We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Arenal Country Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arenal Country Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Quite Disappointing”
Reviewed 1 January 2011

We looked forward to staying at this resort but were quickly let down. The reception was friendly and no problem checking in. The problem was the room was far too small for two adults and a teenager. We were lucky enough to be able to rent the room next door but this did cost.
The rooms wer very dated, a coffee machine but no coffee or cups or anything to go with it. Two double beds that had seen better days. No where to put suitcases. A lot o little things that you would normally expect in a hotel these days.

The grounds of the resort were quite nice and a view of the volcano was possible from a couple of spots.

Another problem was road noise, big trucks and motorcycles could be heard late into the night and early morning.

Breakfast was ok but being served outside there was always the threat of flies and mosquitos.

In our view the property has good potential but needs some money spent to update and upgrade the rooms.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thelockes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    61
    35
    15
    9
See reviews for
60
84
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2010

Three days at this family-owned inn was one of the highlights of our 12 day trip to CR. Our impeccably clean and air conditioned bungalow was located in a tropical garden home to a variety of beautiful flowers and birds and a large crystal clear swimming pool that reflected the Arenal Vocano. We started each morning with a typical Costa Rican breakfast of delicious local fruits, black beans and rice, and eggs made to order. The staff was very friendly and spoke English so well that we were able to learn more about the country than just the basics. They were also patient and had a sense of humor while we practiced our very basic Spanish. Centrally located, the inn is a 5-minute walk from the downtown of La Fortuna with tour companies, restaurants, and shops to poke around in and buy souvenirs. This inn is a real gem.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eaugot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2010

Arenal. . . What a gorgeous place to visit. My boyfriend and I came to Costa Rica for a ten-day getaway. We were unsure of where to stay when visiting Fortuna, but we knew what we wanted. We were looking for a place that was close to town, reasonably priced, and included the gorgeous view of the volcano we had heard so much about.

We just happen to come across Arenal Country Inn and it was simply lovely. The people there were very helpful in assisting us with different tours and other excursions. The view of the volcano from the pool is gorgeous and we were even lucky enough to see an eruption. For the amount that we paid, I feel that we had a beautiful room and the grounds were something to be admired. I would definitely recommend this hotel to someone visiting the area.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dreamer1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quebeq
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2010

this place rocks great owners close to everything sweet deal!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie_Keller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2009

My husband and I spent two nights at Arenal Country Inn. Upon arrival the owner/receptionist greeted us warmly. She gave us all the necessary information for the hotel and area including tour options and the dinner menu. We ordered dinner and it was delivered to our room at the time we specified.
We went for a walk that evening and the owner offered me an umbrella because it looked like rain. She also makes the food which is tasty (better than other hotel food we had in the country). She keeps a tab on all purchases and you can settle upon leaving.
The grounds are beautiful with lovely gardening and a beautiful pool. The place was very quiet and calm. I suppose this would not be a place to go for a lively, busy atmosphere.
The rooms are small but comfortable. The AC worked perfectly and the TV was well-placed. The bathrooms were clean, well-working, and had blow-dryers.
Overall I felt this was a very pleasant place to stay, the owner was great and it was close enough to walk to town. The only complaint was that the Internet connection was down while we were there.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boo5400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.4 km away
Eco Arenal Hotel
Eco Arenal Hotel
#34 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
144 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#19 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
313 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
#26 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Hotel Villas Vilma
Hotel Villas Vilma
#33 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
167 reviews
6.7 km away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#20 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,238 reviews
1.7 km away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Country Inn

Property: Arenal Country Inn
Address: 1 km south of the Catholic Church, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 60 Hotels in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Arenal Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Country Inn is a small hotel with twenty rooms distributed in ten bungalows; all of then surrounded by exotic gardens. All you have to do is reach the door of your room and you will go from the most comfortable human made environment to the magnificent nature. Rooms with cable TV, A/C, mini fridge, telephone, safe deposit box, private bathroom and terrace. Large swimming pool area, food service, internet access, tour desk and parking. Impeccable cleanness and friendly service is our promise. We will make our best to make your visit a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arenal Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Country Hotel
Country Inn La Fortuna De San Carlos
La Fortuna De San Carlos Country Inn
Arenal Country Inn Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing