
Filter reviews
380 results
Traveller rating
134
160
70
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
134
160
70
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews minute walk reception area lush gardens air conditioning rice beans nice breakfast hot springs birds arenal flowers fridge lodge television tree
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 380 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2020 via mobile

This is a hotel close to the local town less than 5 minute walk. Small cabins with air conditioning - mosquito repellent is advisable.
My cabin had view of the volcano. There were two sloths in the grounds. Television didn’t work but didn’t need it. Again local wildlife will wake you up!
Comfortable hotel, nice breakfast. WiFi works in reception area but was reliable.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank gail1842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2020 via mobile

A great location close to town. A good selection of birds on the fruit bird tables and a couple of sloths in the tree next to reception. Breakfast was very basic with little choice. No tea, coffee or water available outside of breakfast opening hours. Was told to drink tap water and simply no way to get a hot drink.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank O2273QTkevino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2020

A lovely place to stay. Vast property with pool, outside seating areas, lush gardens and private bungalows. We saw a sloth in one of the trees by the reception! Lots of birds! Stayed only one night and would have stayed longer.

Room tip: all bungalows are nice
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank americaninparis16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DayTrip15471708244, Gerente at Hotel Arenal Montechiari, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2020

Hello, thank you very much for your nice comments, we are waiting for you in your next visit to Costa Rica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2020 via mobile

We (family with triplets aged 10) spent two nights at the Arenal Montechiari. The little lodges are a decent size with refrigerators and comfortable beds. There are bed side lamps in the rooms now so those concerned about the strip lighting comments needn’t worry!

The gardens are beautifully planted with lots of colourful flowers; it’s a lovely place to hang out. Others had mentioned that the pool isn’t heated but it was warm enough for that not to matter. Our daughters spent hours in there.

The restaurant only serves breakfast. It was the standard fayre with lots of fresh fruit, fresh eggs, rice/beans mix, etc. It’s an easy ten minute walk into town for lunch/dinner where there are lots of options. We had a good meal at La Fonda 506.

There’s a lot to do the the area. Cannot recommend Ecoglide zip wiring highly enough (see separate review). It was epic!!!! Also enjoyed our walk up the volcano and an evening at the hot springs.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank AnnaOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DayTrip15471708244, Gerente at Hotel Arenal Montechiari, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2020

Thank you very much for your nice comments, we are waiting for you in your next visit to Costa Rica. Pure Life

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2019 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights in a tour of Costa Rica. Rooms are spacious and functional although ours only had one long strip light (were later told others did have bedside lamps), however this didn’t really detract from the overall enjoyment of the stay.

The gardens surrounding the lodges were pretty and bursting with birds, we watched the hummingbirds from our patio area. We also saw a sloth hanging from the tree by reception, with a number of iguanas basking atop the trees. At night the sound of frogs and toads was enchanting... Arenal volcano looms high above the lodge, softened by the bursts of colour from the flowers. A great backdrop!

Breakfast was on a par with other lodges we stayed at, fruit options, toast and rice and beans. We are vegan so had limited options but plentiful.

We ate out in La Fortuna on an evening as it was a short, easy walk into the town from the hotel.

We had our laundry done here, $6/kilo, and the staff were courteous and helpful. WiFi is available in reception and the restaurant like a lot of lodges/hotels we visited.

Couldn’t really have asked for more (well maybe a bedside lamp) but hardly an issue!

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nikki_R_BHam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DayTrip15471708244, Gerente at Hotel Arenal Montechiari, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2019

Hello good morning, thank you very much for your good comments. It was a pleasure for us to serve you.
We wait for you in your next visit to Costa Rica.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews