We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Snaptravel
CheapTickets
Orbitz.com
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveller rating
1
11
13
5
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1
11
13
5
14
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 44 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2018 via mobile

It's rustic.. but your in the woods. This place has tons of potential with the grounds and views. The good: location, staff, view, grounds. The bad: rooms have huge gaps in construction, lots of access for critters, rooms could use air, general cleanliness of the rooms, poop and blood on linens. Food was good, staff was friendly but for tourists, it still needs a little work depending on what you are use to.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank OakleyBuyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018

Amazing nature...great location for touring...but very rustic...bugs have lots of access to the rooms and there is no A/C--wifi is spotty

Service was good--food was good--pool is prettier than it is clean. Think of staying here as more like camping than a hotel stay and you will feel more comfortable.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Olivia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018

I just stayed here for two nights with my students on an EF tour. It was NOT a great experience. While it is close to the Arenal Volcano, it is NOT worth the money. There were bug infestations in many of the rooms, keys didn't work in many of the rooms, there was no hot water in ANY of the rooms, and the pool is in need of some serious repairs. The staff was nice, but that didn't make up for the property.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank bateach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

As long as you're good with gecko poo on your bed and pillow, then this hotel is perfect!

Oh - and the water for the showers are solar heated - so if it's cloudy or early in the am - you're not going to have hot water.

There are also some very weird wood carvings in the hotel lobby.

Room tip: The "villas" on the upper level are better than the rooms at the bottom of the hill closer to the pool.
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bonnielt23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017

Our first room was so bad that we actually had to switch. There were ants on the walls, lizards everywhere, a mysterious stain on the bed, and lizard feces on the bed. Our second room appeared better until a massive spider made it's presence known and we first hand witnessed lizards crawling all over the bed. Did not sleep well here. If you don't mind REALLY roughin' it, and all those things don't bother you, it's otherwise manageable. The lobby wifi is spotty but it sometimes works. There was a bug in the food. The staff was nice enough. If you stay here, spray your room with bug spray, it'll make it more bearable.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank studenttraveler2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews